Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Poor Unfortunate Soul by Serena Valentino

Synopsis

Title: Poor Unfortunate Soul: A Tale of the Sea Witch
Author: Serena Valentino
Genre: Young Adult/Fairy Tales/Retellings
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads


The third novel in Serena Valentino's (Fairest of All, Beast Within) "VILLAINS" trilogy, featuring the story of the Little Mermaid from the perspective of the sea witch Ursula.




My Thoughts
★★★ Star

Poor unfortunate souls In pain, in need
This one longing to be thinner, That one wants to get the girl
And do I help them? Yes, indeed
Those poor unfortunate souls


I was super excited to see this book and FINALLY be able to read it, but sadly I was let down horribly. I really expected this book to be about Ursula, it wasn't. She was only mentioned from time to time. 

I really liked seeing her back story though and finding out why she was so evil and I am glad I never liked Triton in the first place. Who knew he was such a freaking punk a** jerk! You gotta be a real low life to treat a person that way and then be angry and wonder why they turned out the way they did.

I wasn't a fan of how this was written either. It is told in around 4 or 5 POV with no indication as to who was telling their part of the story until later in the chapter or so. It was really annoying and I didn't see the point in half of them, really. I mean yeah, they are a part of the story but they weren't THE story. They were side characters. 
Also, the cat (I already forgot the name, I don't care). Any time she was brought up, instead of just saying her name, they described her. Again and again and again and again. Why? No, seriously. Why? We already know what she looks like, why the hell keep repeating? I should have kept track of how many times she was described. But whatever. 

Who the hell are the sisters? The Three Sisters which makes zero freaking sense to me because they are constantly looking for their missing sister.... soooo.... why keep calling them the "three" when they are actually four? And the only three sisters I know of are those hag witches who are turn your stomach because their skin is so gross, their hair is stringy and they are....blind? I think. or have one eye? I dunno. But the three in this book were constantly said to be beautiful, so I have no idea.

The ending was so anticlimactic. It was so boring it was dang near pointless to keep reading. Even though I am sure everyone knows how The Little Mermaid ends, it would have been nice to have a ending worth actually reading. This was was like like a deadpan voice going "oh no. she was harpooned." or something. 

All in all, it could have been better.

Sunday, June 25, 2017

To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

Synopsis

Title: To All the Boys I've Loved Before
Series: To All the Boys I've Loved Before #1
Author: Jenny Han
Genre: Young Adult/Romance/Contemporary
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?
Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.





My Thoughts
★★★ Star

A mix of Little Women, a bit of Fangirl and a bit of something else that I can't quiet put my finger on.

I have such mixed feelings about this book. I had heard so many awesome things about this book that I just knew I had to read it. I wanted to love it as much as my friends did, but sadly... I didn't.

Don't get me wrong, it is not a horrible book. It's just ... if the main character doesn't make you want to duct tape her mouth shut, then you have a very high annoyance tolerance. Lol I'm already not a fan of double names (but to each their own). Lara Jean just seemed extremely childish. Even her kid sister seemed more grown up that her. So starting off to mid-way through, I want not a fan of Laura. But most likely, she'll end up growing on you... like a fungus. 

Of other reviews I have read, tons of people hate Lara for "going after her sister's boyfriend" which makes zero sense considering that she liked him way before Margot started dating him, but whatever. 

A lot of the characters just out right pissed me off. Chris (shockingly) being the main one, she took a lot away from this book because any time she popped up, she just oozed "whore", which is sad especially since they are so young. When she did pop up though, it always left me wondering why she was there in the first place because it was like she was a stand-in or something just to keep the book going somehow. I dunno. 

The next is Peter and the only thing that goes through my head when I think about him is that song "I'm only gonna break - break ya - break your heart" or how ever it went. Lol I don't even remember who sang it, I just remember every radio station playing it every 2 songs till you thought your ears would bleed. 

I couldn't stand Margot. It was literally "MARCIA MARCIA MARCIA!!" but... Margot! Margot! Margot!


the whole story of this book was really interesting to be honest though it wasn't hard to figure out who sent the letters out... like.... as soon as it happened. Lol 
Also the constant "I'm Asian, I'm Asian, Asian this. Asian that." was overkill and a lot of times it was unnecessary. I can understand pride, but once your readers start rolling their eyes every time it is brought up, you're over pushing it. 

The story started off a bit slow and annoying (Mainly because Lara was so baby-ish and me constant "mommy" and "daddy" make you cringe and put the book down like "no. Just no" but once you get past that, it really sucks you in. Before you know it, you are done with the book ready to throw it across the room screaming "what kind of ending is that?!"
And I am serious... what kind of ending is that!? I need to know what happens next!

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Jane of Austin by Hillary Manton Lodge

Synopsis

Title: Jane of Austin: A Novel of Sweet Tea and Sensibility
Author: Hillary Manton Lodge
Genre: Adult/Romance/Contemporary
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

Just a few years after their father’s business scandal shatters their lives, Jane and Celia Woodward find themselves forced out of their San Francisco tea shop. The last thing Jane wants is to leave their beloved shop on Valencia Street, but when Celia insists on a move to Austin, Texas, the sisters pack up their kid sister Margot and Jane’s tea plants, determined to start over yet again.
But life in Austin isn’t all sweet tea and breakfast tacos. Their unusual living situation is challenging and unspoken words begin to fester between Jane and Celia. When Jane meets and falls for up-and-coming musician Sean Willis, the chasm grows deeper.
While Sean seems to charm everyone in his path, one person is immune – retired Marine Captain Callum Beckett. Callum never meant to leave the military, but the twin losses of his father and his left leg have returned him to the place he least expected—Texas.
In this modern spin on the Austen classic, Sense and Sensibility, the Woodward sisters must contend with new ingredients in unfamiliar kitchens, a dash of heartbreak, and the fragile hope that maybe home isn't so far away. 

My Thoughts
★★★ Star

I admit, I have never read a Jane Austin book before. I have a few, but never read them because I am looking for something to give me a bit of a push into reading them. Jane of Austin started out promising and then a little less than half way though, flopped. It went from being unique to being just like every single other Contemporary book out there.  Girl in trouble. Guy saves girl. Enter guy two. Que up love triangles and insta-loves. So on and so on.

This book started out okay but then it just flopped in the worst way. The insta-loves were ridiculous. and it just dragged on and on and on about Texas. The constant non-stop Texas this and Texas that and I'm from Texas so I am better. Blah blah blah was overly annoying. I get everyone is like that because they are proud of where they come from but if they go on and on about How awesome they are because they are *insert state* - run. Run AWAY as fast as you can. Because they are anything but "good". Lol

I can't get over the insta-loves though. Just....are you freaking serious? I thought Jane was suppose to be this sensible adult. *snorts* No. Just no. She acts like a 14 year old.
Guy: I love you
Jane: *fluttery*
Guy: Marry me
It's been what? two weeks? if even that? Imagine the horrible example she is setting for her little sister. Not to mention she wants everything to be about her with zero respect for her older sister's thoughts. Her sister doesn't want to talk about something but Jane just goes on and on and on wanting to know WHAT happened and blah blah blah.

So yeah, there were some twists and turns, I suppose but nothing that was quiet enough to lift it out of it's flop.

And the fact that Jane does really get engaged literally 7 months after just meeting a guy makes my eyeballs hurt from rolling them so hard.


There were some good parts. I loved the fandom quotes. There was a bit of from the Hunger Games to some Lord of the Rings. So that was cute.

I liked this book. But it's not one I would automatically think of to recommend if someone were looking for a book. 

Monday, June 12, 2017

Counting Wolves by Michael F. Stewart

Synopsis

Title: Counting Wolves
Author: Michael F. Stewart
Genre: Young Adult/Mental Illness
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

The Breakfast Club meets Grimm's Fairy Tales in the lair of an adolescent psych ward.
Milly’s evil stepmother commits her to a pediatric psych ward. That’s just what the wolf wants. With bunk mates like Red, who’s spiraling out of control; Pig, a fire-bug who claims Milly as her own—but just wants extra dessert—Vanet, a manic teen masquerading as a fairy godmother with wish-granting powers as likely to kill as to help; and the mysterious Wolfgang, rumored to roam for blood at night; it doesn’t take long for Milly to realize that only her dead mother’s book of tales can save her.
But Milly’s spells of protection weaken as her wolf stalks the hospital corridors. The ward’s a Dark Wood, and she’s not alone. As her power crumbles, she must let go of her magic and discover new weapons if she is to transform from hunted to hunter.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Star

This book was NOTHING like I expected and it will stay with me for as long as I live. 

Ugh there is so much I want to say about this book but I don't want to give anything away! I don't want to take the magic away from any reader who will pick this book up. Because that is was this book was to me. Magic. 

I can promise you that when you read the blurb, you will think it is about one thing and when you read the book, your socks will be blown off. You will not expect how this book goes. 

It is a short read but SO POWERFUL! I loved every single one of the characters. Which I can confess is very very very rare. There is always a character or two or more that I hate, but not in this book. 

The writing was so amazing and so smooth it was like silk. It just flowed with no bump at all and it keeps you so enthralled. You will NOT want to put this book down because from page one, you will want to know how this ends. 

I am so in love with this book and so so so happy I was able to read it. Counting Wolves is a book I would HIGHLY recommend. 

**In addition, I have read a LOT of books involving all kinds of mental illnesses... and this one is the best one I have every read, hands down. 

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Synopsis

Title: An Abundance of Katherines
Author: John Green
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads


Katherine V thought boys were gross
Katherine X just wanted to be friends
Katherine XVIII dumped him in an e-mail
K-19 broke his heart
When it comes to relationships, Colin Singleton's type happens to be girls named Katherine. And when it comes to girls named Katherine, Colin is always getting dumped. Nineteen times, to be exact.
On a road trip miles from home, this anagram-happy, washed-up child prodigy has ten thousand dollars in his pocket, a bloodthirsty feral hog on his trail, and an overweight, Judge Judy-loving best friend riding shotgun--but no Katherines. Colin is on a mission to prove The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, avenge Dumpees everywhere, and finally win him the girl.
Love, friendship, and a dead Austro-Hungarian archduke add up to surprising and heart-changing conclusions in this ingeniously layered comic novel about reinventing oneself.



My Thoughts
★ Star
DNF: stopped on page 45

To be fair, I tried. I really really did. I had such high hopes for this book. I had been wanting to read it and every other book by John Green since the DAY I read and finished The Fault In Our Stars because it blew me away.

But An Abundance of Katherines was about as much fun as scraping your nails across a chalkboard. From the start we are introduced to Colin who has just been dumped for the 19th time by the 19th Katherine. Not Katie. Not Kat. Not Kittie. Not Cathy, or Rynns or Trinas, or Kays or even Kate. Nope. just K-A-T-H-E-R-I-N-E

That last bit annoyed you right? Well, that is page 15 for you. To make matters worse, from page one Colin is so freaking WHINY! I am talking, you will want to scream and rip your hair out. I have spent hours trying to find the perfect way to describe him and the ONLY word I can think is just plain PATHETIC! I literally could not stand it.

You know back in like 2006 when EVERYONE was a emo kid because it was THE THING to be? That is what he reminds me of. If you also remember, there was that HORRIBLE gosh awful song "I must be emo" ... that would be Colin's theme song. *cues up the hate and pitchforks* I know, I am a bad bad person for that, but... whatever, I guess. 

If you think this book couldn't get worse, flip to chapter 2, page 8. *Enter Hassan* 
If you think there is no possible way on earth to planet Pluto (yes, PLANET Pluto, if it was good enough to be a planet when I was growing up, it is good enough to be a planet now.) that nothing can be worse that Colin, you are dead wrong. You are dead now. Here is a rose. *tosses rose* 

anyway, you know those old creepy guys who are always somehow covered in dirt from head to toe smelling of old alcohol and vomit even though they never seem to leave their front porch? That is how I really imagine Hassan as a grown-up.

The exact second he steps on scene, we see him for the disgusting pig he is, I really have no other words for him. it's like he's one of those steroid using high school jocks that scream "hay sexy! y u not dancin up on dis dick?!" ugh, You know the ones I mean, the ones that just make your skin crawl and leave you wondering how they manage to figure out how to BREATHE. 


I could go on about the characters, but I choose to spare you. 
The writing was exhausting. I felt like I was dragging my eyeballs across the page and I will not lie, I was dragging my eyes so much, I must have checked out a few times because I would have passed 5 pages and have not read a single word, but man, it sure felt like I did.  And what the hell is the point of all the damn charts and footnotes? They weren't annoying, they were way way way beyond annoying. It was like I was reading a straight math book for shits and giggles. (pardon my french there) 


So, yeah, not one I would recommend.

But, if you don't mind pathetic, annoying characters... This just might be for you.
If you don't mind reading a math book for FUN... This book might be for you.
If you don't mind blood pouring from your eyeballs... This book might be for you.
If you don't mind your brain turning into liquid ... This book might be for you.


Good luck. May the odds be every in your favor, live long and prosper and the force be with you.

Sunday, June 4, 2017

90 Days of Different by Eric Walters

Synopsis

Title: 90 Days of Different
Author: Eric Walters
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Peer Pressure
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads

On the last day of high school, Sophie's boyfriend breaks up with her. It turns out he thinks she is too predictable, too responsible, too mature...too boring.
When Sophie turns to her best friend, Ella, for comfort and reassurance, Ella just confirms what her boyfriend has said. And that hurts even more.
Then Ella comes up with a plan to help Sophie find her wilder side before college. In the ninety days between the end of high school and the start of university, she is going to arrange for Sophie to do amazing, new, different and sometimes scary things. Sophie has to agree to everything no matter what. And she has to share her adventures through social media.
Can ninety days of different create a different life? Can stepping outside your comfort zone help you find yourself?


My Thoughts
★★★ Star

My mother died and some part of me stopped living as well. I was too scared. I was forced to think about things I didn't have any answers for, to feel things I couldn't share with anybody, and there was nobody to talk to or ask. Nobody.


The book starts off with Sophie's boyfriend breaking up with her because she is "boring" "predictable" and "old" (all the because she is responsible ) in which after that happens, her "best friend" Ella pretty much takes his side and talks Sophie into doing 90 different things that she (Ella) plans before Sophie heads off to college.

(honestly that alone pissed me off because Sophie clearly tells her to begin with that she wants to read to kinda get ahead for college, which is SMART! College is freaking HARD. But no, no, suddenly now Ella gets a bug up her butt that Sophie HAS to do these. Ya know, now that she is grown and the time to play is over. ya know, she just HAS to do it NOW. Not years ago or anything. Ugh! Anyway!)


I hated this book. I hate to say that, but I really do. As well as every character. I wouldn't hate Sophie if it weren't for pages 47-51. Since when was fat-shaming people, screaming at elders, and throwing/eating other people's food "cool" and "liberating"? It made me sick to my stomach.

A lot of these "differents" (I really wish they had said challenges, not differents. Is differents even a word?) were interesting but quiet a few were dangerous and illegal. Which always lead me to think "Okay, she is your best friend but is not only endangering your life but could possibly ruin your chance of college if you get caught. Yeah okay. What a awesome friend that is. *eye roll*

Lets talk about the characters for a bit:
Sophie was a rug. Before you freak out saying "But she did those challenges!" sure, she did. but she was shoved into them. Kinda like those insane people who throw their kids in deep water to learn to swim saying "swim or drown". That's what that reminds me of.

This whole book was Sophie being peer pressured to do things that made her uncomfortable and borderline torture. Because gosh forbid she try to stand up for herself, Ella will just freak the hell out.

Sophie was a weak character.

Ella: you mean the Egotistical Narcissist Cupcake Princess? If there was ever a character I wish would die, it would be Little Miss Priss Ella. I love how she claims to be doing all of this to "help" Sophie but every single chance she gets, she makes it about herself. All she does is complain with these:
-"You're prettier than me"
-"Guys like you more"
-"When we walk into a room, I am invisible"
-"You're skinnier than me"
You know, THOSE kind. I wish I had kept count of how many times she said these. It was annoying.
She guilt trips Sophie nonstop through the whole book. Even at one time, Sophie hurts her wrist during a challenge and Ella literally freaks out because she went to the doctor to make sure it wasn't broken. She says (and I quote)

"How predictable - you need to have everything checked out. The doctor probably told you what a wonderful patient you were."-pg203

"You probably waited patiently in the waiting room, did what you were told, said please and thank you to the nurses and doctors. You know what I mean."-pg204


Like what in the hell are you SUPPOSE to do at a hospital!? Act a fool and get kicked out when you NEED their help!? Are you freaking mental!?

She then proceeds to (of course) not care that her so called best friend was hurt and demands "You haven't even asked how my date went!" which ends with Sophie apologizing purposefully and of course Ella counters with "Sorry that he didn't ask you out instead of me?"


Personally, I think Ella is the WORST kind of "friend"
And I really have to throw it out there that the whole flirting heavily with a 11 year old is not cute, funny, or adorable. It's disgusting.


Sophie's Dad: I am not really sure how I feel. I know he is trying to be a dad, but I felt like he wanted to be one of those parents that would rather be a friend than a dad. I think he was setting a really poor example for Oliver to grow into.


I loved the ending though. It was definitely awesome. All in all, I loved the writing, it flowed like magical liquid and the story line was definitely interesting and actually reminded me a bit of Fangirl.

All in all, I would not recommend this book but I wouldn't tell someone to not read it. It is really one of those books that you have to read for yourself to know if you will like it or not. It's one of those rare reads that will definitely have different views.




**side note from me: Sorry I used the names so much, there was no other way I could review it without using their names. It would have gotten confusing. Unless I used something like Rug and Egotistical Narcissist

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely #1) by Melissa Marr

Synopsis

Title: Wicked Lovely
Series: Wicked Lovely #1
Author: Melissa Marr
Genre: Young Adult/Fae/Supernatural/Urban Fantasy
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads


Rule #3: Don't stare at invisible faeries.Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in the mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty - especially if they learn of her Sight - and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don't speak to invisible faeries.Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don't ever attract their attention.But it's too late. Keenan is the Summer King, who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost — regardless of her plans or desires.
Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.
Faery intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr's stunning twenty-first-century faery tale.

My Thoughts
★★ Star
This book wasn't bad. But it wasn't good either. I wish I could leave it at that, but I can't. This book was a mess. Don't get me wrong, some parts of this book are really magical, so magical that it almost makes up for how messy it is. 

The story line seems interesting but I don't think it was delivered to it's full potential. I mean, how can a book be 328 pages and nothing,  nothing at all happen? The only words I think of to explain this book is boringly bland. It's sad when you are reading a book and not give one single care about any of the characters. 

I think the only character I actually liked was Seth. I just hate how he was portrayed. Every time he was talked about, the goth/emo/party animal-sex driven look was brought up, like it was suppose to be some major big deal. It was annoying and pissed me off. Yet, sadly, he was the only believable character worth anything. I really think he was the only reason I kept reading. To find out what would happen to him in the over-fae-populated town.

Ashlinn (or however you spell her real name, I can't bring myself to give a crap to remember) the magical cupcake, is probably the most boring vapid main character I have every laid my eyes on. There is literally nothing else to say here. Well, other than this whole book revolves around her like she is the sun. (Oh, look. A pun.) This chick is just unbelievable. laughingly unbelievable. 

Keenan ... oh boy. What a creep. I am curious how many other saw him as a homewrecker? Because I sure in hell did. Keenan isn't just a homewrecker. He's one of those crazy ones that will boil your rabbit, tie you to the bed and break your ankles. 

When you think he can't be anymore disgusting he
Ugh, and the whole "I am a king! bow down and suck my toes!" got old really fast. Much like Seth's often talked about goth-y-ness, Keenan's was always "king/royal/pansy-ass-me-me-me-love me-love me-You MUST love me". What a Man! Who wouldn't fall in love with him?! *that was sarcasm*

I want to talk about the story line but there isn't really much to talk about. It was mainly just a love triangle. Nonstop. Her running from Mr. LOVE ME! to Mr. GOTH BOI and Mr. LOVE ME crying on his knees because she ran away. 

Really, would can skip chapters at a time and still get the idea of what is going on. Because either way, the writing is so choppy, you are taking a chance of that happening. If you read this book without zoning out, then I give you props. I can't tell you how many times I zoned out, to realize I read 5 pages or so and the same exact thing was still happening just in the new place. 
Another thing I couldn't stand was the ever changing name of Donia. She has 3 names in this book and it was confusing because she is either Donia, Don, or Dawn. It irked me. Like please pick and name and stick with it. And I get this book is YA, but I doubt anyone's granny is that "chill" to just let their granddaughter to roam the city at all hours and say with a guy she never in her lift met. Granny was description was "old granny" but everything about her made her sound like she was a pushover 12-year-old. 


The ending was a complete let down. I expected this big war or fight to happen for it literally happen and end in one page. Like, really? Are you serious? what the what!


So yeah, I don't think I will be reading the next books in the series unless I am bored out of my mind.




*I would also like to add, the "rules" make me face-palm EVERY time I see them.
3) Don't stare at invisible faeries.
2) Don't speak to invisible faeries.
1) Don't ever attract their attention.
I can't help but to laugh and think "invisible" is unnecessary. Don't stare or speak to invisible faeries! ... but.... they are invisible. How can you do either if they are invisible? Lol Sorry, it's just weird to me. Haha. 

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

No Safety in Numbers (No Safety in Numbers #1) by Dayna Lorentz

Synopsis


Title: No Safety in Numbers
Series: No Safety in Numbers #1
Author: Dayna Lorentz
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction/Dystopia
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

When a strange device is discovered in the air ducts of a busy suburban mall, the entire complex is suddenly locked down. No one can leave. No one knows what is going on.
At first, there's the novelty of being stuck in a mega mall with free food and a gift certificate. But with each passing day, it becomes harder to ignore the dwindling supplies, inadequate information, and mounting panic.

Then people start getting sick.
Told from the point of view of two guys and two girls, this is a harrowing look at what can happen under the most desperate of circumstances, when regular people are faced with impossible choices. Some rise to the occasion. Some don't.
And for some - it's too late.


My Thoughts
★ Star

***DNF at 62%***

I can't. I literally can not force myself to finish this book. 171/263 pages in and nothing. Nothing at all happens. No action. No.. anything. Want to know what this book is about? A bunch of people locked in a mall. That is it. You can skip 30 pages at a time and not miss a single thing. 


This whole story was just monotone. It literally put me to sleep. I have never in my life had a book that as soon as I start reading, would knock me right out.

There are a few things that really bugged me about this book, (other than it being boring)

1) The overuse of the term "space suits". This isn't the 60's. Everyone knows a hazmat suit when they see one. 

2) The fact there was a "bomb" and they didn't evacuate the mall. Yeah no. Nowhere would they keep civilians in the store while they mess with a possible bomb. 

3) The fact that the grandmother got sick and was taken back to be "treated" the granddaughter then sneaks in and takes her out to lay in a bed in a home store. No one even looks for granny. Yet anytime someone coughs, they are being swept away to be "treated" yeah, just doesn't make any sense. I would think they would be looking for her.

4) Going off of 3, staying with the Granny topic, after she gets to the store, she's pretty much just left there. Granddaughter is busy hanging out with "friends" so we don't hear about granny after she gets to bed. Again, makes to sense. Especially since her granddaughter was soooooo "worried" about her. You'd think she wouldn't leave her side then. 
Kinda reminds me of Dawn of the Dead, actually. 


Sorry, I would not recommend this book. At all.

Saturday, May 13, 2017

Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

Synopsis

Title: Windfall
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads


Let luck find you. 
Alice doesn’t believe in luck—at least, not the good kind. But she does believe in love, and for some time now, she’s been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday—just when it seems they might be on the brink of something—she buys him a lottery ticket on a lark. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and in an instant, everything changes.

At first, it seems like a dream come true, especially since the two of them are no strangers to misfortune. As a kid, Alice won the worst kind of lottery possible when her parents died just over a year apart from each other. And Teddy’s father abandoned his family not long after that, leaving them to grapple with his gambling debts. Through it all, Teddy and Alice have leaned on each other. But now, as they negotiate the ripple effects of Teddy’s newfound wealth, a gulf opens between them. And soon, the money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall.

As they try to find their way back to each other, Alice learns more about herself than she ever could have imagined…and about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.




My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review. 


When I first came across this book, I fell in love with the cover. It is hands-down beautiful. Then I read the blurb and though how unique it sounded. I mean seriously. I have never came across a book quiet like this. I know it couldn't have been easy to write about someone winning the lottery. I had high hopes for this book

But...the more I read...




It just fell so flat. From start to finish. I kept expecting SOMETHING to happen that would just blow this out of the water and make it so awesome. But, nothing happened.

The characters just about drove me nuts. I mean you have the main character Alice who is miss goody-two-shoes who buys a lottery ticket for a friends 18th birthday as a bit of a gag gift because she doesn't even believe in luck. Turns out, ding-ding-ding, she picked the winning numbers and her friend is suddenly a high roller. Who doesn't even offer her any money until someone ELSE says something about it, then he gets this bug up his butt about how she HAS to take it. Her being goody-two-shoes, doesn't dare take it. Lets be realistic here.... No one in their right minds would turn down money. No offence. But through this book she is just his rug mat but that is totally okay because she is in love with him. So I guess that makes being a mat okay! .....NOT!

{I want to touch down on the luck thing. That part kinda bugs me. The MC doesn't even believe in luck yet the endless quotes on this book are about letting luck find you. Man, let it find you would be nice,  but I was raised to get off your butt and work for what you want. But I guess in her case, don't believe and you'll get all the luck. Go her.}

Lets talk about this "friend". The one she is in love with and ended up the lucky winner. Possibly the worst kind of guy you could have in your life. The whole time I read this book the ONLY vibe I got from him was the abusive possessive boyfriend vibe. He was a jerk from start to finish and just used her as a rug and gosh forbid she talk to another guy that she works with while volunteering. Ugh.
He reminded me so much of the kid from Blank Check. The one who ended up getting a million dollars and ended up spending it all in like 5-7 days. See, I would expect a child to go on a unnecessary shopping spree. I wouldn't expect an adult to do that. Especially one coming from a one bedroom apartment. I would think he would want to take care of his family, especially his hard working mother but hey! Giving away tons of free shit at high school it much better than helping. It pissed me off so bad because he never gave away anything selflessly. It was always "HEY LOOK AT ME! LOVE ME! I AM RICH! PAY ATTENTION TO ME!"   It's pathetic.

Lets not forget the gay cousin/friend. Who plays the middle ground for both sides. I think this group was a bit cliche honestly.

I really don't know what to say about the story itself. I don't think there is anything really to say. There was nothing and when it ended I just felt empty. Outside the cover, I felt nothing for this story or characters. :/

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Arbiter Blog Tour


Hey everyone! Let's give a warm welcome Jamie Foley author of The Sentinel Trilogy! We are going to start this bad boy off with a few questions as, of course, every tour has and needs. :)


-Why don't you tell us a little bit about yourself.
Howdy! I’m a workaholic marketing specialist/webmaster/graphic artist/indie publisher/author. Apparently that’s a thing…?
I live in central Texas with my Irish cowboy husband, hyperactive toddler, and snuggle-bunny Australian Shepherd. We’re rabid gamers and unashamed nerds.


Whew all that's a mouthful. I don't know how you manage it all. Lol and nothing wrong with being nerdy gamers! How else are people suppose to live? Just kidding!


-What prompted you to start writing?
I knew I loved to create stories since childhood—apparently I won the “storyteller award” in second grade, but not sure if that was for lying. What? I never lie.
But I doubted myself so badly in high school—I was never good at English, and apparently I thought that was a requirement for being a good author. (This is why we have editors, right?) Thus my education and professional path of webmaster.
God had other plans. Even as I was working for a publisher (Thomas Nelson/HarperCollins), He bashed me on the head until I resigned and began full-time writing. It’s been hard work, but His blessings are undeniable, and I couldn’t be happier.



Looks like I could take a lesson or two from you, I was in the same boat. Award and all, but high school hit and it was like "ha! nope." Lol it's really awesome you've had those behind you, helping push you. :)


-So, tell us... Why YA fantasy?
Because that’s what I love to read! And because there was a lack of adventure/action/fantasy when I was growing up. Nowadays the YA section is full of stuff most sheltered kids aren’t allowed to read, and I want to fill that hole. My books are free of sex and cussing, but hopefully just as much fun as the mainstream epics.



Amen to that. We need more books like this!


-What inspired you to write The Sentinel Trilogy?
Oh, lots of things! Each country in the world of Alani is based on some collaboration of Earth cultures or locations I’ve visited and love, or historical time periods, or some awesome fantasy people from another work.
Valinor is loosely based upon the United Kingdom. The people of LaKota are inspired by Scottish clans, Native American tribes, and traditions of early Israel. The island of Malaan is similar in its customs to Imperial Japan. And the deadly forests of Katrosi weren’t fully settled until later in the world’s lifeline, making it similar to America in its melting pot of cultures.
I try to keep my world-building based in historical fact, but ooooh, how much fun it is to scheme! >:3



Sounds like one heck of an adventure without having to go anywhere. I love it! Hahaha


-Which aspects of indie publishing have been the most challenging and most rewarding?
It’s challenging to supply your own funds for crafting a professional work all by yourself, but if you know it’s what you want to do as a career and you save up, you’ll find that most all of the pros out there are happy to work with indie authors. Learning the ropes is tough at first, but boy, is it worth it!
One bonus of indie publishing is that you can be a little more… out there… than some publishers might approve of. Yes, you should definitely hire a professional editor or two, but at the end of the day, you get to make the call when your work is ready for the world to see.
Another reward is when the monetary investment returns and you don’t have to pay any middle-men. But if you can land a contract with one of the Big 5 publishers, signing that baby would definitely be worth it!



That is really amazing to hear. I know a few people who have admitted to being scared to self publish, but maybe after they see this, they'll grab the bull by the horns and dive in. :)



-What is the difference between traditional and self-publishing, and what is a hybrid publisher?
There are a bunch of differences, but really it’s a matter of rights. As an independently published author, you’d maintain all of your rights and would take all of the profits from your book sales for yourself. But you’re a one-man show.
If you’re lucky enough to land a traditional publishing contract, you’d sell your rights to the publisher and make a much lower royalty percentage. But you’d have a team of experts behind you with a vested interest in making your book awesome and selling as many copies as possible.
A hybrid author has one foot in each camp. They have been traditionally published, but also self-publish some of their works.



-What are the advantages of being a hybrid author versus just sticking with indie or traditional?
There are lots of advantages! Hybrid authors have the best of both worlds. They have the full force of a publisher’s resources gunning for their success–large traditional publishers help tremendously with marketing and may even hire a publicity firm for a project or two.
And when traditional authors self-publish on the side, they make a killing on the royalties because they’ve already got a large fan base, thanks to their publisher. Because of this, hybrid authors tend to make more money than both independent and traditional authors (on average).



I have never heard the term hybrid publisher, but that makes a lot of sense. *nods*


-What advice would you share with an aspiring author?
Decide if you want to write for pleasure or for business. It’s OK just to write for pleasure and not publish everything, just like it’s OK to be a hobby artist or musician!
But if you do want to be a career writer, realize that you’re starting a small business—and all small business require a monetary investment and a start-up period of a few years. Be willing to learn, save up, and sacrifice. Surround yourself with professionals—from top editors to bestselling authors to award-winning cover designers to marketing gurus—and I promise your hard work will pay off.


Awesome! Thank you so much for answering these questions for us, and folks, if you have any questions to ask her yourself feel free to ask her at jamie@jamiesfoley.com




Author Bio:
Jamie FoleyYA fantasy author Jamie Foley loves strategy games, home-grown berries, and Texas winters. She’s terrified of plot holes and red wasps.

Her husband is her manly cowboy astronaut muse. They live between Austin, TX and their family cattle ranch, where their hyperactive spawnling and wolfpack can run free.







Show Me The Books:
All about her series The Sentinel Trilogy
Viper: Prequel to The Sentinel TrilogyName: Viper: Prequel to The Sentinel Trilogy $9.99
eBook: $2.99
Author: Jamie Foley
Series: The Sentinel Trilogy, Book 0
Genres: Fantasy, Military, Romantic Suspense, Thriller, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Buy now: Signed Paperback






About: Sorvashti is a captive. Jet is a soldier. Both harness the primal power of aether.
The war is over, but the Revoth want their land back. Kidnapping, ransom, and slavery fund their terrorism, but bombing Jet’s hometown was the final straw.
Viper Unit is dispatched to take the Revoth down. But the special forces have no need for a mind-reading ‘fairy’—unless Jet can prove himself as a sniper.
Sorvashti’s clan demands she take one of the seven oaths, but her father’s political status has already chosen for her—and made her a prime target for ransom.
When Jet and Sorvashti meet behind enemy lines, revenge intertwines with survival… and a spark between them neither can ignore.


Sentinel: The Sentinel Trilogy Book 1
Name: Sentinel  $14.99
eBook: $4.99
Author: Jamie Foley
Series: The Sentinel Trilogy, Book 1
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Young Adult
Buy now: Signed Paperback
About: When a meteor storm knocks out the power grid, the supernaturally gifted become pawns in humanity’s struggle for survival.
The meteor storm wasn’t such a big deal until a comet landed in the middle of the road. Now Darien’s car is wrecked, his sister is bleeding out, and the only medical aid is at the reclusive Serran Academy.
Some say the Serrans have blood-bonds with angels. Some say they have surreal mental abilities. Some say the gods grant them elemental powers.
But when the Academy is targeted for harvesting, its secrets—and the collapse of modern civilization—are the least of Darien’s worries.

Arbiter: The Sentinel Trilogy Book 2Name: Arbiter $14.99
eBook: $4.99
Author: Jamie Foley
Series: The Sentinel Trilogy, Book 2
Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Romantic Suspense, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult
Buy now: Signed Paperback Pre-Order

NOTIFY ME
About: Archangels return to Alani, creating a new generation of Serrans… for a price.
Jet Valinor can’t keep his secrets from Darien any longer. Sorvashti seeks revenge against her husband’s killer—a debt that can only be paid in blood.
The Lynx want their base back. The Serrans will fetch a good price for Zekk Sorrowsong, or make excellent slaves… if he can capture them before they’re betrayed from within.

Exclusive excerpt from Arbiter:

Jet’s knife dove into the wood, slicing an uneven divot into the spear’s tip.

The chunk flopped onto the pile between Jet’s boots, where the waterlogged earth softened the shavings into something that smelled like mildew and rain.

Great. Now do I just leave the divot, or should I carve the entire thing smaller to fix it?

Black hair fell into Jet’s eyes for the dozenth time, and he swatted it away. Can’t focus without food. When was the last time I ate? He was pretty sure the fruit Darien had found was inedible, but at this rate, he just might try it.

Hours had passed since he’d woken, but his head still throbbed—especially the swollen knot on the side that felt like he’d smashed it into a wall. Or a plane, apparently.

Jet glanced across the small campsite at Darien. The teen was cracking yet another coconut on a rock, peeking into the green flesh after every few impacts. He looked like Jet felt, with mosquito-gnawed skin, wild hair plastered to his neck with sweat, and mud splattered on the few pieces of sleek armor that hadn’t been discarded in the heat.

I swear I’ve never seen him before in my life. Jet squinted through the throbbing in his head. How could he possibly know everything he does about me? But he said I’m not in the Royal Guard anymore—obviously that can’t be right.

“What?” Darien paused the coconut torture to tilt his head at Jet. “Did you remember everything yet?”

Jet snapped his gaze back to his spear. “The sun’s setting. We’ll need more firewood to keep it going through the night.” After the hours they’d spent finally getting a flame going, losing it was a worst-case scenario. “Can you find some that isn’t wet this time?”

Darien snorted and dropped the coconut next to its plump brethren, across the camp from the ant-covered discard pile. “Is there anything dry on this swamp island?”

“Good question,” Jet muttered. “Why don’t you fly around with those fancy wings and check?” Apparently waking up in the middle of a jungle wasn’t insane enough, so the teen had sprouted wings like a sunburned pubescent angel to search for resources.

I’m definitely drugged. Creator, let me be drugged.

•••••
Still With Us?

Now for those who have hung around, dundudun! GIVEAWAY TIME!!! Just fill out the forum below to enter!





You can use this link if the embed code isn’t working for ya.

https://goo.gl/forms/t92uVgb7qSKAz6Ud2

Saturday, May 6, 2017

Tyger, Tyger (The Haunting of Grey Hills #6) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Tyger, Tyger
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #6
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads



In the thrilling conclusion of The Haunting of Grey Hills, a final choice must be made that could change the world forever. Each person must answer one final question: what am I willing to do for the people I love? Who will die? Who will survive? What does death even mean, in a world full of ghosts?



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars

He closed his eyes, and then the world exploded.


I am so conflicted. I freaking LOVED this book, Don't get me wrong. But I didn't want it to end! Lol.

I don't even know where to start or what to say, but here it goes. 

This book picked up where book 5 left off, gotta admit, that's one thing I love about this series. Always picks up where it left off so there is no guessing where you're at. 
While book 5 didn't have action, I should have known the crap was about to hit the fan. Seriously. Book 5 was the calm before the storm. 

Tyger, Tyger was one heck of a storm too and slam full of action. This book left my heart racing and kept me on the edge if my seat. 

If I said I didn't tear up, I'd be lying. Lol. This was a tear jerker, it was so amazing to see some favorite characters again and great to see *one* character I didn't even realized I was attached too. But I guess if you hear enough about them, when you do see them it's like they've been there all along. 


This who series was so mind-blowing. It was beautifully written that keeps you hooked. The story line was one of a kind in my opinion with a hint of RL Stine. 

I admit I wasn't a fan of the profanity but, I still stand by saying the story line was amazing. 


I guess I'll wrap this up with what we all know was coming. Lol
Fuck: 53
Shit: 12
Ass: 3
Damn: 3
Bitch: 3

Distant Deep (The Haunting of Grey Hills #5) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Distant Deep
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #5
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads



A long forgotten mystery may decide the fate of the world. The group is fractured as Sam races against time to find a cure for Jackson before it is too late. Meanwhile, an important figure from Trev's past resurfaces, forcing him to decide once and for all where his loyalties lie.






My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Death is not the end. I am still here.



I think I have reached that part of the series where the reader doesn't even want to review because they have to know what happens next. But alas, I must review. 

Not much happened in this book which was a bit if a bummer. But I'm glad they offered more information. Especially about Mabel. I did not see that. I like Mabel. But I have a feeling that's gonna bite me in the butt. Lol. I'm so nervous to start book 6. I really don't want this series to end. 

There really isn't much to say in this review because really not much action happened, it mainly just offered a lot of important information that really leaves you with your eyes bulging asking "are you serious?!" 

I still stand by the fact I can't stand Claire. -_- I want Macy back! *cries*

And if you've read previous reviews, you saw this next bit coming. 
Fuck: 75
Shit: 16
Damn: 5
Bitch: 4
Ass: 3
Hell: 3
Bastard: 2

Thursday, May 4, 2017

April Book Wind-Up

Hey everyone, sorry I am getting this up so late! I have just had a lot going on and this month is a really tough month for me. Especially with my mom's passing date coming up. I tell ya, 2 years and it still feels like yesterday. I miss her so much. Sorry, I know you didn't come here for this. Sometimes I can't help it. It just comes out. Anyway, On with the show. Here are the books I read during April. Got a pretty good bunch this month.




Title: Path to the Key
Series: Destruction of Magic
Author: April Canavan
Genre: Mature/Adult/Erotica/Supernatural
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here


I got to read the baby before my Kindle decided to full crap out on me. Let me just say, I am glad I got to read this book before it did. I actually reall enjoyed this book. It was so addicting, I didn't want to put it down. Sure there were some things that had issues, but in the end. It was still a good book.


Title: Red Queen
Series: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia/Supernatural
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review:


This is the best book I have read this year. I can also throw in, it is in my favorite top 5. Red Queen... oh my gosh. It's going to stick with me until I die! that is how awesome this book was. If you haven't read it, I don't know what the heck you are waiting for because it is one you don't want to miss.

Title: The Burning
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here


It is hard to do a round up this book now because I love the series so much. Lol It really makes me want to go through and change all my ratings to 4 stars. But I don't think that would be right. Who knows, for all I know, by the end of the series, they all might end up 5 stars because I've gotten use to the cussing.

Okay, sorry I got kinda off topic. I wouldn't call this series a YA. unless you wanted to go with Mature Young Adult. There is just so much cussing and I have no idea why, in all honesty. The book story line is AMAZING. There is no need for all the cussing. Take the cussing out and you have a shining 5 star book, hands down.

Title: Forests of the Night
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #2
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 3/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here

I devoured this book. As soon as I put book down, I picked this one up. There was no way I could wait to know what happened. The ending of this one left me in a ball crying though.

Title: What Dread Hand
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #3
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here



I didn't really enjoy this book as much as the rest. Don't get me wrong, I still loved it. Especially with the cussing cut waaaaaaayyyyyyyy down. and it was awesome to go back in time and see how this started. It just seemed to lack that *something*.


Title: Me & Earl & the Dying Girl
Author: Jesse Andrews
Genre: Mature Young Adult/New Adult/Fiction
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads
Full Review: Click Here


The worst book I have read this year. Possibly ever. I fail to see how this is a best seller and I do NOT understand how it is Young Adult. I would never want my child reading this disgusting crap.

Sinews of Thy Heart (The Haunting of Grey Hills #4) by Jennifer Skogen

Synopsis

Title: Sinews of Thy Heart
Series: The Haunting of Grey Hills #4
Author: Jennifer Skogen
Genre: Mature Young Adult/Young Adult/Paranormal/Horror
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads


After an unthinkable tragedy on Halloween, Jackson must decide if he should stay in Grey Hills, or pack up everything and leave with Sam and the others. A new start is appealing, but Dominick has made it clear that Jackson is not welcome. When Jackson starts sleepwalking and hearing voices, he isn't sure if he is going crazy, or if he has inherited an unspeakable power. Meanwhile, Claire is determined to find out exactly what happened on Halloween, which brings Jackson into her line of fire.




My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

There are screams too, and weeping. And laughter. The kind of laughs that you only hear in a madhouse. It is the laughter that keeps me awake at night. Children's laughs, Women.

Books that leave you breathless are truly the BEST kind. There are so many things that happened in the book that made me feel like my heart was going to explode! It continues where book three left off, which is what I love about this series. No guessing where you are. Lol) 

There was the cussing thing again though.
Fuck: 95
Shit: 20
Ass: 5
Bitch: 5
Damn: 4
Pissed: 2
Bastard: 1
Whore: 1

I still stand by saying it is a great story line. The cussing is just overkill and unnecessary. 

In this book, I seriously thought a certain *someone* would make a reappearance... Sadly they did not. BUT someone else does. Actually... I want to say 2 come back even though one was already here, just not a very active ... and it is safe to say, I really can NOT stand this character. She should have been the one to "go missing" lol. I suppose that makes me a horrible person, but oh well. Hahaha for real though. I would like to throw in, I think Jackson is growing on me. Which I kinda hate because of what happened in the earlier books.  Ugh I really am a horrible person. 
Anywho...

It is actually harder to review this book because so much happened in this book that it's hard to say anything without giving a lot away, so this review isn't very long, I apologize. 

That freaking ending! Are you kidding me! How can you end it like that? *spaz* I gotta find out what happens next. 

Saturday, April 29, 2017

A Blogger/Book Reviewer Asking For Help

Hey all!!
Hopefully y'all are all having a fun and awesome weekend!

My weekend hasn't been to good. My kindle is out of commission so I've had to turn down a lot of review requests lately. So it brings me to this....


I could use y'alls help. I've started a #gofundme campaign in hopes to raising enough to get a new kindle. If y'all could help in any way by donating or sharing, anything really. I'll be forever grateful.

GoFundMe Link

I really miss reviewing books and helping indie authors. I miss helping them get their books out there. Help me help them. 🙏 🌹


Please and thank you. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Friday, April 28, 2017

Instagram Bookstagram 🤔

I have to admit, I haven't been here as much as I use to be. I only have myself to blame, I suppose. I have been on Instagram for years but only recently stumbled upon the wondrous world of Bookstagram.
It is what Goodreads use to be, really. I know I know "*gasp* those are fighting words!" but if you really think about it. Goodreads use to be about books and reviewing and other bookworms sharing the love of books. But it seems like lately every time I log on, not many are actually reviewing books. They are mostly just commenting on games or trying to win books they will never even read.
But, that is beside the point of this since I was meaning to just talk about bookstagramming.

I have come across the most amazing, sweetest people while bookstagramming. abdulia_ortiz, livin.the.fandomlife, angelena_vee, the_pufflehuffle_kitteh, and sooooo many more. If I tried to name everyone I would literally be here all day and night for a while. Lol

It is so amazing seeing so many beautiful pictures of their books and seeing how one book can have SO MANY different personalities. I can only wish to have half the talent most of these people have. I missed talking about books and sharing the book love. Lol.

I guess what I am trying to say is if you don't see me here, I am definitely there. Lol. If you haven't found your book "family" I would recommend bookstagramming.

Don't get me wrong. Like everything on the internet, it has it's trolls as well. but I must say I am amazed at how tight-nit the bookstagram community is. You mess with one, you mess with all and seriously reminds me of the Hogwarts battle.

Totally badass, right?

What can I say?
*image not mine but I completely agree ♥♥♥♥*

Me & Earl & the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Synopsis

Title: Me & Earl & the Dying Girl
Author: Jesse Andrews
Genre: Mature Young Adult/New Adult/Fiction
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads



Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.
Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.
Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.
And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.


My Thoughts
★ Star

"In fact, high school is where we are first introduced to the basic question of life: How is it possible to exist in a place that sucks so bad?"

That is probably the only text in this book that I actually liked and agreed with. The rest of this book is complete and utter trash. 

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is a perfect example of how NOT to write. I honestly have no idea how this book managed to make it to the best seller list. I also stand by the fact this should not be labeled as "Young Adult". It should be Adult, even New Adult. I'll even go as far as saying MATURE YA (which is really pretty much New Adult, but hopefully you get my point) 

the main character in this book is just a disgusting slime ball. And trust me when I say Earl TOPS disgusting slime ball. He is the type that really makes you wonder how he has friends at all unless he has a gun to their head saying "we are gonna be friends!" Which.... I actually would not put passed him to do. 

I admit part of me wanted to feel bad for Earl. I really did. I mean, you have a deadbeat mom and dad. Your house is falling apart covered in dog poop, vomit, dirty clothes.... The works of any hoodrat. But then I thought, well, I can't feel bad because there are plenty of people in that same situation and still manage to make straight A's, clean the poop and vomit. Ya know. the HUMANE thing to do. And of course we can't exactly feel bad for him when 1) he is a drug dealer and 2) the fact for 2 pages plus more scattered through this book he continuously says degrading things such as "You gonna eat her pussy?" "You better eat dat pussy." "Ew bro ain't nobody trying to hear vagina! that's nasty!" among much more trash along those lines.  
Earl turns my stomach. I'm not even kidding. Every time he was brought up, I just wanted to puke.
Do I really need to bring up the 13 year old "TRU NIGGA" neck tattooed, drug dealing, drop out, brother that knocked up some chick? Or is that pretty self explanatory?

Can you believe I hated this book so bad, I literally can not remember the main characters name? Oh well, don't really care. he really is no better. He is crude and makes my skin crawl. He reminds me of one of those creepers that just stand there wide eyed watching your every move throwing out the vibe "I'm going to watch you poop" or something. Ugh! 

I noticed a lot of times he went on and on about all these groups that hate each other and the trick to surviving high school is to be in with all of them without them knowing...and he thought he was "all that" because he managed to do that..... I really wonder if it ever crossed his mind that he was THAT much of a loser that he isn't in with ANY group, that they just tiny nod at him in hopes that he won't bother them because really no one likes him. Like even the "gothy dorks" and losers want nothing to do with him. Hmmmmmm..... Would make perfect sense if you ask me. and I hated how he guilt tripped that girl into talking to him. He lied through his dang teeth and made her feel bad. Words really don't cover how low that is and how much it pissed me off. 

I have never hated a main character so much in my life and that is saying a lot. Than again, I don't think I have ever hated a book as much as I have this one. Even the parents made me roll my eyes. They are so freaking oblivious to what is going on. 


This book was just terrible. The constant change between novel to screen play made me want to scream. The narration was cringe-worthy. The whole "this book is so stupid, why are you still reading" really made me ask myself why the hell I was. But people kept telling me it gets better, it gets better. eerrrrr.....no. No it didn't. Anywho, back to the narration the whole "I should punch myself in the eyeball/I punched myself in the eyeball/you should punch yourself in the eyeball for reading this" on and on and on and on... like really dude? What the hell is the point of saying that? It's stupid and pointless.  

I would never in my life recommend this book. There are much better books out there. This is not one of them.