Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Enchantment Lake: A Northwoods Mystery by Margi Preus

Synopsis

A disturbing call from her great aunts Astrid and Jeannette sends seventeen-year-old Francie far from her new home in New York into a tangle of mysteries. Ditching an audition in a Manhattan theater, Francie travels to a remote lake in the northwoods where her aunts’ neighbors are “dropping like flies” from strange accidents. But are they accidents?
On the shores of Enchantment Lake in the woods of northern Minnesota, something ominous is afoot, and as Francie begins to investigate, the mysteries multiply: a poisoned hot dish, a puzzling confession, eerie noises in the bog, and a legendary treasure that is said to be under enchantment—or is that under Enchantment, as in under the lake? At the center of everything is a suddenly booming business in cabin sales and a road not everyone wants built.
To a somewhat reluctant northwoods Nancy Drew, the intrigue proves irresistible, especially when it draws her closer to the mysteries at the heart of her own life: What happened to her father? Who and where is her mother? Who is she, and where does her heart lie—in the bustle of New York City or the deep woods of Minnesota? With its gripping story, romantic spirit, and a sly dash of modern-day trouble (evil realtors and other invasive species), Enchantment Lake will fascinate readers, providing precisely the charm that Margi Preus’s readers have come to expect.

My Thoughts
★★ Let Down Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
This book wasn't my cup of tea. I honestly don't have the words to say what a disappointment this book was. I expected so much more from it. By 20% I was skimming. by 50% I was skipping pages. But at about 90% I slowed down because that is when things actually started to happen that managed to peek my curiosity. Sorry to say, I would not recommend this book.

Saturday, December 27, 2014

(The Road to Salvation #2) Dealing with Devils by Pembroke Sinclair

Synopsis

Dating a demon has its advantages, like helping deliver souls to Hell. Wait...what? 
Katie’s world has been turned upside down. She's fallen for Josh—despite the fact that he’s a demon from Hell. Wes is finally out of her system and her life. Convinced she can change Josh, she sets out to make him a better person, only to find out things aren’t as simple as she’d originally thought. For one thing, Josh has Katie help him deliver souls to Hell, and she kind of likes it. And to top it off, other more powerful demons are battling for her soul, and revelations from the past could change the course of her life forever.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Burning Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Where to even start...
This book is one of a kind and beautifully written. It's a shocking, edgy, gripping page turner that leaves you wanting more, I could go on and on. I could NOT put this book down!
I really liked this book because it picks up exactly where the first book left off, so it doesn't leave you guessing what happened in the time between. For me, personally, this book was full of "oh snap!" and "didn't see that coming" moments. I love books that just take you by surprise and also make you giggle because you are just shocked and can't believe what you just read happened. I must say adding Lucifer and Lilith to the mix of things made it bold and so much more intense. It kept me guessing and thinking "Well, that's it. There is no possible way this can get more shocking." Only for me to turn the page and have another "Oh snap" moment. Haha.
BUT!... But... A cliff hanger?! Really?! So not fair! I'm gonna go crazy not knowing what happens next!
Can't wait for the next installment.

Friday, December 26, 2014

The Appeal of Evil by Pembroke Sinclair

Synopsis

Katie wants to invest her heart and soul in love, but she may lose both to Hell. 
Katie, a senior in high school, is torn between loving the "good" guy, her childhood friend Wes who makes promises he doesn't keep and abandons her when she needs him the most, and the "bad" guy, the new kid at school Josh who is also a real demon from Hell. Katie wants someone who pays attention to her and puts her first, but what is she willing to give up to find him?



My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Astounding Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.

OH SWEET MOTHER!!
This book was AMAZING!
And let me just say, I'm honestly not a biog fan of these kind of books. Demons and stuff just isn't my thing. But this book... oh my gosh! Super awesome! Gripping, eye-popping, astonishing! The list goes on and on. If you are a fan of Hush, Hush and Fallen, you are gonna love this book. I could NOT put it down. So if you start it, you might as well clear your whole schedule because you are going to be sucked in and won't want to put the book down.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Disturbingly Beautiful (A Paradox in Time #1) by J. Wells

Synopsis

Is it really possible that somewhere in time, the perfect paradox could be created? Does romance really stand a chance, and could it ever flourish amidst so many intricacies and broken lives? How can a nineteenth-century governess unknowingly cause so much devastation?
As Nell’s world opens up, we follow her on a complex journey, on which she discovers love, loss and betrayal, and is forced to play a dangerous game from which there appears to be no escape.
An intricate family plot slowly begins to unravel, in which she finds herself centre stage. She was never supposed to leave Haunchcroft estate, and he will do everything in his power to keep her there…
Could a possible rip in time be the salvation that Nell seeks?
“I find you disturbingly beautiful,” are the contradictory words bestowed upon the governess by her master.
Mr Buchannan’s infatuation is a shadow from which Nell cannot escape. The feelings he holds for her are not reciprocated, and though his lust soon turns to love, Nell’s feelings towards him turn to hatred. Dreams and a love of literature are Nell’s only escapism from the downtrodden life she leads as a governess in the nineteenth century.
One night, an intruder on the estate catches Nell off guard, but she gives chase; a decision that leads her through an opening in time between the centuries, where she finds equality, true friendship and a completely different outlook on life.
Despite using this to her advantage to escape the advances of her unwanted suitor, she is somewhat perturbed when she unexpectedly finds him at her side in the twenty-first century. Will love conquer all, or will time always stand in their way?

My Thoughts
★Star
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
This is a joke right?
Stockholm Syndrome anyone?
I'm not into the whole time travel thing, and thanks to this book, I don't think I ever will be. There were way to many characters so you don't get to have a bond with any of them. All the men seem to be nothing but pigs and Nell had no backbone. She was weak and got kicked around and never fought back. It all just irritated me to no ends! And honestly through most of the book, it was information overload. There were thing just thrown in there to be there for no reason. It honestly put me to sleep. I wouldn't recommend this book. Even to time travel lovers. Sorry.

Monday, December 22, 2014

Cryer's Cross by Lisa McMann

Synopsis

Kendall loves her life in small town Cryer's Cross, Montana, but she also longs for something more. She knows the chances of going to school in New York are small, but she's not the type to give up easily. Even though it will mean leaving Nico, the world's sweetest boyfriend, behind.
But when Cryer's Cross is rocked by unspeakable tragedy, Kendall shoves her dreams aside and focuses on just one goal: help find her missing friends. Even if it means spending time with the one
boy she shouldn't get close to... the one boy who makes her question everything she feels for Nico. Determined to help and to stay true to the boy she's always loved, Kendall keeps up the search--and stumbles upon some frightening local history. She knows she can't stop digging, but Kendall is about to find out just how far the townspeople will go to keep their secrets buried.... 



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Haunting Stars.
This book is pure perfection!
So gripping and haunting. Not the kind of book you'll soon forget. Book you can savor.
I love Lisa McMann's writing. I really do. She knows exactly how to capture the reader and keep them drawn in wanting more. And this book is exactly that. I couldn't put it down. If I had to do something, the book went with me so I could keep reading. Ended up finishing it in a day, wishing it wouldn't end! The characters are all wonderful and I love how you get to bond with each of them and how tight-knit they all are. I honestly started out hating Jacian, and I was so mad at Kendall for falling for him. But at the end, I couldn't help but to smile... Except for the very last page.
I was just like..."WHAT?!?!"

Sunday, December 21, 2014

Escape from Witchwood Hollow by Jordan Elizabeth

Synopsis

Everyone in Arnn - a small farming town with more legends than residents - knows the story of Witchwood Hollow: if you venture into the whispering forest, the witch will trap your soul among the shadowed trees.
After losing her parents in a horrific terrorist attack on the Twin Towers, fifteen-year-old Honoria and her older brother escape New York City to Arnn. In the lure of that perpetual darkness, Honoria finds hope, when she should be afraid.
Perhaps the witch can reunite her with her lost parents. Awakening the witch, however, brings more than salvation from mourning, for Honoria discovers a past of missing children and broken promises.
To save the citizens of Arnn from becoming the witch’s next victims, she must find the truth behind the woman’s madness.
How deep into Witchwood Hollow does Honoria dare venture?


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
I would love to give this book 5 stars, but there are just a few things that kinda bugged me about the book. All the time jumping and the overload on characters. 
There were parts where I would be reading and it would jump so fast, I would have to flip back to make sure I didn't miss a page or something. Also, There were all these new characters coming in and even those with name changes were really confusing.
Other than that, the story was really good. It was one of those that I didn't want to put down because it had me so curious. The ending! The ending is so different from other books I've read. I admit, I cried... and my jaw dropped because it was just "BAM!" like getting side swiped, you don't see it coming. 
I would recommend this book.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Twisted Dreams (The Dhampyre Chronicles #1) by Marissa Farrar

Synopsis

Born of a vampire father to a human mother, Elizabeth Bandores’ life was never going to be normal, so she can’t image why she thinks starting college will be any different.
Having grown up in the affluent Hollywood Hills of Los Angeles and desperate to escape, she decides on the small college town of Sage Springs. With dreams of being a writer, she joins the college newspaper and is introduced to blond, confident Flynn Matthews, Sage Springs’ rising swim star.
But a carnival has set up in the small town, and the boy running the Waltzer catches her eye. Dark-haired, leather-jacketed Riley is rude, with an air of danger. Elizabeth can’t help but notice him. And when an accident thrusts them together, she discovers he’s noticed her, too.
Sage Springs isn’t the quiet little town Elizabeth had hoped for. The forests bordering the town harbour a dark secret—one some of the residents have been trying to protect, and the leaders of the carnival have set in their sights...




My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Amazing Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Seriously, I don't even know what to say right now. This book was so fascinating! The author used so many mixes of different things from vampires to hybrids (Elizabeth being half human half vampire) to witches to people who can control elements. It was really awesome to see that kind of mix.
And on top of all that, it was totally unpredictable! I know we've all read those kinds of books that even a few pages in you want to yawn and say "Yeah, yeah, I know where this is going." I honestly was surprised not knowing where it was going and even more shocked with the outcome of everything.
The story and the characters were written beautifully and everything flowed at a perfect pace. I wanted to read it all at once but had to force myself to stop so I could sleep! Haha

Sunday, December 14, 2014

The After House by Michael Phillip Cash

Synopsis

Remy Galway and her daughter Olivia are rebuilding their life after a failed marriage in a 300 year old cottage in historic Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island. Little do they know, another occupant is lurking in the haven of their own home. Will the After House be their shelter or their tomb?


My Thoughts
★★ cringing stars.
I received this book VIA NG in return for an honest review.

Lovely ending. But, I am sad to say, that is all I liked about it. Don't get me wrong, the story itself was beautiful. But the way it was written.. seemed to make the story suffer. I know the saying "I have a feeling it suffered in the translation" that's what I think of when I think of this book and it's story. The story bounced around so much I wasn't sure who was telling that point of view or who it had to do with till about half way through each swap. And honestly, I while reading, I didn't remember the characters to well. There was no bond there and I found that really sad. I think a reader should know the characters and feel like they are just drawn into the story... but I felt nothing on this.

Saturday, December 13, 2014

Luna of Mine (The Grey Wolves, #8) by Quinn Loftis

Synopsis

Every life leaves behind a legacy. Every story has a beginning and an end. The Alpha of the Romania Grey Wolves knows this better than most. He also knows it’s the things that transpire to create that legacy and the experiences, triumphs and failures that happen in the middle of the story that matter. His story began a century ago and now a tragedy has led him to his rightful place as Alpha of the Eastern Romania pack. Before he led hundreds, he had to learn to lead a few. Before he sacrificed for all, he had to be willing to sacrifice for any. Before he could be the man destined to save his race he had to be willing to serve them. In order to be raised up he had to first be torn down. There was only one who could do this and live, only one who could light his way when the darkness closed in; his mate, his Luna. This is the building of their legacy, the middle of their story. Their triumphs, their failures, and their tragedy’s that would one day make them strong enough to restore a race torn apart by greed, envy, and fear.



My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Excellent Stars.
Why can't I give this more than 5 stars?!
This book was so epic! It just sucks you in. One of those rare books that someone could be talking to you and you won't hear a word they say because it's like you are literally there and living it. I really hope this is not the last book. I hope there are tons more to come. Luna of Mine takes you back to what life was like when Vasile and Alina first met. It was so amazing to get to hear their story and see all the trials and things they went through. It just makes their bond so much stronger. If there was any characters who are truly beautiful it's Vasile and Alina. Their love can almost make you weep because it is so deep and will have you longing for what they have.

Truly wonderful extravagant book!
Quinn Loftis is a pure genius

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Adeline by Randal Licato

Synopsis

The world has gone dark. No sun and no moon.No-one knows how it happened for sure. But for thesurviving generations, darkness is all they have ever known.And they are not alone. Something terrible came with the dark,and it's hunting humans.
While trying to find her identity, Adeline has learned to survive by running away, even from light. Until she encounters the greatest light of them all: LOVE.







My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I want to say this book was very interesting, but it was so much more than that. The story was beautifully written. I honestly have not read any other book like this before (though I'm sure there may be some, I just haven't found them yet.)
I was sad to see it end so quickly. I wish we could have gotten to bond and know the characters a lot better. The one thing that really threw me off was Shepherd.
***SPOILER***

I must say, this book left me with a smile on my face. 
Wonderful book. 
5+ stars!

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

The Rose Master by Valentina Cano

Synopsis

The day Anne Tinning turns seventeen, birds fall from the sky. But that's hardly the most upsetting news. She's being dismissed from the home she's served at since she was a child, and shipped off to become the newly hired parlor maid for a place she's never heard of. And when she sees the run-down, isolated house, she instantly knows why:
There's something wrong with Rosewood Manor.
Staffed with only three other servants, all gripped by icy silence and inexplicable bruises, and inhabited by a young master who is as cold as the place itself, the house is shrouded in neglect and thick with fear. Her questions are met with hushed whispers, and she soon finds herself alone in the empty halls, left to tidy and clean rooms no one visits.As the feeling of being watched grows, she begins to realize there is something else in the house with them--some creature that stalks the frozen halls and claws at her door. A creature that seems intent on harming her.When a fire leaves Anne trapped in the manor with its Master, she finally demands to know why. But as she forces the truth about what haunts the grounds from Lord Grey, she learns secrets she isn't prepared for. The creature is very real, and she's the only one who can help him stop it.Now, Anne must either risk her life for the young man she's grown to admire, or abandon her post while she still can.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
This book was amazing. This is one of the rare times when I honestly have no idea what to say about it. And yet, I have so much to say about it that I can't or I'll be giving to much away.
The writing went smoothly But I must admit, there were a few times when I had to reread something to make sure I read it right because it left me going "Huh? How did we go from there to here?" Buuuut I just kinda shrugged it off because I couldn't wait to read what happened next.
It was like a slow building wave. The suspense felt like it was going to kill me! Lol. But just when you think you can't take anymore, it all comes down and you are left with your eyes being the "deer in headlights" look. Haha.
I did not expect that ending. I seriously thought I knew who was behind it all, but I was very wrong. My jaw dropped when the person reviled them self.
Great book.

Monday, December 8, 2014

Portraits of Celina by Sue Whiting

Synopsis

Make him pay, Bayley. Make him pay.It’s as if the wooden chest is luring me, urging me to open it – daring me almost. Open me up. Look inside. Come on, just for a second; it won’t hurt. Celina O’Malley was sixteen years old when she disappeared. Now, almost forty years later, Bayley is sleeping in Celina’s room, wearing her clothes, hearing her voice. What does Celina want? And who will suffer because of it? A ghost story. A love story. A story of revenge.





My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Wow, um. Okay. This book surprised the heck out of me! It was a slow start and painful. Through most of the book I just wanted someone to slap the fire out of the mother and oldest daughter. I know teens go through this "oh my gosh, you are ruining me life!" phase, BUT this chick is almost 18! Time to grow the heck up. The mother.... that woman was off her meds I swear. If she wasn't checked out, she was hysterical for no reason. I'm like geez lady, I know you lost your husband but SHEESH! You got 3 kids to take care of! Get your crap together!
That's just my thoughts personally. But I must say, almost everything this book makes you think; flips it completely and makes you go "wowzers! Didn't see that coming."
Loved the ending. I mean loved loved loved it. I think that is the perfect ending to this book. It could not have been better!

Saturday, December 6, 2014

Personal Post

I'm sorry about not having any new reviews by now but a family emergency came up and I haven't had time to do anything else right now. But, hopefully soon I should be able to get back on the ball and get back to reading and posting reviews. Thank you for understanding. 




Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Since You've Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne

Synopsis

Is it possible to outrun your past? Fifteen-year-old Edie Fraser and her mother, Sydney, have been trying to do just that for five years. Now, things have gone from bad to worse. Not only has Edie had to move to another new school she's in a different country. Sydney promises her that this is their chance at a fresh start, and Edie does her best to adjust to life in London, England, despite being targeted by the school bully. But when Sydney goes out to work the night shift and doesn't come home, Edie is terrified that the past has finally caught up with them. Alone in a strange country, Edie is afraid to call the police for fear that she ll be sent back to her abusive father. Determined to find her mother, but with no idea where to start, she must now face the most difficult decision of her life.



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
*takes a shaky breath* 
Wow. Where to even start.
This book was very emotional. So I'm pretty sure if you read it, you may want some tissues.... just in case. Goodness knows, I cried like a baby. I'm close with my mother, so this kinda hit home with me because I wouldn't know what to do if I ever lost her.
Anyway, back to my review.
The story was flowing and beautifully written. Even though I'm American aaand didn't understand some of the slang. Haha.
The characters were so diverse and so interesting! Their personality types were so strong.
I got lost in this book. I really felt like I was living life through Edie's eyes.

Monday, December 1, 2014

Tear You Apart by Sarah Cross

Synopsis

An edgy fairy tale retelling of "Snow White" set in the world of Kill Me Softly for fans of Once Upon a Time and Grimm.Faced with a possible loophole to her "Snow White" curse, Viv goes underground, literally, to find the prince who's fated to rescue her. But is life safe in the Underworld worth the price of sacrificing the love that might kill her?







My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
I'm torn between 3 and 5 stars so I'll give it 4.
While yes, the story was good, it felt like there was to much.
I did not like the sensation I got reading this book. 
There is intense, then there is this.
This hit a whole NEW level.
I've never read a book that left me literally so stressed, it hurt to move from being so tense.
In other words. This book HURT. Literally mentally and physically.  It (excuse my french here) PISSED ME OFF!
Tested EVERY mad/pissed as hell level I had and made me realize, I have more levels than I thought!
It's a good story, I just wish I could have punched most of these people in the face.

Sunday, November 30, 2014

See Me (Zombie Love, Book #1) by Susan Hatler

Synopsis


Amy Love, a high school junior, plays a Ouija board with friends one night and unintentionally connects with someone whose, well, not visible to the naked eye. When her body’s taken over and her soul is stuck watching helplessly—she’s terrified. When the zombie guzzles bologna that she will have to work off at the gym—she’s angry. And, when her zombied body pulls up a news article on her laptop about a boy named Jonathan Miller who was recently in a car crash—she’s . . . intrigued. When the zombie chooses another host, Amy learns that the zombie is actually teen Jonathan Miller, son of the famous Maisy's Meow comic creator Jacob Miller. Jonathan tells Amy he doesn’t know whether he’s dead or alive, only that when he’s not in a body, she is the only one who seems to know he exists. Amy decides to help Jonathan discover what happened to him and, when they can’t find his body, they try to find a substitute—preferably one that isn’t occupied. On the journey, Jonathan leads Amy into all kinds of danger. To her surprise, he also leads her heart to somewhere unexpected. She’s always heard of love at first sight, not love at first fright, but how can Amy be falling for a boy she’s never even seen? 




My Thoughts
★★★★★ 5 Wonderful Stars!!
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
If I could give it more stars, I would. I mean seriously. Be still my beating heart!
I try to keep gifs out of my reviews here to keep it a little neater, but this one is a must have:

This book was marvelous. It was such a beautiful well written story and I am so GLAD I came across this and was allowed to read it. I was actually reading a few other books at the time when I received this book, but it was so good, it made me put down all the others just so I could put all my attention into this one. If there was EVER a book I would buy in nearly every format and read over and over and over again, it would honestly be this book. It was packed with so many emotions! I laughed my behind off, I panicked, I cried, I laughed some more... Just SO much!
I am IN LOVE with this book!

Quotes
―"You're suppose to be helping me get ready for my date―not trying to summon the dead, which is wrong on so many levels."

Friday, November 28, 2014

The Originals 1-3 by Julie Plec


The fact that book 1 doesn't come out till January and the 3rd book is scheduled to come out in May... is anyone else fan-girling as much as I am over this? I'm already in love with the covers!

Under My Skin (Immortality Strain #1) by Shawntelle Madison

Synopsis

Everyone wants to either be a member of the Guild or work for them. Little does the populace know that the Guild hides sinister secrets...
For Tate Sullivan, life in her small, coastal town is far from glamorous. The affluent lives of the Guild members and their servants isn't something she has ever wanted. But all sixteen year-olds must take a simple test, and Tate's result thrusts her into the Guild's world, one where they hide horrible plans for those they select. Tate must fight the relentless General Dagon for control of her mind, body, and soul to keep the one precious thing she has always taken for granted: herself.
Her only ally is the same handsome boy she is pitted against in General Dagon’s deadly game. Quinn desires nothing more than to end the life of General Dagon who has taken over Tate's mind. While romance blooms between Tate and Quinn, General Dagon plots to eventually take over Tate's body, and love might end before it even begins.

My Thoughts
★★★★★ 5 Stars
I honestly don't think I can write a review without giving some of the story away, so you'll be reading this at your own risk. If you don't mind a few spoilers, keep on reading. If you hate all spoilers, stop reading now. 
May I just say, "WOW!" and "WHAO!"
I was shocked when I was actually able to get into this book, really. Because mind control or things like that really aren't my cup of tea at all. Had I not knew already this was just plainly about humans who figured out how to switch into someone else's body, I would have thought this was about aliens and they'd take over your body like Hosts or something. Glad it wasn't, I can't stand aliens. (Sorry, all you alien lovers out there. I meant no harm, just isn't my thing.) 
Shawntelle Madison really keeps you guessing up till the very end. I thought for sure the old fart would win out. But after that ending, oh man. I had to fight the urge to jump up and pump my fist in the air going "♫Oh yeah! Uh-huh! It's ya birthday!♫"
*Cough* pretty sure new age kids won't get that 90's reference. Haha.
But yeah. This book was pretty good. 5 Stars!

Monday, November 24, 2014

Coral & Bone by Tiffany Daune


Synopsis
Halen knows the sparks igniting under her fingertips are dangerous. She has spent her entire life trying to quell the tingly feelings that make her destroy things, but now that she is back in Rockaway Beach, where she watched her father drown, the flames have become impossible to tame.Halen is trying to hold on, but when she is thrust into a mysterious new world, the underwater realm of Elosia, she unravels the secrets of her past and can't help but ignite. As she explores Elosia, she realizes her life has been a lie. And when those who have deceived her come to her for help, Halen must choose—walk away or unleash the magick that could destroy them all.




My Thoughts
★★★½ stars.
I received this book from NG in return for an honest review.
I hate leaving negative reviews, I really am sorry. But this book was a tough one.
I kinda have a love/hate relationship with this book. I wanted this book because 1) it sounded so amazing. 2) The cover is kick-butt. 
The ending was awesome but all in all, this book was disappointing. Some of the names of people and places were hard to grasp and remember. There were way to many characters coming all at once and while I was reading, I actually had to stop and think of all the characters and go "Oh! I remember who that is now." Also, a lot of times when I was reading, I was left with a raised eyebrow going "Huh?" in a loss because I feel as if I missed something even though so much was going on.  Books normally don't take me long to read. 3 days at the most. This one took me almost 2 weeks because it was just to much and gave me a headache.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Sleepers (The Swarm Trilogy #1) by Megg Jensen

Synopsis
An adoptee raised in a foreign land, sixteen-year-old Lianne was content with her life as handmaiden to the queen, until a spell cast on her at birth activated. Now she's filled with uncontrollable rage and access to magic she thought had been bled from her people years ago. Even her years of secret training in elite hand-to-hand combat and meditation can’t calm the fires raging inside her. Her heart is torn between two boys, the one she’s always loved and the one who always ignored her. But when the kingdom threatens to tear itself apart due to rumors surrounding the queen’s alleged affair, who will Lianne protect and who will she destroy?
My Thoughts

★★★★★ 5+ Wonderful Stars

Right from the start I knew this book was going to be a unique page turner. It's not often you come across a book that has a young queen who is best friends with a adopted maid. I use the term maid loosely here because while, yes, she did help out with a lot of things, she was also allowed a lot of things others weren't.
This was one of those books where I thought "Yeah, yeah yeah. This, this, and this is gonna happen." Man was I wrong. I was gasping and had my jaw dropped half the time from things I didn't except to happen. Sleepers was truly an amazing read! It's one of those that I kinda wish I could unread, just so I could read it again.
Megg Jensen is a true amazing author, and I cannot wait to read the rest of these books.

Friday, November 14, 2014

The Burning (The Fear Street Saga Trilogy #3) by R.L. Stine

Synopsis

Daniel and Nora, two young lovers from feuding families, must use their forbidden love to stop the awesome evil that stalks Nora and her family.


My Thoughts


★★★★★ 5+ Standing Ovation Stars

Such a amazing ending to a awesome start!
I honestly didn't expect this book to end the way it did... 
Actually, I didn't expect anything in this book. It all caught me off guard leaving me with a "that's new" thought and O_O look on my face. All in all, this book was AMAZING! 

Thursday, November 13, 2014

The Secret (The Fear Street Saga Trilogy #2) by R.L. Stine

Synopsis


In this terrifying new trilogy, R.L. Stine takes readers back in time, telling them finally the awful truth of what happened to the cursed Fear family . . . and why their evil lives on. Simon Fier meets an old gypsy who tells him his family will all die in a terrible fire. Terrified, he changes the family name to Fear, but he can't escape the curse.

My thoughts


★★★★★ 5+ Great Stars



I am no longer Simon Fier.
Now and forever I will be known as Simon FEAR


This book probably made me look like my eyes were going to bug out of my head I was so into it. I couldn't help it. It sucked me in and once I got into it, I couldn't stop reading. I'm loving how she is writing out this whole story and she goes into just enough detail without drowning you with it.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

The Betrayal (The Fear Street Saga Trilogy #1) by R.L. Stine

Synopsis

The Secret is Out!
Why do so many horrifying things happen on Fear Street? Nora knows.
She knows how the terror began. She knows about the young girl who burned at the stake--and the bloody feud between two families that caused the unspeakable horror that has lasted 300 years!
She knows, and she wants to tell.
Are you sure you want to hear it?


My thoughts
★★★★★ 5+ Gripping Stars!


As she set the basket down on the floor, Mary hearda soft creaking sound. She listened for a few seconds, trying to figure out what was making the sound. 

Then she suddenly noticed the black shadow swinging back and forth across the floor. 


Confused, she stared down at the slowly moving shadow for a long while, following it with her eyes narrowed. 


Creak. Creak.


The odd sound repeated in a rhythm with the shadow. Then she raised her eyes and saw what was casting the shadow - and started to scream. 

I love R.L. Stine's books! They are so thrilling! They grab your attention and keep it, making you want more and more. You have/must know what happens. The man has a gift with writing! This is one book I can read over and over again and I'll never get bored. I'll always stay glued to it, wanting more, like I don't already know what's going to happen.

The Originals: The Rise by Julie Plec


Goodness alive!
Sorry, I know I only post book reviews but I have to fan-girl a bit here.
I cannot wait for this book to come out!
I love the show am so excited about the book!

Saturday, November 8, 2014

After the End by Bonnie Dee

Synopsis

Zombies are on the loose and the world is falling apart. In the tradition of apocalyptic novels such as Stephen King’s THE STAND, a group of strangers on a Manhattan subway are brought together in the name of survival. The group follows the lead of Ari Brenner, a young man who doesn’t recognize his own leadership qualities and believes they follow him simply because he wears an army uniform. Lila Teske, a college student studying philosophy, finds her non-violent beliefs tested in the crucible of a zombie attack. There are other members of the diverse group, but the focus of the story is on Ari and Lila, two young people who learn about sacrifice and inner strength through the ordeal. 
With the city’s infrastructure down and communication with the outside world curtailed the survivors head toward the nearest marina. When they meet a lab tech who may have a solution to the virus, they know his safety is paramount and it’s more important than ever that they get off the island. But zombies aren’t the only danger that impedes them on their perilous journey.Be sure to check out the exciting sequel, Dead Country, about a new set of characters surviving zombies in the Midwest plains.
My thoughts
★ One Painful Star.
I'm sorry this review is taking so long. To be honest, this book is moving along at a snails pace. You'd think with it being about zombies and the apocalypse it'd be enthralling and interesting, but isn't.
I finally, FINALLY, finished the book.
Apocalypse!!! Zombies!!! Yaaaaaay!!
Yeah... No.
I hate leaving negative feedback but this book was so disappointing. 
You would think with it being about zombies and the apocalypse, it would make you want to read it all in one setting and just devour it.

I was wrong.


For Full Review Please Go Here
After the End Full Review



Friday, October 31, 2014

Crane by Stacey Rourke

Synopsis
The Horseman is unending,
his presence shan’t lessen.
If you break the curse,
you become the legend.

Washington Irving and Rip Van Winkle had no choice but to cover up the deadly truth behind Ichabod Crane’s disappearance. Centuries later, a Crane returns to Sleepy Hollow awakening macabre secrets once believed to be buried deep. What if the monster that spawned the legend lived within you?Now, Ireland Crane, reeling from a break-up and seeking a fresh start, must rely on the newly awakened Rip Van Winkle to discover the key to channeling the darkness swirling within her. Bodies are piling high and Ireland is the only one that can save Sleepy Hollow by embracing her own damning curse. But is anyone truly safe when the Horseman rides?

My thoughts
★★★★★ 5+ Awesome stars

Wow this book was to perfect for words!
Nothing could call me out of this book unless I fell asleep reading it.
Even then I was disappointed because I wanted to finish it all at once.
It was sassy, witty, funny, action, and slam packed full of pure awesome.


“Dark grows near, sense the fear,” a voice, possessing the deep rasp of death, croaked in the sing-song tempo of a nursery rhyme.


“Cloak of night,
brings Horseman’s plight.
His pricey toll,
will be a soul.
Run and hide,
before his ride.
Or the dead—”

The face of a haggard old woman peeked around the back of the chair, her mouth open in a wide, toothless grin. A shock of white hair framed her ghastly face, falling to gaunt shoulders in wiry wisps.


“—Shall claim ye head.”





For full review please go here:
Crane (The Legends Saga, #1) Full Review

Quotes
―“Just when I think you can’t get any creeper, you astounded me by reaching a whole new plateau. What did you do to yourself? You’re twitching like a meth head.” “Went into the kitchen. Consumed any products that claimed to boost energy. Ate a bowl of those disgusting brown rinds.” “Rinds? That’s coffee, dumbass. You’re supposed to brew it.” Rip rambled on as if she hadn’t spoken, which—judging by his herky-jerky gestures—he might not have been aware she had. “Then I drank your last three of those products involving some sort of red bovine, followed by half a dozen vials that claim to bestow energy for an allotted period of time. Every part of me tingles. Quite honestly, I think I could fly if the moment required it.” 

―“Ma’am, we’ve met your mother,” Rip claimed, from his well-chosen spot at the rear of the pack. “If she becomes agitated there’s a good chance we will all run screaming from the room.”

―“Wha dah heck? Rip! I can'h feel mah face! Wha's happein?"
"I... I don't know!" His entire body tensed, his limbs rigid as he struggled with the decision to help her or run screaming from the house. The cup slipped from Ireland's fingers and crashed to the floor, water exploding everywhere. "Oh, Gawd!" I fink ih's happenin'! I'm urning inwho dah howseman!" With frantic hands, Ireland slapped at her face and head. "I can'h feel mah head! Run, Rip! Run!” 

―“Which brings us to the fun question; what exactly are you on? Uppers? Downers? Viagra?” 

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Heart of Dread: Frozen by Melissa de la Cruz

Synopsis 
From New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz and Michael Johnston comes this remarkable first book in a spellbinding new series about the dawn of a new kind of magic.
Welcome to New Vegas, a city once covered in bling, now blanketed in ice. Like much of the destroyed planet, the place knows only one temperature—freezing. But some things never change. The diamond in the ice desert is still a 24-hour hedonistic playground and nothing keeps the crowds away from the casino floors, never mind the rumors about sinister sorcery in its shadows.
At the heart of this city is Natasha Kestal, a young blackjack dealer looking for a way out. Like many, she's heard of a mythical land simply called “the Blue.” They say it’s a paradise, where the sun still shines and the waters are turquoise. More importantly, it’s a place where Nat won’t be persecuted, even if her darkest secret comes to light.
But passage to the Blue is treacherous, if not impossible, and her only shot is to bet on a ragtag crew of mercenaries led by a cocky runner named Ryan Wesson to take her there. Danger and deceit await on every corner, even as Nat and Wes find themselves inexorably drawn to each other. But can true love survive the lies? Fiery hearts collide in this fantastic tale of the evil men do and the awesome power within us all.
My thoughts
★★★★★ Epic Stars!

This book was honestly hard to get into at first, but once you actually get into it, it's hard to put down. 
I think it's one of those that you get so into, you forget reality and you are staring wide-eyed as you read.
It's amazing at all the different things were thrown in to create this story, I personally haven't come across a book like this.

For full review please go here:

Friday, October 24, 2014

Confessions of an Angry Girl by Louise Rozett

Synopsis

Rose Zarelli, self-proclaimed word geek and angry girl, has some confessions to make…
1. I'm livid all the time. Why? My dad died. My mom barely talks. My brother abandoned us. I think I'm allowed to be irate, don't you?
2. I make people furious regularly. Want an example? I kissed Jamie Forta, a badass guy who might be dating a cheerleader. She is now enraged and out for blood. Mine.
3. High school might as well be Mars. My best friend has been replaced by an alien, and I see red all the time. (Mars is red and "seeing red" means being angry—get it?)
Here are some other vocab words that describe my life: Inadequate. Insufferable. Intolerable.(Don't know what they mean? Look them up yourself.) (Sorry. That was rude.)
My thoughts
★★★★★ 5+ amazing stars

Where to even begin?
This story is about a bold and bright girl 
just trying to make it through school in one piece.

When it boils down to it, 
it's a story of a teenage girl who's life is more or less, great.
When I think of the "perfect family" I see her, 
her parents, and her brother in a family photo.
Then life kicks in and yanks the rug out from under 
her and sends her flying to her butt.
The world as she knows it comes to a stop 
when her father goes to war and is killed in Iraq.
Her brother leaves as soon as he can to go to college 
and her mother becomes a workaholic.
At 14, how else should anyone feel other than angry?

For full review please go here:
Confessions of an Angry Girl Full Review

Quotes
― “If anyone ever tried to figure out who I am based purely on my iPod, they'd never be able to do it. Public Enemy is followed by the Pussycat Dolls and preceded by Patty Griffin. I love my Florence + The Machine as much as my Rihanna, my White Stripes as much as Black Keys. I pride myself on my eclectic musical taste, which has everything to do with Peter and probably not that much to do with me.” 

― “Sweater, Metallica is one of the greatest bands that ever existed. That will never break up. Ever. Ain't you seen Some Kind of Monster?” 


Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake

Synopsis
It's been months since the ghost of Anna Korlov opened a door to Hell in her basement and disappeared into it, but ghost-hunter Cas Lowood can't move on. 
His friends remind him that Anna sacrificed herself so that Cas could live—not walk around half dead. He knows they're right, but in Cas's eyes, no living girl he meets can compare to the dead girl he fell in love with.

Now he's seeing Anna everywhere: sometimes when he's asleep and sometimes in waking nightmares. But something is very wrong...these aren't just daydreams. Anna seems tortured, torn apart in new and ever more gruesome ways every time she appears.
Cas doesn't know what happened to Anna when she disappeared into Hell, but he knows she doesn't deserve whatever is happening to her now. Anna saved Cas more than once, and it's time for him to return the favor.
My thoughts
★★★ 3.5 stars.

I honestly wasn't expecting a book 2.
Book one ended so well, I was caught off guard by book two.
But that didn't stop me from finishing it quickly.
I was expecting more from this book. 
It seemed dodgy and seemed to drag by at a slow pace.
When the action did come up, it was a fight scene at the end and it ended to soon.
I feel like a lot was missing from this book.
I mean, I'm glad to know what happened to Anna, yet I'm not because now it just seems worse?

The bond between Anna and Cas was strong and beautiful.
Even a little creepy I suppose...


Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

Synopsis
Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.
So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father's mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.
Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he's never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home. Yet she spares Cas's life.
My thoughts
★★★★★ 5 Wonderful stars!

Astounding!
Such a amazing story.
This book is so engaging and enthralling! It really grabs you and keeps you wanting more! The attention to detail is on target, not to mention the characters. I don't even know what to say there. They are captivating. The stereotypes they "fit under" get tossed out the window when it comes down to the nitty gritty. They really shocked me because I expected them to be meek and boo-hoo-y for what has happened, yet they don't.
I really don't know what else to say there. haha
I never wanted it to end honestly. It's the kind of book I would recommend to EVERYONE. No matter what kind of books they liked or don't like; I'd still say "You should still read it." lol
Ghosts, blood & guts, wicked murders, craziness, witches, and someone who "kills" the dead. Hey, what's not to like!?


If you aren't reading this book yet, I fully recommend it! 

Quotes
―“I’ve been Obeahed by an Obeahman? Is this like how the Smurfs say they smurfing smurfed all the time?” 

―“God, living people are irritating.” 

―“If people knew what I was up to, they'd probably try to stop me. The idiots would take Casper's side, and then I'd have to kill Casper and them after Casper bit their throats out. I'm no superhero.”