Thursday, July 12, 2018

{Review} Hope ... Anyway by Lisa L. Walsh

Synopsis
Title: Hope ... Anyway
Author: Lisa L. Walsh
Pages: 226
Published: June 12th 2018
Publisher: Zimbell House Publishing
Genre: Contemporary/Alcohol Abuse/Mature
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads

Heidi Walker makes lists. She is careful and cautious. Heidi enjoys running, too.
Bean is her brother. To say he is adventurous is an understatement.
Their mother, Joy, has … issues. Time and again, the trio tries to keep hope alive only to have it squashed.
Learning to lean on each other through one adventure after another, like drinking Christmas tree bubble lights, trying to make a baby brother with some lemon seeds, and more, Heidi tells her story about surviving the adults in their lives.
When Heidi is asked to hope once again, she is not sure she wants to take the chance. 



My Thoughts
★★ Stars

I wanted to like this book. I started out liking the book, but the more I read... the more annoying it got. 
The writing was really choppy, I felt zero connection to any of the characters and I felt like all the characters were pretty much the same. 
When age was brought up, it was quickly forgotten (Imo) because when it starts off, I thought she was 8. Then I thought she was 14, only to find out later, she was turning 13. I didn't get the point of the lists being a "problem". The synopsis made it should like she was OCD making lists but she barely writes a handful of them? I didn't understand the point of the brother keeping track of the sock costs. I didn't understand the constant "I hate Jerry. I love Jerry. I hate Jerry. We love Jerry." 
I didn't get the grandmother talking crap about Jerry to the kids So. Freaking. Much. Only to push their mom to marry the guy. Then she pretty much disappears. All while knowing what is happening in that house. No one reached out to help. Sure there was that happy ending but I don't know.

Honestly when I got to page 140, I just started skimming. I think I could have went to the last page and still know what happened... and how it would end. 

I expected more from this book and believe the story line itself is a great story. But the writing was extremely off putting to me. 

So i have to give this book two stars. :(
**Alcohol abuse triggers**

Monday, July 9, 2018

June wrap-up & July TBR

Greetings fellow Zombabes! Yeah I know I'm forever late with this but I was wondering if I should even do a wrap up because... well... I didn't read a damn thing in June! Lol. Well, I did, but I'm still reading the book (yes, still IT) but I thought, eh why not. I have a couple of books I would like to read for July. If I can or will is a different story.

But it doesn't hurt to hope right! Hoping I can finish IT. Going to finish "Hope... Anyway" (Only book I got this month. Not much of a haul, I know but better than nothing. Lol) So far, I'm not sold on this read. I got it in return for an honest review. Maybe it'll get better. Fingers crossed!
Also was approved to read After the Fire by Will Hill and The Goodbye Girls by Lisa Harrington (this one I really really wanted to read but not sure I will be able to because the format won't work on anything of mine.) Again, fingers crossed!




Terrible I haven't set much of a goal this month... or this year for that matter but oddly enough I have been watching a lot more shows than normal. Not sure why. X_X

And I have also started playing Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp. Has anyone else still play this or still play this? Let me know! ^_^

Wednesday, July 4, 2018

{Q&A} No Sad Songs

Title: No Sad Songs
Author: Frank Morelli
Genre: Contemporary YA fiction
Pages: 228
Blurb: Following a family tragedy, 18-year-old Gabe LoScuda suddenly finds himself thrust into the role of caregiver for his ailing grandfather. Between the shopping trips and the doctor visits with Grandpa, Gabe and his friend John try to salvage their senior year, meet girls, and make the varsity baseball team. It doesn’t take long for Gabe to realize that going to school and looking after a grandfather with Alzheimer’s is more work than he ever imagined.
And when long-lost Uncle Nick appears on the scene, Gabe soon finds that living with Nick and Grandpa is like babysitting two grown men. Aside from John, the only person who truly understands Gabe is Sofia, a punk-rocking rebel he meets at the veteran’s hospital. When these three unlikely friends are faced with a serious dilemma, will they do what it takes to save Grandpa? If there’s a chance of preserving the final shreds of Grandpa’s dignity, Gabe may have to make the most gut-wrenching decision of his life—and there’s no way out.



About Frank Morelli: FRANK MORELLI has been a teacher, a coach, a bagel builder, a stock boy, a pretzel salesman, a bus driver, a postal employee, a JC Penney model (see: clerk), an actual clerk (like in the movie of the same name), a camp counselor, a roving sports reporter, and a nuclear physicist (okay, maybe that’s not true). At heart, he’s a writer, and that’s all he’s ever been. His fiction and essays have appeared in more than thirty publications, including The Saturday Evening Post, Cobalt Review, Philadelphia Stories, Jersey Devil Press, and Indiana Voice Journal. His sports-themed column—“Peanuts & Crackerjacks”—appears monthly at Change Seven Magazine.

A Philadelphia native, Frank now lives near Greensboro, NC in a tiny house under the trees with his best friend and muse, their obnoxious alley cats, and two hundred pounds worth of dog.


Q & A
Where did you get the inspiration for No Sad Songs?
No Sad Songs is a fictional story, but it grew directly out of my experiences as a teen watching my parents serve as caregivers for my grandfather when he was diagnosed with Pick’s Disease, a particularly virulent form of dementia. One of the questions that plagued my adulthood after that experience was: How different would my life have been if my parents had not been there to take the brunt of the caregiving responsibilities? I wanted to explore this question through a character (Gabe LoScuda) who is very much like me when I was his age, except a thousand times more admirable. Writing the novel helped me to gain clarity on this personal question I had, and the more I continued to delve into Gabe’s character the more I started to realize that there are scores of people out there who are affected by the disease that would benefit in some way from exploring the same routes.

What made you choose the title "No Sad Songs"?
The title comes from a poem by Christina Rosetti. In fact, poetry plays a major role in the novel. My narrator, Gabe LoScuda, tells a portion of his story (and much of his backstory) through personal essays he is writing for a class project. I decided to inject the essays directly into the narrative to give the reader a sense of Gabe’s external voice (his narration) and his internal voice (the essays). The point of his class project is to write about connections he’s found between the classic poetry he is studying and personal experiences he’s had in his life. The essays also serve to show a contrast between the man Gabe’s grandfather used to be and the man his is now as he fights a raging battle against Alzheimer’s. The title is also reflective of the realizations Gabe makes as he attempts to take on the role of teenage caregiver to his grandfather after the tragic loss of his parents in the early chapters. He learns pretty quickly that he doesn’t have time to feel sorry for himself if he’s to make it through these tough times.

If someone was looking at your book what would you tell them that would make them say "I *have* to read this now!"?
I would give them the book’s recipe: add equal parts of sadness, laughter, poetry, punk music, and teen angst. Apply liberally.

What do you hope readers will take from this story?
I hope young readers will be able to put themselves in Gabe LoScuda’s shoes long enough to gain a healthy respect for the over 15 million people out there right now providing unpaid care to Alzheimer’s patients. It’s a thankless, yet essential, job that literally pays no money and often tears families apart in the process. And there’s really not too many people shedding any light on them. I hope No Sad Songs begins to raise awareness for all of the people out there shouldering responsibilities that far exceed their medical abilities. I also hope it encourages young readers to look inward and to use the past as a tool for solving the problems of the future, much like my protagonist does in the book through his study of personal experience, poetry, and even punk rock.

How long did it take for you to complete No Sad Songs?
I began writing No Sad Songs as a short assignment in one of the first courses I took towards my MFA in Fiction. It was literally the first assignment in the first course: Writing for Young Adults. I’d never written a single word of YA in my life, but I wrote the first chapter of No Sad Songs and nothing ever felt more right in the world to me. The rest of the book flowed out of the pen over the course of that following year. Then I went back and did rewrites with the help of my publisher and master editor, Mr. Jon Wilson, at Fish Out of Water Books. That took another year and some change. Then came the act of getting it out there to reviewers and other authors. So, in sum, I’d say it was verging on a three year process before the book was finally released. Pretty standard in the publishing industry, I’d say.

What part was the hardest part to write; the start, middle, or end?
The hardest part was getting the personal essays and the narration to flow together cohesively from start to finish. The narrative in No Sad Songs is told entirely in present tense, while the essays take a past tense approach. This can be jarring if an author doesn’t pay special attention to how the lines are blurred between the two distinct pieces of writing. It took a long time to figure out the order of these essays and to assign them dates and chapters to which they logically needed to be paired. Using a mixture of mediums in a stand-alone novel is not for the meek, but I think the results more than make up for the extra effort it entails.

Is there anything you had to edit out but wish you could have kept?
At the time, yes. It’s always hard to eliminate passages you thought were the greatest things you ever wrote. But after time passed and I went back and read the work with fresh eyes, I realized that whatever was cut from the original draft needed to go for the good of the greater story. There’s nothing missing from No Sad Songs at this point, as far as I’m concerned.

What is your favorite writing snack?
I’m kind of addicted to donuts. Like, if you put a dozen donuts in front of me right now I can guarantee I’ll make them disappear. Like magic. My stomach probably doesn’t find the experience as magical.

What kind of music did you listen to while writing this book? Did any song trigger a scene?
With a title like No Sad Songs, you can probably imagine that music plays a major role in the story. In short, I listened to more punk music than any one person who’s not Joey Ramone should ever be subjected to. There were so many songs that didn’t get mentioned in the book simply because I’m writing for young adults and some of the songs were just straight up inappropriate. One that I wish I would have included, however, is Sid Vicious’s version of Frank Sinatra’s “My Way”. To me, this song captures the punk movement in a way no other punk song ever has because it grounds the feelings of angst and rebellion in the catchy, recogizable sounds of a legendary musical standard. In a way, this song influenced everything there is to know about Gabe LoScuda and how he navigated the path of being an Alzheimer’s caregiver and an erratic teenager at the same time.

Do you have a dream cast for you book? Who would they be?
First of all, I’d love to see No Sad Songs on the screen. I think it would play out well in a theatre. I have absolutely no idea which actors I’d cast, however, mostly because I’m terrible at knowing actors’ names and matching them with faces. I’ll give it a stab anyway. For Gabe LoScuda I’d love to see Milo Ventomiglia, who currently plays Jack on This Is Us…although I’d have to take the younger version of him when he was in Gilmore Girls (and I just outed my secret love for Gilmore Girls, that’s confidential information). For Sofia Flores, I’d have to go with Melonie Diaz from Fruitvale Station because she is so great at being serious and unaffected even while being hilarious. For John Chen I’d go with Ki Hong Lee (again, maybe a younger version of him) from The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt because he’s hilarious and I think he could pull off some mean Michael Jackson moves. Uncle Nick could easily be played by Jack Black for obvious reasons. Grandpa? I think Robert DeNiro would nail this part even without having any true lines in the film.

If you could offer any final words or thoughts about your book or to the readers, what would it be?
I guess I have this worry that readers will see my book as potentially depressing because of its subject matter and the fact that the word ‘sad’ is literally in the title. I’d tell them that I’m the kind of person who hides from the things that trouble me by ducking behind humor. I promise you that this book does deal with some rather heavy situations. I’ll also guarantee you’ll laugh throughout the novel because I simply wouldn’t have it any other way.

Monday, July 2, 2018

{Review} Little Mama by Halim

Synopsis

Title: Little Mama
Author: Halim
Pages: 191
Published: May 16th 2018
Publisher: Europe Comics
Genre: Graphic Novel/Abuse
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

Life isn't easy for little Brenda, whose single teenage mom is immature, selfish, and prone to violent mood swings. Brenda takes care of her as best she can, missing out on many childhood joys to be her mother’s Little Mama. Sadly, her already challenging existence gets even worse when her mom’s abusive boyfriend moves in. Brenda loves having a new baby brother, but her home life soon turns into pure living hell. Finally she reaches her breaking point, and has to find the courage to save herself and embark on the difficult road towards recovery. A heartbreaking and inspiring tale of abuse and survival.
My Thoughts
★ Stars

Why the hell did I read this? If there was EVER a book I wish I could unread, it would be this one.

It was all choppy. Half the time I had no idea what was going on or who was talking. About the only parts that weren't choppy and went smoothly were the abuse scenes.

I took a chance reading this. I knew there would be abuse but I thought it would be one of those books that would end with a incredibly powerful ending that would leave you in tears. 

It left me in tears all right. Just not the good kind. I thought there would be justice. There was none. The kids got to stay with the abusive parents. They stayed with the abusive mom, because I guess kicking out the guy was "justice"? 
The therapist tells the abused girl she doesn't need to forgive her mother, she needs to forgive herself and that it was perfectly okay that her little brother "took her place". Are. You. Joking? 

This book turned my stomach and makes me want to throw up.

Saturday, June 23, 2018

{Cover Reveal} The Cities of Dead by Alys Arden

The much awaited book has a cover!!! Y'all, I am fangirling so hard right now I'm pretty sure I won't have a voice tomorrow. November can not come fast enough! Ready to see this gorgeous cover?! Wait no longer!
See the book and meet the author:
Alys Arden was raised by the street performers, tea leaf-readers, and glittering drag queens of the New Orleans French Quarter. She cut her teeth on the streets of New York and has worked all around the world since. She either talks too much or not at all. She obsessively documents things. Her hair ranges from eggplant to cotton-candy colored. One dreary day in London, she missed home and started writing The Casquette Girls series. Her debut novel garnered over one million reads online before it was acquired by Skyscape. Follow her adventures on Instagram or Twitter @AlysArden



Follow Alys:
Facebook|Twitter
Instagram|Goodreads
Add book to: Goodreads





Previous Books:
Title: The Casquette Girls
Series: The Casquette Girls #1
Author: Alys Adren
Pages: 565
Published: November 17th 2015
Publisher: Skyscape
Genre: YA/Paranormal/Fantasy
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Seven girls tied by time.
Five powers that bind.
One curse to lock the horror away.
One attic to keep the monsters at bay.

After the storm of the century rips apart New Orleans, sixteen-year-old Adele Le Moyne wants nothing more than her now silent city to return to normal. But with home resembling a war zone, a parish-wide curfew, and mysterious new faces lurking in the abandoned French Quarter, normal needs a new definition.

As the city murder rate soars, Adele finds herself tangled in a web of magic that weaves back to her own ancestors. Caught in a hurricane of myths and monsters, who can she trust when everyone has a secret and keeping them can mean life or death? Unless... you’re immortal.


Title: The Romeo Catchers
Series: The Casquette Girls #2
Author: Alys Adren
Pages: 604
Published: May 23rd 2017 
Publisher: Skyscape
Genre: YA/Paranormal/Fantasy
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads


Is blood thicker than magic in La Nouvelle-Orléans?

Adele scours Storm-ravaged New Orleans for the truth about her family’s magical past, tormented by the fate she condemned her mother to, and by the lies she’s forced to tell to cover it up. But every turn leads her back to the one person she’s determined to forget: Niccolò Medici. Not even the multitude of enchanted locks on the attic door trapping Nicco within can break their connection.

Isaac tries relentlessly to keep Adele from exploring paths too dark that would endanger them all. But a new threat is rising: the Medici’s presence has attracted something else to New Orleans…an older enemy, one that will bring Isaac’s haunted past to life, test the witches’ friendships, and jeopardize Adele and Isaac’s blossoming relationship.

In this spellbinding continuation of The Casquette Girls saga, Adele must draw on the past—from seventeenth-century Florence, a time bubbling with alchemy and fraternal betrayal—and sort history from fantasy if she is to have any chance of saving her mother, her coven, and her magic.

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

{Mini-Talk} Summer Reading Goals

I always make plans to follow and it's like the second I make them, I can't do them to save my life. Lol
But I'm going to try to keep this one. Key word: Try. No pressure.
First off, I really am going to try to finish IT by Stephen King. I don't know how people can devour his books so quickly. After a page or two my eyes start to hurt. I will admit, he has AMAZING story ideas but his writing is... terrible. (That is just my honest opinion, not trying to piss off fans. Lol) I've always had questions about Pennywise so the fact I'm able to finally read this book and find out some stuff will really be awesome.... Unless it offers no information and just grotesque scenes. Then I will be pissed. Lol

Then again, I'm sure I will binge watch both movies 0934710 more times this year. So I call that even. Lol

As for everything else, which I know I am still 100% behind on, I'm working on it. Lol I know I haven't posted on Instagram in the longest time, I've just had a ton going on lately and it started to feel like a job rather than something I *enjoyed*. Hopefully over the summer that'll change. I miss posting and my awesome followers. Same with Facebook and Twitter... kinda. Lol I post a bot more on Twitter now, so that is a plus.

I'm thinking about closing my request reviews for a bit. Mainly because lately 9/10 authors can't be bothered to read my terms. They email me demanding me to read their book with the book already attached. Gosh forbid I not answer back in 2 seconds either they email again.
Don't get me wrong, I love reading. I love helping authors grow. Love doing what I do. But the fact they haven't took the time to even read if their books fit the criteria. Also attaching the book demanding a blogger to read it, just isn't cool. Like you want me to take the time to read and review your book but you can't take two seconds out of your day to read my terms? Okay. Nice knowing ya. Lol
Guess it's that time of year. Lol Always seems to happen around this time of year. Haha
Would it be to much if I start blacklisting those people?
I mean, at what point do you hit before you finally hit that "No more" button.


Anywho, Other than that, I do plan on finishing OITNB next month! Can't wait for it!
Missing Red so much! Lol

Also might do a few rereads so I can write proper reviews. Like Darker and Freed (Fifty Shades) also City Of Bones. I finished them so long ago but never got around to writing the reviews. Terrible I know. But least I'm gonna try to make up for that and reread them so I can review them. Lol

If you know any books (or shows) you think I should read, let me know in the comments! 

Friday, June 8, 2018

{Review} Orange is the New Black

I'm starting this new thing where I review shows and movies if I feel strongly enough about them. This is going to be a test run I suppose. Lets see how it goes. ;)


Show: Orange is the New Black
Current Seasons: 5
About: Piper Chapman is a public relations executive with a career and a fiance when her past suddenly catches up to her. In her mid-30s she is sentenced to spend time in a minimum-security women's prison in Connecticut for her association with a drug runner 10 years earlier. This Netflix original series is based on the book of the same title. Forced to trade power suits for prison orange, Chapman makes her way through the corrections system and adjusts to life behind bars, making friends with the many eccentric, unusual and unexpected people she meets.



My Thoughts:
I know I'm hoping on this bandwagon super late. Better late than never right? I admit I tried to watch this when it first came out and I couldn't. For some reason the first episode sent me into a really bad panic attack that I ended up hugging the toilet if you get my drift. So after that, I just never tried. Didn't want to. Even though I kept hearing how amazing it is. You couldn't have paid me to watch it. But recently some things have happened that has pretty much broke my brain and I ended up watching this... Don't ask how I got there or how I clicked on it. It just happened. One second I'm looking at a comedy to watch but somehow I ended up on it. And the fact I was able to get through episode one was a miracle. From there, I was hooked. I binged watched the hell out of this.
OITNB really did live up to the hype! I admit on season 4 it got really dull and season 5... Oh my gah. Season 4 was the calm before the storm! Every season had me testing myself on who was good and who wasn't.... and who was completely full of crap. Lol. This is the kind of show you really can't judge the characters because you will rarely get it right. Lol. I have so many favorite characters too. From Red to Nicky to Burset (I wish we got to see more of her) to Rosa to  ... you know what, my list is longer than I thought it was. Haha but those 4 are my tops. Alex is just hot but uber two faced at first imo.

I must say the most intense drastic change of character would have to be Tiffany. I'm not a fan of her at all but holy crap. She went from nut case psycho to pretty chill.... kinda. I would say she was almost "normal" if she didn't fall for a rapist. *gags*

Which reminds me... can we talk about Bennett for a second? No? Okay then. We all know he's a dick-hole.

AND CAN WE TALK ABOUT SEASON 5 ENDING?!?!?!?!? *banshee screaming* FML!!!!!

If you have seen this show, what was your favorite season?
Who is your favorite character?
What blew your mind?
COME ON! LETS TALK!

We need season 6 already, okay!?
Safe to say I give Orange is the New Black a infinity of 5 stars!
★★★★★ Stars

Wednesday, June 6, 2018

The Sunshine Blogger Award



Thanks to Esther from BiteIntoBooks for nominating me for the Sunshine Blogger Award.


The Rules:
●Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
●Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
●Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
●List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.



The questions that I was asked:
1. What author would you love to drink coffee/tea with and why?
Oh this is a hard one. If only there was one that I liked that much. Hmmm (That was sarcasm lol) I would LOVE to hang out with RL Stine. I mean come on. The man is a genius! Giving kids nightmares and keeping them addicted to books since the beginning of time.
Other than him, I would love to have coffee with Olivia Wildenstein, Quinn Loftis, Sarah J Maas, Randal Licato, EL James (don't judge me) .. and so many more. There are so many authors I would love to have coffee with.

2. What book would you give a different ending if you could choose?
This is one I would really have to think on. But really I'm not sure I would change any except the end of TFIOS and the last Allegiant. Possibly a few others. Mainly because I don't want the characters unhappy. Lol But really, I don't think I would change them. If I changed them in any way it would be to make certain books last longer. Like ACOTAR series and The Lost Clan series.

3. What series should every person read?
Probably ACOTAR ... mainly because I need more people to fangirl with. Haha.
Though if you want to get deep with it, honestly I think people should read the 50 Shades series. Again, don't hate me and it's not me forcing anything. I just feel like way to many people are following others saying it's terrible without even reading the books. I think they should at least give it a try before hitting it with a flamethrower.

4. Who or what inspired you to start blogging?
Books. Plain and simple, really. I stumbled upon goodreads and was so excited there was finally a place for me to talk about books with others. Through there I found out about blogging and I decided to give it a go. ^_^

5. Show me a book with a gorgeous cover!


6. What is your dream job? Does it have to do something with books?
Isn't every readers dream to work with books? Lol I would love to be a photographer or a librarian. Or just be paid to read books all day. Lol

7. What is the last book that disappointed you?
Ready Player One. I expected so much more from it. It was a huge let down.

8. Is there an unknown author that everybody should know about?
Olivia Wildenstein, Quinn Loftis, Sarah J Maas, Randal Licato, Alys Arden

9. What would you choose to read: comics or magazines?
Comics. I never understood how people actually *read* magazines. But eh. To each their own.

10. What magical world would you love to travel to?
Prythian!!!!!!!

11. Can you name me 3 of your favorite bookish characters?
Cassian (ACOTAR)
Cat (Lost Clan)
Jen (Grey Wolves)



Bloggers I nominate:
Vesper Dreams
Morrighan
and anyone else who wants to do this because I don't know 11 blogs right now! lol <3

My questions for the nominees are as follows:
1. Where did you come up with the name of your blog?
2. What author inspires you daily?
3. What character would you want to meet? (To meet them, you would have to go to their world)
4. Go-to snack while reading?
5. Are you the kind of person who just reads the book or do you also tab pages? If you tab, can we see the book with the most tabs?
6. How do you handle people who tell you you have enough books?
7. What is a book you will never read? Why?
8. Do you think blogging is a necessity for a book reviewer?
9. How do you handle pushy authors? What advice would you give to newbies on how to handle them?
10. If your wedding was book themed, what would your theme be?
11. Thought on book bans?

{Whatever Wednesday} Zombie Life

Okay maybe not zombie life exactly... But it feels like it. Lol

I know. I haven't been around much. Seems like I say that a lot these days. I apologize. I noticed I have lost quiet a few followers, heartbroken to see them go but so thankful for those of you who stayed (looking at you Esther; thank you for continue to include me in awards and what-nots. I am forever grateful)

Now if you are really that curious as to where I have been, I have been nowhere. Sadly. But I have had so much happening in life that it was all just *imitates dramatic explosion and horrible crashing* fun, right?!
No, not really. I know I have left the blog in such a mess. I am going to work on fixing all of this soon as possible! I can't wait to get back into all of this! I feel like I have missed so much. Don't know why I say "feel" goodness knows I *HAVE* missed a lot. I am going to attempt to play catch up SOON! So if you find me spamming the hell out of your blog with comments (even if they are months old) ....just bare with me. Lol.

So... I have a few questions for all you lovely folks out there still reading this eyesore;
●Do you like the blog format as it is? (I know it still needs minor position tweeks-going to work on that)
●Do you like the reviews being open and up front, or would you rather be able to just click the review you want to read to open in a new page?

Monday, April 23, 2018

{Review} Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

Synopsis
Title: Fifty Shades of Grey
Series: Fifty Shades #1
Author: E.L. James
Pages: 514
Published: April 3rd 2012
Publisher: Vintage Books
Genre: Mature Adult/Erotica/BDSM
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.
Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.
This book is intended for mature audiences.
My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars

"I'm Eve in the Garden of Eden, and he's the serpent, and I cannot resist.”

**May contain spoilers** 

I want to say "why did it take me so long to read this book?!" But I can't. I know why I didn't. I got sucked into the madness of thinking what others voiced. "This is abuse!
I. Was. Wrong. and I should have never ever thought it. I should have just read it myself before saying a single thing about it. I am ashamed of myself for taking so long to read it. I'm even more ashamed that I was scared to tell anyone I was enjoying this book. 

So if I have EVER said anything negative about this book. Whether in person or on a comment, I retract whatever I said. Lol This book was amazing haunting and beautiful. 

I have had this book for a WHILE. I admit, I have been tempted to read it but always had that "abuse. abuse. abuse." chant in the back of my head. Least up until a few days ago. Looking for a book to read and literally nothing is snatching my attention. So, for the hell of it, I picked this book up and read the first page. That was all it took. There was no putting this book down. 
Even while reading it, I felt conflicted. How can I love a book so much that is so hated? Should I just keep it to myself? 

Yeahhh no. That didn't happen. The more I read the more I fell in love.... and honestly realized that all the negative "It's abuse talk" must have come from people who just watched the movie alone. (though I don't agree the movie is abuse either; sorry. Not sorry) 

I loved these characters so damn much. The banter between them had me giggling nonstop! Here, I thought Christian was this hard ass incapable of being anything but serious, again, I was wrong. Lol Their relationship is cute. Yeah, it has it's issues, but who's doesn't?!
Ana's "Oh my + others" did get repetitive; it got on my nerves at first until I realized, I do the same thing. Anyone that knows me knows "lol" is like a reflex for me. So, I can't say anything. Everyone has their "thing" so can we really judge her?

The only issue I had with Ana was that she asked and when he showed her, she panicked? had a momentary anger outburst? I don't really understand how she can react so aggressively against it when she was okay with the spanking? I don't know. I'm confused on that and really need to read the rest of the series. I have a lot more to learn. Lol

Needless to say, I loved this book. I feel like people judged it way to quickly. If you are on the fence or haven't even read it; please read it before writing it off completely. There is absolutely no abuse in this book. She was completely walked through everything bit by bit. She wasn't shoved helplessly into it. If she didn't know anything, he explained and through this WHOLE book told her she could leave at any time. To which she says she would never do anything she didn't want to. He asked her if she is okay through the whole book and she says yes. If there was something she didn't like all she had to do was tell him AND HE STOPPED INSTANTLY. I have no idea where the whole "abuse" thing came from.

Saturday, April 21, 2018

{Blitz} Can Dreams Come True?


Title: Can Dreams Come True?
Series: Book One of the Cecily Taylor Series
Author: Krysten Lindsay Hager
Genre: Contemporary YA fiction
Pages: 224
Blurb: Cecily has always had a huge crush on singer Andrew Holiday and she wants to be an actress, so she tags along when her friend auditions for his new video. However, the director isn’t looking for an actress, but rather the girl next door—and so is Andrew. Cecily gets a part in the video and all of Andrew’s attention on the set. Her friend begins to see red and Cecily’s boyfriend is seeing green—as in major jealousy. A misunderstanding leaves Cecily and her boyfriend on the outs and Andrew hopes to pick up the pieces as he’s looking for someone more stable in his life than the models he’s dated. Soon Cecily begins to realize Andrew understands her more than her small-town boyfriend—but can her perfect love match really be her favorite rock star?



ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Krysten Lindsay Hager writes about friendship, self-esteem, fitting in, frenemies, crushes, fame, first loves, and values. She is the author of True Colors, Best Friends...Forever?, Next Door to a Star, Landry in Like, Competing with the Star (The Star Series: Book 2) and Dating the It Guy. True Colors, won the Readers Favorite award for best preteen book and the Dayton Book Expo Bestseller Award for childen/teens. Competing with the Star is a Readers' Favorite Book Award Finalist. Krysten's work has been featured in USA Today, The Flint Journal, the Grand Haven Tribune, the Beavercreek Current, the Bellbrook Times, Springfield News-Sun, Grand Blanc View, Dayton Daily News and on the talk show Living Dayton.



Buy links:
Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079S3KJSH
Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B079S3KJSH
Amazon IN: https://www.amazon.in/dp/B079S3KJSH
Amazon Germany: https://www.amazon.de/dp/B079S3KJSH
Amazon Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B079S3KJSH
Amazon AUS: https://www.amazon.com.au/Dreams-Come-True-Cecily-Taylor-ebook/dp/B079S3KJSH

Giveaway
Prize: £5 (or equivalent in dollars) Amazon gift card




Okay, if I wanted to do a good job in this music video then I had to become this character and show how she and Andrew were soulmates who would recognize each other just by walking by. Andrew got into position and the director yelled, “Action.” Andrew and I began to walk toward one another. He glanced away from me and then right as we got closer, he gave me an intense, longing stare which almost took my breath away. I lost all focus and forgot what I was supposed to do. It was like time was standing still and we were the only two people in the world. “Cut!” Dimitri said. “Perfection. You absolutely nailed the look, Cecily. Let’s try it again, but this time the focus will be on Andrew’s angle.” My face felt warm as I walked back on my mark to go again. How did I get my look so perfect when I hadn’t done anything intentional? Andrew’s gaze had been so overwhelming I had forgotten everything I was meant to do. Then it hit me—my look hadn’t been an act. Whatever I did in the scene was how I actually felt in the moment and if Dimitri said it was the perfect look then it meant I must have been showing my true feelings for Andrew. How embarrassing! Did people think I was acting or was my stupid kiddie crush apparent to everyone now? Andrew would probably take the security guys aside and tell them there was a stalker present and to quietly escort me off the premises without making a scene. The whole crew would laugh over how the dumb star struck kid got caught up in her obsession with the pop star. I never should have done this. At least before I had the fantasy, now Andrew was aware of my existence and instead of remembering the connection we had earlier, he’d see me as just another fan.

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

{Review} Rising Silver Mist by Olivia Wildenstein

Synopsis
Title: Rising Silver Mist
Series: The Lost Clan #3
Author: Olivia Wildenstein
Pages: 530
Published: April 21st 2018
Genre: New Adult/Fantasy/Mature YA
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

THERE WERE THREE THINGS I WAS CERTAIN ABOUT.
First, I would never kill another person. But when a family friend murdered my father, I destroyed her with a power I didn't even know I possessed.
Second, I would never strike another bargain. But faeries could bring the dead back, so when Cruz offered to revive my father, I accepted.
Third, I would never marry an enemy, but every bargain comes at a price. The price of mine: I had to marry Cruz and move to the faerie isle.
For the first time in my life, I wondered if death wouldn't be a kinder end.

My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars

Fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses will love this series!

At this point, I have no words. Just a thousand feelings ready to make my head pop off.

I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

Ugh my soul! Olivia Wildenstein has this rare talent with her writing. If you open one of her books, you might as well kiss the world goodbye until you completely finish it in one sitting. There is no possible way you will be able to put it down.

This book will make you feel things you didn't know you could feel! I want to say this book out shown the first two but I'm not so sure. I mean, IT DID in it's own way... you know what, scratch that. It did. In a totally awesome way!
It was everything I expected AND SO MUCH FREAKING MORE!!!!
I'm sorry I'm screaming so much, but I can hardly contain myself.

For ACOTAR fans, I do recommend this series. It even comes equipped with it's own Tam the Tool. Hahahha... Kinda. Tam wishes he was this guy, actually. You know what, just read it.

The writing was so damn memorizing. The story was action packed that kept you on edge but needing more and honestly had the right amount of balance to literally everything.

I just found out this is the last book in the series (Other than a book about Lilly; I believe) this breaks my heart. I was wanting at least one more book. I mean come on! I'm to attached to these characters. I need to know! Are they okay, are they eating their veggies, are they getting enough sleep!? Details! I need details! Hahah


If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would give it the night sky!

Sunday, March 11, 2018

{Review} Toast by Valentino Mori

Synopsis

Title: Toast
Author: Valentino Mori
Pages: 301
Published: July 24th 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing
Genre: Middle Grade/Fantasy
My Rating: 2/5
Add To: Goodreads

Eleven-year-old Henry stumbles through a portal onto the estate of the sinister Mr. Mason.  Henry quickly discovers he’s not the only one trapped at Verdant Corner by Mason’s dark sorcery.  He and the other boys must compete in weekly games where losing means death.
Henry must enlist allies from unlikely places—a rogue deliveryman who is more than he seems, spectral figures from Henry's past, and creatures from the mysterious Yonder—in his desperate rebellion against the evil threatening him and his friends.
Can Henry learn the truth about Mr. Mason's powers? And will that knowledge be enough to survive?

My Thoughts
★★ Star

I tried with this book. I really did. Multiple times. 

When I read the blurb I was so excited to read this book! I couldn't help think it was like Hunger Games meets the Maze Runner with a twist of magic! Who wouldn't want to read something that epic!?

Right from the start you're automatically thrust into action. No warm up or anything, you're just dropped in. Which for me was kinda an issue because here is the main character which all this bad stuff is happening to but you don't really feel anything. You haven't had enough time to really get to know him. I know you could get to know him the more you read...if there weren't so many characters being forced on you so quick. Also being that Toast rarely has a scene to himself or even just one on one with someone (not saying it doesn't happen, just saying it is rare) it makes it really hard to focus on who is who. It also makes it really hard to develop a connection with any of the characters. 

I really did want to love this book. The cover is so beautiful and the story line is so amazing. It's just.... to overwhelming.

Friday, March 2, 2018

{Review} Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Synopsis

Title: Ready Player One
Author: Ernest Cline
Pages: 386
Published: January 30th 2018
Publisher: Broadway Books
Genre: Young Adult/Science Fiction
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world's digital confines--puzzles that are based on their creator's obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.
But when Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade's going to survive, he'll have to win--and confront the real world he's always been so desperate to escape.
My Thoughts
★ Star

Completely unimpressed. 

This book was so unoriginal it was borderline theft.

I was so excited to read this book because like everyone else, I heard how amazballs this book was and because COME ON!! The 80s!! Even as a 90s kid I knew the 80s were awesome. I knew I couldn't pass this up.

I very quickly regretted this decision. It started out give you way to much unimportant information. Each chapter had maybe a page or two worth reading then the rest was just "fill in". Not to mention this book was as flat as the pages it was written on. I had zero connection with any of the characters. I think the only one I slightly liked was Ach or however you spell his/her name. And Im not even sure why. 

Anyway.

As for the story line its pretty much been done before. 
The movie was called Gamer if I'm not mistaken.

I think the author just tweaked it to fit. Took a bunch of 80s stuff and tossed it in. There was NOTHING original about this. 

Don't waste your time. If you're curious, just watch the movie. 
Never thought I'd say those words but there they are.

Monday, February 26, 2018

{Review} Spinner by Michael J. Bowler

Synopsis
Title: Spinner
Author: Michael J. Bowler
Pages: 410
Published: July 25th 2015
Publisher: YoungDudes Publishing
Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Paranormal/LGBQ
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Fifteen-year-old Alex is a “spinner.” His friends are “dummies.” Two clandestine groups of humans want his power. And an ancient evil is stalking him. If people weren’t being murdered, Alex might laugh at how his life turned into a horror movie overnight.
In a wheelchair since birth, his freakish ability has gotten him kicked out of ten foster homes since the age of four. Now saddled with a sadistic housemother who uses his spinning to heal the kids she physically abuses, Alex and his misfit group of learning disabled classmates are the only ones who can solve the mystery of his birth before more people meet a gruesome end.
They need to find out who murdered their beloved teacher, and why the hot young substitute acts like she’s flirting with them. Then there’s the mysterious medallion that seems to have unleashed something malevolent, and an ancient prophecy suggesting Alex has the power to destroy humanity.
The boys break into homes, dig up graves, elude kidnappers, fight for their lives against feral cats, and ultimately confront an evil as old as humankind. Friendships are tested, secrets uncovered, love spoken, and destiny revealed.
The kid who’s always been a loner will finally learn the value of friends, family, and loyalty.
If he survives…
My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

Spinner was a different kind of read. 
Fans of Stephen King and Ted Dekker would enjoy this book.

It took me a while to actually get into the book and I am not really sure why but once I stuck with it and pushed through, I didn't want to put it down. 

I want to say I loved all of the characters but.. sadly I only liked about three of them. I adored Alex and Roy but my all time favorite was the neighbor. She was so sweet to those boys. 
I loved the idea of this book. It was a mix of Stephen King and Ted Dekker but written better.... (IMO!) I have never read anything like this before. I feel like Michael took so many ideas and put them together and his talent made them work perfectly together. 

I did have a few problems mainly with "Spinning". I found it confusing to begin with and I think I just accepted it and rolled with it (no pun intended) it wasn't until the very end that I understood exactly what it was but I am still unsure why they call it "spinning". 

Once it got to the end, I admit, I started skimming because it was losing my attention. I am not sure if it was because I just NEEDED to know that happens at the end to calm down. Or if it had unnecessary information that I didn't care for. I was probably just over excited. Lol.
I am so thankful for that ending though. I thought it would leave with a TON of questions unanswered but again, Michael pulled out all of the stops and managed to answer all the answers I had. Lol

I am hoping for a book two. Certainly there is more story to tell. More *people* to get to know. Lol

Monday, February 19, 2018

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Synopsis
Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #3
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Pages: 699
Published: May 2nd 2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Genre: New Adult/Romance/Fantasy
My Rating: 5/5
Add To: Goodreads

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.
Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's manoeuvrings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit – and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.
As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords – and hunt for allies in unexpected places.
In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.
My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I finished this book the other day and am honestly still at a lack of words! 
This book ate my soul and stole my will to live! 


Really all I want to do is post endless gifs because I feel like they would do better than me TRYING to put my feelings into words. Lol But alas, I can't do that. 

ACOMAF will always be my favorite but this one is dang near wanting to tie with it. I gotta admit the 700 pages was a bit intimidating but I drove right in. Once I got started I couldn't and wouldn't stop! 
ACOWAR seriously screwed with my mind. It pulled the ultimate mind-f*ck. 


Can I just talk about how wonderfully this book was written? How the hell can you have so much going on and keep a reader so dang hooked without dropping them once?
I only had a few "ehhhh" moments with this book. I say ehhh because they aren't really "problems" but kinda "I wish this/this/this happened instead of this/this/this." example, ELAIN!!! I know she is the most sweetest character ever written in the face of the book world. But I really expected her to break out of that and become this ultimate bad ass character that would would shock the hell out of the readers but sadly she stayed this meek character that was coddled. Even in the mix of war, she made one move. That is it. I get that move was life and death but it was so small that I just wanted to cry. Lol. I just really wanted to see her blossom. 

And can we talk about Tam the tool for a second here.. mainly:


I HATED HIS GUTS SO FREAKING MUCH!!!!
Until the end of this book. While I can say, yes, he is still a complete tool... I don't hate him as much as I did. 


This book will seriously mess with your mind though. People you thought you could trust are no longer trustworthy. People you hate and wouldn't spit on if they were on fire are suddenly people you want to rely on. 

that ending made me cry so hard. I'm talkin' face purple, waking the house, sobbing my head off sad. Those deaths should not have happened! YOU KILLED SOME OF MY FAVORITE CHARACTERS!!!! HOW DARE YOU!?!?!?! 

BRING THEM BACK!

I'M SORRY I'M SCREAMING BUT I CAN'T HELP IT!! 


I loved this series so much. I can't wait for the newest book. I don't think I will be able to read anything else for a bit because I am still stuck in these books. Lol 

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

{Wrap-Up} January Reads!

So January was a pretty slow month for me reading wise. I had really hoped to finish more books but I kinda centered in on 2 series (ACOTAR and Mara Dyer) they both left me with book hang-overs so I was unable to move on. Lol

I can't wait to see what happens next in the series. I really hope February is kind and lets me finish ACOWAR and book 3 to Mara Dyer! (*LETS HOPE!!*) Other than that I am not sure what I will read this upcoming month. BUT! If you are curious about this months read, keep reading. It's coming up!

This time, I won't be posting Synopsis but I will post the links to my full reviews and there they have what the books are about.


The first book I finished was A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas... and I curse whoever got me into this series because I am so invested and addicted to these books, it's unreal! I didn't even like them when they fist came out! But I kept hearing "Try it again, it gets better!" I did. They were right. I was wrong. CURSE YOU!!!!! Lol Love this series so much! Full review:HERE.

The next book I finished was Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. Mainly because I didn't have book 3 to ACOTAR and needed something to pass the time... Little did I know it would start a whole new addiction! So far I have rated it 3 stars with the promise of changing the rating once I finished book 2. I have finished book 2 but have yet to write a book review. Not sure why, IT WAS FREAKING AWESOME! But my brain implodes when I try to write my feelings. Lol ANYWHO! back to about book one. It was .... It left me with a lot of questions. But book 2 did answer a few of those. I need to change the rating from 3 to a 4 or 5. Not sure yet. But again, it's an addiction and I need the rest of the series in my life! Lol. Full review can be found HERE.

For those that know me, know I am a HUGE Olivia Wildenstein fanatic. Especially with her Lost Clan series. So when she announced the cover reveal, you KNOW I had to jump on that quick, fast and in a hurry! LOL The reveal can be found: HERE . And trust me, you'll want to see that gem!

Sticking with cover reveals. you know I HAD to do this next one! A Court of Frost and Starlight cover is drool worthy! If you haven't seen it, you will want to! Check it: HERE.

Here is where I get back to the review. Lol This next one was for Kingdom of Darkness by Tricia Copeland. I actually started this book last year but didn't get around to finishing it due to family things. But, when I picked it up, I couldn't stop. I didn't realize how much I had missed these characters and their battles. Though.... I didn't feel as connected with this book as I did with the first book. Don't get me wrong, this one was just as amazing but I just didn't feel as connected to these characters. The review can be found: HERE.

I love zombies. If you couldn't tell already. Lol I've had This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers on my bookshelf for 2 or 3 years now and finally got around to reading it. I suppose you can say this was my first negative read this year. It was terrible. I'm sorry but it was. I didn't enjoy the writing. I didn't like or connect with any of the characters. The lack of zombies and action made me question if it was really a zombie book. It's really just a group of teens trapped in a school. Lord Of The Flies style. Just wasn't a fan. Review can be found:HERE.

Last but not least. Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. Bloody Mary. *evil smile* Lol I finished book two of the Bloody Mary series. (MARY: Unleashed by Hillary Monahan) I'm kinda conflicted. I loved this book but the ending made me so mad I can hardly stand it. I felt like the tension was building and building. Like some stuff was REALLY bout to go down. But. That. Ending. Ugh. Lol anyway, the book itself really was awesome. And heartbreaking. Review can be found: HERE.

And that is all for now, my little zombie hoards! Hopefully Feb will have a lot more reviews, posts and reveals! Who knows! If there is anything you would like me to post about, talk about. Just email me or leave a comment! All are welcome! XOXOXOXO

{Review} MARY: Unleashed by Hillary Monahan

Synopsis

Title: MARY: Unleashed
Series: Bloody Mary #2
Author: Hillary Monahan
Pages: 245
Published: September 8th 2015
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Genre: Young Adult/Horror/Paranormal
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Mary in the mirror.
Mary in the glass.
Mary in the water.

Mary lurks in the emptiness, in the darkness . . . in the reflection. That is, until Jess unleashes her into the world. Now Mary Worth is out and her haunting is deadlier than ever.
No one is safe.
Shauna, Kitty, and Jess must band together to unearth the truth about Mary's death to put her soul to rest for good. Their search leads them back to where it all began-to Solomon's Folly, a place as dangerous as the ghost who died there a century and a half ago. Quick sand, hidden traps and a phantom fog are the least of their worries. To stop Mary, they need to follow a dark string of clues and piece together a gruesome mystery that spans generations.
But time is running out.
As chilling facts come to light, Mary inches ever closer to her prey. Can Jess, Shauna, and Kitty break Mary's curse before it's too late? Or will history repeat itself until there is no one left to call her name . . . ?
My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

I finished this book yesterday after devouring it in just a few hours.

I must say... This book left me incredibly disappointed. It started off well enough. We pick up right where book one ends and the story just seems to be getting better and better.

We start finding out all these answers about what happened to Mary and why she is like this. Personally, it broke my heart and sadly I started rooting for Mary. She definitely had a jacked up life. No one deserves what happened to her.

I'm still left with a few questions though. Mainly when it says when bodies aren't in abundance, she turns to *that*family... What would happen if she killed them and people didn't call on her? Would she be trapped or wither away? 

Can we all agree we hate Jess? She had absolutely no care for anyone else. As long as she was safe, she'd throw anyone and everyone at Mary then cry and say "sorry" when they called her out on it. 

I get this is "Mary: Unleashed" and I have no idea why though. Yes, she's free but we rarely see her. I wanted a bit more Mary this go around. Lol

I'll say this, it didn't fail to give me anxiety. Just like book one, I thought I was going to have a heart attack... Least until I got to the end. It was a HUUUUUUGE let down!!! 

Why would you end it like that? The tension was building and building, you expect this huge explosion of "oh shit!!!"
But there was no explosion. Just left me going "well. That happened. Great. Yay. Okay."

This book would have been amazing of the ending had been better to be honest.

And what oh what is in that field?

{Review} This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

Synopsis
Title: This is Not a Test
Series: This is Not a Test #1
Author: Courtney Summers
Pages: 322
Published: June 19 2012
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Genre: Young Adult/Dystopia/Zombies
My Rating: 1/5
Add To: Goodreads

It's the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won't stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn't sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she's failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up. As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she's forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, the motivations for survival change in startling ways and soon the group's fate is determined less and less by what's happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life—and death—inside. When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?
My Thoughts
★ Stars

Pros: Zombies.
Cons: Everything else.

This Is Not A Test sounds awesome when you think about it. A group of teens in a school trying to survive against a world of the undead? Count me in!

But.... Now I've read it, I wish I hadn't... You can count me out now.

I was NOT a fan of the writing in this book. It was completely choppy and you couldn't tell where something started and something finished. The thoughts she had blended into what was happening at the time and was confusing and pointless.
Anyone else wonder why they felt the need to let us know someone was jerking off? That was so off topic and out-of-the-ball-park-off-the-wall not needed information.

The damn NEVER ENDING "Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly.
LILLY THIS AND LILLY THAT LILLY LILLY LILLY!!!!"
Got on my last damn nerve!!
Along with her jacked up "You left me so I'm going to hurt/kill myself to get back at you!!!" Thing made me want to scream.

Rhys should have just let her nose dive into a hoard.

Speaking of hoards....can you really call this a zombie book when there are only about 5 pages that actually involve them?
Not to mention the lack of action. Which when there is, Sloane still manages to screw it up with the "whoa is me. Poor pitiful me. Lilly. Lilly. Lilly. Boo hoo hoooooo pitty meeee!!!!! I know all y'all's family is dead, you SAW them die! But what about meeeeee !?!? Lilly left meeeeeee!!! Lilly. Lilly. Lilly."

I can't blame lilly for leaving. Good gah.
I get she had a really bad life, I do. I felt bad for her at first. But the more I read, she just pissed me off. Childish and self-centered.

I felt zero connection to ANY of the characters. I felt this book was poorly written.

{Review} Kingdom of Darkness by Tricia Copeland

Synopsis

Title: Kingdom of Darkness
Series: Kingdom Journals #2
Author: Tricia Copeland
Pages: 322
Published: June 21st 2017
Publisher: True Bird Publishing LLC
Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal/Fantasy
My Rating: 4/5
Add To: Goodreads

Award Finalist for Fantasy Fiction genre in the 2017 Best Book Awards, Kingdom of Darkness follows a trinity of witches as they race to break an age old curse before it is too late. Read Camille's journey in Kingdom of Darkness.
From the back cover:
"… the previous night’s vision, or whatever it was, ended with a name I heard clear as day, as if the people were in my room. Ivy, the girl and boy recited together.” – Camille
Could her dreams be real? Is she the key to freeing witches from their curse? Of course not, right? Thinking that her only chance at a normal life lay in a new treatment, Camille joins Dr. Antos and a group of teens for a month long camping trip in Iceland. There she meets Jude, a fellow schizophrenic. Dr. Antos invites Camille and Jude to extend their work with him on the island of Sardinia. Camille is suspicious of Dr. Antos’s intentions but her dad goes missing, leaving her no choice but to travel to Italy. Is she walking into a lion’s den or has her illness invaded her reality?
My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars

I know I went MIA from reading this book but I had to take a break from reading due to.....things. 
It took me a while to work my way up to finishing this book and I apologize for that.

I've missed these characters!! I've missed their world and their dedication!! But I still don't feel as connected to them as I do Alena and Hunter. I have no idea why and it kills me!

As weird as it sounds, I feel like Camille is a weak character. Like she's the little sister the group is gonna have to protect. And I know in shouldn't think that because I feel like book 3 is gonna make me regret it. Lol like she's gonna end up being the baddest b*tch in the series.
Who knows. I could be wrong. Lol

I loved this book almost as much as book one......almost.
My only problem honestly is the whole "descended from angels" bit. When religion ends up involved in a story, its off putting. (That's just me though. Others may love this idea. Its just to me, it always starts arguments and we have enough of that in the real world. Lol)

Anyway. Back to the story,
I knew that ending was coming!!! 
Yet I was not prepared for it. It still took my breath and made me see stars lol.

Can't wait to read book 3 and see how it turns out!!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...