Sunday, December 20, 2015

The Truth about Broken Trees (The Light Keeper Series Book 3) by Kelly Hall

Synopsis

Lily Jordan and her friends have one rule—No secrets in the circle. However, when an unexpected visitor threatens to expose Granny by revealing a major family secret, Lily is forced to keep it to herself in order to protect Hunter and Owen.
When the truth is finally known, Lily follows Owen on a hunt for more answers. Together they must rely on each other to save themselves and those they love. Can they trust the answers they find, or does Talon uncover a truth that proves deadly?
In The Truth about Broken Trees, book three of Kelly Hall’s Light Keeper series, find out who will pay the ultimate sacrifice for knowledge.




My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Oh freaking crap! This book was amazing! Headcanon much? Ummm, yeah, I think so.
SO. MANY. WOWS.
I didn't see any of this stuff coming. The writing was amazing (as always, DUH!) but the story line... shoooot. I pretty sure my eyes stayed bugging out of my head the whole time I was reading this book. Honestly, the first two books I was all for Team Talon... Now I'm leaning on Team Owen. Talon is such a douchebag in this book. Grrr. I can't wait for book two to come out because I am ready to start climbing the walls I need to know what happens next. I just hope the next one doesn't make me tear up like this one did. Haha. So not cool! I really enjoyed and loved this book though. (Of course) I swear I think these books are getting better and better. All of these books just keep you sucked in and wanting more and more. Perfection at it's best, here. Lol

Tuesday, November 24, 2015

Skinny by Donna Cooner

Synopsis

Find your voice.
Hopeless. Freak. Elephant. Pitiful. These are the words of Skinny, the vicious voice that lives inside fifteen-year-old Ever Davies’s head. Skinny tells Ever all the dark thoughts her classmates have about her. Ever knows she weighs over three hundred pounds, knows she’ll probably never be loved, and Skinny makes sure she never forgets it.
But there is another voice: Ever’s singing voice, which is beautiful but has been silenced by Skinny. Partly in the hopes of trying out for the school musical—and partly to try and save her own life—Ever decides to undergo a risky surgery that may help her lose weight and start over.
With the support of her best friend, Ever begins the uphill battle toward change. But demons, she finds, are not so easy to shake, not even as she sheds pounds. Because Skinny is still around. And Ever will have to confront that voice before she can truly find her own.



My Thoughts
★★ Stars
Goodness no. This book was such a let down. I'm sorry. I loved this book until I realized what it was actually saying. Then I just got pissed off.
While the writing was good and it kept you interested, the story isn't very uplifting.
Girl likes guy, guy liked girl. Girl gets fat, guy gets popular. Girl still likes guy, guy ignores her. Girl gets skinny, guy sees her again.
typical right? Yeah, I thought so too. Now, lets go a little deeper into this story. No one ever told her she was beautiful, they weren't really there for her, so of course when everyone called her fat and ugly, she believed them. So, just to make the teasing stop, she got surgery done. Which I think sends the wrong message to kids reading this book. Kinda like saying "no one will EVER like you unless you do it this way."
Then of course, she actually does loose weight, but then and only then do people notice her and want to talk to her. Which pretty much shows that what I said before is true.
Then all the sudden you find out a certain guy has always liked her... yeah freaking right! Where was you when she was getting bullied?! Where was you when she was at her lowest?! Where were you when she needed to hear how beautiful she was when she was still fat?! Why is it you only said this AFTER she got skinny?!
This book just sends the wrong message to kids.
I wouldn't recommend this book. If you want to read a book that is meaningful and uplifting, read Entertaining Angels by Emerald Barnes.

Thursday, November 19, 2015

Disturbing Behavior by John Whitman

Synopsis

Seventeen-year-old Steve Clark and his family have just moved to Cradle Bay Island and are settling into their new life.
At first everything seems fine in the small, quaint island community.  But then Steve meets the Blue Ribbon kids, the most popular group at Cradle Bay High.  The Blue Ribbons get the best grades, have plenty of school spirit, and do everything their parents ask them to.  Their idea of a wild time is hanging out at the Yogurt Shoppe on Main Street.  Adults think the Blue Ribbons are a great bunch, but Steve learns that if you disagree with the Blue Ribbons, you'd better watch out.  They have a strict code of conduct, and if they see you out of line, those peaceful, happy Blue Ribbons explode into deadly rage.
Steve and his new friends Gavin and Rachel uncover the sinister plot behind the Blue Ribbons' disturbing behavior and plan to bring the group down--before the Blue Ribbons get to them first.
Includes eight pages of color photos.



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I've been obsessed with this movie since I was a kid, I only recently found out it even had a book (shocking I know) so of course, I HAD to buy it!
The book and the movie matched almost perfectly, which is awesome, but the book provided just a bit more information about somethings that made you curious watching the movie. Kinda like deleted scenes, if you will. Only thing was was totally different was the end.
Still epic though. Loved everything about this book. From the writing to the settings, plot, you name it. This is a book I don't think I would ever get bored reading. Lol I plan on reading it over and over again. Definitely one of my favs!

Quotes:
•Gavin leaned over the table. "Welcome to Cradle Bay High, Stevie boy. Welcome to my nightmare."

•Steve remembered Gavin's claim that kids were being hypnotized l. "So something is changing them."
Newberry shook his head. "Something is killing them. They just don't know they're dead."

Saturday, November 14, 2015

A Living Nightmare by Darren Shan

Synopsis
In the tradition of Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot, Cirque Du Freak is the frightening saga of a young boy whose visit to a mysterious freak show leads him on a journey into a dark world of vampires. Filled with grotesque creatures, murderous vampires, and a petrifying ending, Cirque Du Freak will chill, thrill, and leave readers begging for more.


My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
Well, this book SEEMED interesting enough, and it was. It really was. But, as the more I read the more it just seemed to go on and on and I just started to loose interest in the story. While it started off grabbing my attention, near the end of the book (where the vampire comes in for good) started to get dull. You'd think Crepsley would have been more interesting, but he alone seemed to drag the whole book down and made it fall flat and monotone, so it made getting through the rest of the book kinda annoying. Though I liked the story line and the idea of it, it just seemed to be lacking in some places and I expected more of Crepsley. I'm hoping book two will be better and have more 'bang' to it.

Wednesday, November 11, 2015

Fated Capture by Kristyn Eudes

Synopsis

Arsema believes she is just a regular sixteen year old girl until a week before the start of her junior year when she starts to experience strange occurrences. Soon after she is thrust in a world that feels more make-believe than reality. To make matter worse, she is being hunted by two ancient races of supernatural beings. One looking to find and save her life and in turn save their race, the other looking to use her to bring an end to the world as she knows it.
After being attacked and kidnapped by her best friend’s boyfriend she is rescued by the guy she has been having reoccurring dreams about. Soon her life isn’t the only thing she is in jeopardy of losing as she finds herself falling hard and fast for her rescuer, Lyon. But will she be able to see past who or what he really is and accept him as he is?
Fated Capture is story about fate, adventure, magic and unconditional love. Arsem’a is a fiercely loyal heroine with a knack for getting herself into trouble. The question is will she be able to get out? Or will she find herself in the grasp of the one she desperately needs to avoid?



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
This book was such an enthralling read, I didn't want to put it down, but of course life kinda exploded and I had to put it down, but while I was away I honestly couldn't help to wonder what would happen next in the story. I was so interested in not only the story line but all the characters as well. Even though it was a fast read, from the start I fell in love with the characters. They made me laugh, mad, and dang near bout cry. 
The only probably I had was when *someone* (I'm not gonna say who) went rouge... Why? I mean it was awesome that it was "BOOM!" didn't see that coming... but it also didn't really tell you why or how... I'm hoping in book two or in a later book it explains it. I honestly can't wait to read book two and find out what happens next. Dang you cliffhanger!!

Saturday, October 31, 2015

Alive by Chandler Baker

Synopsis

Stella Cross's heart is poisoned.
After years on the transplant waiting list, she's running out of hope that she'll ever see her eighteenth birthday. Then, miraculously, Stella receives the transplant she needs to survive.
Determined to embrace everything she came so close to losing, Stella throws herself into her new life. But her recovery is marred by strange side effects: Nightmares. Hallucinations. A recurring pain that flares every day at the exact same moment. Then Stella meets Levi Zin, the new boy on everyone's radar at her Seattle prep school. Stella has never felt more drawn to anyone in her life, and soon she and Levi are inseparable.
Stella is convinced that Levi is her soul mate. Why else would she literally ache for him when they are apart?
After all, the heart never lies...does it?


My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
This is a harsh review and I am SO sorry for that... but
It's sad when the book only gets good at 92%.
There really isn't much I can say about this book, the writing was really good but the story itself just ticked me off to no ends.
There is honestly nothing honorable or brave about Stella. She seemed like a really whiny brat. She was this smart sweet girl yet after she gets her new heart and meets Levi, then she turns into a daredevil trying smoking and drinking... right, because that is the first thing you want to try right after you are blessed with a new heart. Stella seemed to do nothing but treat her family and friends like crap, why they stuck around, I have no idea.

Now I want to say, I liked the IDEA of this story the the characters lacked and just seemed to do nothing but make me angry.

And I have to say Once Levi came into the picture, it was all pretty predictable to me. I just didn't enjoy this book. I really wish I had, but I just couldn't.

Sunday, October 18, 2015

Cade (Le Beau Brothers #1) by V.A. Dold

Synopsis

Anna James is single again, finally. In her opinion, men are self-centered and will never love her for who she is, a beautiful, plus sized woman. All except the fantasy man that she’s been meeting in her dreams for five years.
She just never expected her fantasy to be a real live alpha shifter...
Cade Le Beau isn't what he seems. He’s a billionaire wolf. A Shifter. He laments his missed chance six months ago to meet his fantasy woman in the flesh. Just as his second chance presents itself, his fantasy woman, his mate, is threatened by the local mob boss and her ex-husband. Now, he has forty eight hours to deal with this threat once and for all or chance losing her again.
Is it Anna who’s in danger, or the humans who unwittingly threaten her?
The heat is on the moment they lay eyes on each other. Neither, age, children, horrid ex-husbands, nor mob bosses will stop this love affair.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
This is NOT what I read. Just saying, this is way far outside the box of what I read but wow wow wow!! this book was amazing. Now you are probably wondering why I read it if it isn't my thing, well, to be honest, it was free on amazon and so when I clicked on it to see what it was about it really peeked my interest and I thought "well if I don't like it, I'll just delete it and not worry about finishing it."
Well that never happened. Once I got reading, I seriously could NOT stop. Yes, I passed all the sex because that really isn't my thing, other than that, this story was SO astonishing. The love that was so strong between them was so magical and heart-swelling. I believe this book was written wonderfully. Everything just flowed together and there were things so different, I mean it's not to often you get a petite human who then can whoop your butt faster than a buff guy can. Lol
I can't wait to read book two and find out what happens to Simon.

***18+ Book***

Saturday, October 10, 2015

The Overnight by R.L. Stine

Synopsis

"Nothing bad will happen," Della O'Connor assures her friends in the Outdoors Club. So what if their adviser can't go on the overnight to Fear Island—won't it be more fun with no adults around?
But it's no fun at all when Della gets lost in the woods, and the dangerous stranger appears, whispering threats, driving her to a violent act.
Suddenly all of her friends are involved, prisoners in a conspiracy of silence, trying to conceal the terrible truth. But someone saw what Della did. And he's threatening them all, forcing them back to Fear Island to find the evidence they forgot to bury...


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
Man... R.L. Stine is awesome. I love all his books that I have read so far. There just seemed to be something lacking in this story. It didn't seem to grip me like all the rest do. While the story line was still interesting and the characters differences came together perfectly, I just feel like there could have been more to the story to make it more scary I suppose... Or, I'm just possible use to just his ghost-y stories and am spoiled with those. Lol

The Chronicle of the Three: Bloodline by Tabitha Caplinger

Synopsis

Zoe thought the loss of her parents would be the most difficult thing she’d ever have to endure. When she began seeing things she couldn’t explain in her new home of Torchcreek, Virginia, she was sure the grief was driving her mad. Instead Zoe discovers she is part of an ancient bloodline, one destined to defeat the powers of darkness from condemning the world. But Zoe, the daughter of the three, isn’t just another descendant–she’s the key to humanity’s salvation.
In this first installment of the Christian fantasy trilogy The Chronicle of the Three, Zoe Andrews learns that not all shadows are harmless interceptions of light. Some are a more sinister darkness that wants to torment the soul. 


My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Oh how I wish I could give this book five stars. I liked this book, I really did. But the main thing about this book that made me extremely uncomfortable was the relationship between Michael and Claire. I know this is just a book, but Michael is an angel... angels are .. no.. they... there is no "relationship" with them and this book to me seemed like Michael and Claire REALLY wanted to be together and they were battling the feeling through the whole book. Which, I'm sorry, was to much for me to where I couldn't enjoy it to the max I wanted to because I just kept thinking "this is so wrong. This is not right."
Now as for the rest of the book, I did like it. I just feel like it was written mid book or mid series. I wish it had taken more time to explain why all this was happening and where it was coming from. And to me personally I feel like things "just happened" ... I'm not really sure how to explain that other than it was like they got lucky. And I say that because normally before a battle, ya need to be prayed up, but they just charged in and after the battle there wasn't even a "thank you Jesus".
Also at the end
****POSSIBLE SPOILER****
When she is hanging on to him and her light passes to him and it's kinda like a battle there for a bit and he passes out... maybe I missed something, maybe I didn't... But normally when stuff like that happens, it means the person has given their life over to God. did he? I mean there just wasn't enough details there.
****END SPOILER****
I loved loved loved the IDEA of this story.. but there was just to much that seemed off about it to me.

Thursday, October 8, 2015

Imaginary Boy by Mark Eldrich

Synopsis

Eleven-year-old Benji Saintaubin dreams of becoming a hero like the ones in the books he reads while banished in the dark attic of his family home. But those heroes are all strong and handsome, not like Benji who uses a crutch and hides his disfigured face. When his father dies, leaving behind an unfinished story about an imaginary boy who must defeat a cruel and mighty dragon, Benji’s safe and secluded world is turned upside down.
After venturing out of the attic and onto the perilous streets of 19th century London, Benji finds himself separated from his mother in a frightening and unfamiliar world. Nearly trampled to death and sold into slavery, Benji comes to believe his father’s story may be more fact than fiction after his captor reveals a dragon-tail tattoo around his arm and plans that could destroy Benji. If he ever hopes to escape, be reunited with his mother and finish his father’s cryptic story, Benji must trust that a crippled boy can discover the unseen power needed to defeat a brutal and powerful dragon.
Join Benji on his treacherous journey in this compelling, edgy and inspiring middle-grade novel by debut author Mark Eldrich.



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Such a eye opening heart warming story.
....and also a tear jerker.
I must say this book was a quick read and you really don't want to put it down. You get so draw in with all the characters and ... My heart breaks for Benji. Yet reading this book, you realize (or at least I realized) that this child has more courage than a "normal" person has. Benji is a beautiful soul and this story really opens your eyes and your heart to see that. I'm honored to have gotten to read such a beautiful story.

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Darkness Echoes: A Spooky YA Short Story Collection

Synopsis

Til Death Do Us Part by L.A. Starkey - Jennifer and Zach have been best friends since birth, but as their senior year approaches, things change drastically. With little time left to reveal her heart before college, Jen plans a night to remember at the old haunted Vandercamp Mansion for Zach's birthday. It's just to be the two of them, and no one was to know, but upon arrival, they realize that their presence was expected. Their connection is forged as realization of their past is granted. A love that stands outside of time and space will not rest - Til Death Do Us Part.
Witch Moth by Kelly Hall - Dominic Dane has endured his sister Dahlia's evil deeds for decades while the two serve out their hundred year punishment, but when she threatens to use his new-found crush as her Halloween sacrifice, he realizes she'll never change. Promising Kitty he will stop at nothing to save her and her friends, Dominic is forced to explain his curse, revealing it's not just Dahlia who must kill to survive.
The Coming of the Skin Walker by D.E.L. Connor - When warriors Walking Bear and Nine Fingers rescue amnesia-ridden Lina from the clutches of the immortal Skin Walker they must flee on a harrowing journey where ancient Native American secrets and mysticism unfold, innocence is lost, and the forever bonds of love and friendship are tested.
Lantern by Chess Desalls - Five days before Halloween, all sixteen-year-old Tori has on her mind is vacationing with her family and scoring lots of candy. Her grandmother's estate, with its Gothic spires and trails that lead out to the woods, holds an unexpected secret: a lantern that lights up for Tori and nobody else. Certain that it's a ghost or a prank, she investigates further and discovers a mysterious life that shines in the darkness.
Cloak of Echoes by CK Dawn - Just as Emma Kincaid came into some disturbing empathic powers, she lost her mother in a car crash. She is also pretty certain she's being followed, maybe even hunted. But, is it the shadowy creatures that haunt her nightmares or the mysterious guy, shrouded in darkness, who just enrolled at Jefferson High?
Hallowed Eve by DB Nielsen - Ten years after the sinister disappearance of her father, the turmoil begins again with the stealing of souls ... Seventeen-year-old Evee is forced to accept her birthright of dark secrets and death as she inherits the role of Soul Guardian; a role that brings her into the dangerous influence of a coven of witches and the enigmatic, alluring Hunter, Ben, to defeat the rise of dark magick.
These stories have never been published before and were written specifically for this anthology. Hope you enjoy this spooky adventure!!


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Because it had so many stories in one, I'll be writing this review a little different, 6 reviews for each story then one final one.

Till Dead Do Us Part by L.A. Starkey:
This was honestly my most favorite story out of this whole book. I thought it was wonderfully written and everything just went together smoothly. I loved the whole story line though the ending did kinda throw my off, it took a while of thinking before I realized what was going on. Lol But I liked it anyway.

Witch Moth by Kelly Hall:
Oh come on! Really! You already know this story alone would get 5 stars. Mrs. Hall is beat when it comes to writing. All her books I've read so far, I've loved, so of course I would love this one as well. I liked it. It was different from her Light Keeper series, so of course I was eager to see how she wrote this story... it was awesome (of course!) I loved all the characters... Except Kitty's "best friends" ugh they were just down right horrible. Talk about heartbreaking! And of course Dominic (hubba-hubba! Haha) he gets 5 sexy stars alone. Hahah That ending bout ripped my heart out though *insert crying photo here*

The Coming of the Skin Walker by D.E.L. Conner:
I enjoyed this story so much. There was just something about it that reminded me of my best friend who I lost a few years ago. The story line was different, I admit, I haven't read anything like this before and it has defiantly peaked my curiosity.

Lantern by Chess Desalls:
For a short story, I found it adorable. But there were just to many things about this story that left me with questions and no answers. Like why is it the grandmother was not surprised when she started talking about what was in the Lantern? Why was Jared sent there and why did THAT help? I don't know.. I'm just kinda lost about a few things. The story was interesting though, just to many questions

Cloak of Echoes by CK Dawn:
I really can't say much about this one other than, I would have preferred to read this in a whole series. Lol. I really think it would make a awesome book all by itself because again, there were questions that needed answers that didn't get answering and it really had that "book" vibe and not a "short story" vibe to me.

Hallowed Eve by DB Nielsen:
I love pretty much all things having to do with the Headless horseman. So of course, I like this book. I want to love it, but I can't. I'm just not big into witchcraft stuff so closer to the end, I was having to skip a good bit to get past the coven and witchcraft things. If it weren't for that I would really label it as perfect. That's just my thoughts though.

All in all-
I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick read and had very interesting stories in it. These six authors have mega talent and put a really great book together.

Monday, October 5, 2015

Breathless by Becki Brannen

Synopsis

What happens when an ordinary girl meets the man of everyone’s dreams?
Keeping secrets is never easy, especially since Ryan Spalding is on the cover of every magazine and this year's "Hottest Hunk under 30." Good thing Carly Sparks is so out of the loop when it comes to celebrity affairs, or she'd realize she was in one!






My Thoughts
★★★★ Breathless Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
This was such a good book. I really loved it and didn't want to put it down. The characters were so real to me and everything went together smoothly. I think my most favorite thing honestly was that Carly cried... a lot. If you read other books, you'll see that the girl always tries to be strong and not cry, ect. But Carly just had so much love in here that she HAD to cry, that she was so thankful for the things that Ryan had done for her. Also I find it beautiful that even though she came from a hardened home, she wasn't hardened. She was open and when she loved, she loved hard. Now Daniel Gillies OH, I mean RYAN... He's a movie star so of course you expect him to be kinda douchey... Which I guess you could say he was before he met Carly, but as much as his character made me mad at times, I loved him as well... It kinda makes you think maybe not all actors are the same, I suppose. Maybe they want a love just as real as any of us "civilians" lol. Kinda hard to remember that when they star in so many movies and marry co-stars. eh. Lol I really enjoyed this book and can't wait for book two! MUST! READ!
*The missing star, is really hard to explain really... it just felt like there was something missing from the story to me. It felt kinda incomplete though that honestly may be because it ended with a cliffhanger. Lol

The Surprise Party by R.L. Stine

Synopsis

It's been a year since Evan died in the Fear Street woods. A year since Ellen moved away, and "the gang" split up. Meg Dalton felt as if she'd lost her best friends. Everyone changed. Even her boyfriend Tony was acting moody, strange. But when she heard that Ellen was returning for a visit, Meg had the answer: she'd bring them all together again with a surprise party for Ellen!
That's when the terror began...the phone calls...the threats...the bizarre acts of violence. "Cancel the party—or else," the whispered voice on the phone told her. Meg was scared, and with good reason. Whoever wanted the party stopped woud try anything—even murder! But why? The dark Fear Street woods held the answer...if Meg dared to discover the truth!


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
That was a never ending curveball. But I must say it was brilliantly written. As for the missing star, there was just something off about this book. :( I really enjoyed it but I felt like something was missing. The story was pretty awesome though. Really she o thought I had it all figured out, it threw another curveball. Though there was one thing about it... Shows you can't even trust your own friends. Ugh. Ellen makes me sick. That being said... You really shouldn't trust anyone from Fear Street.

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Tales from the Graveyard: The Complete Collection by Susan Shultz

Synopsis

In a pleasant little New England town, there is a house on a hill. Its garden is decorated with gravestones.
The house has stood for ages now, and occupants have come and gone.
But those who died there never leave.
They just watch…and wait.
Susan Shultz's haunting Tales From the Graveyard series is now available in one complete digital collection.
The Blacksmith.
Jessie.
Dirt.
Sam.
Read Tales From the Graveyard: The Complete Collection today, and you'll see.
Our ghosts never leave us.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+  Perfectly Dark Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
SWEET MOTHER OF GOODNESS!!! These stories were so amazing! I know I got the ARC, but I can not WAIT to buy this book. The last horror book I read that was this awesome was literally over a year ago. I loved everything about this book. I loved the story line, the characters, how everything blended together and even when new characters were brought in, you still had the old characters there in every book. When it comes to short stories, I'm not normally a big fan of them because they leave me with more questions than answers and they don't feel complete. This book, though... oh my gosh. for a book so short, they were perfectly written. Susan Shultz has amazing talent! I do believe this book is perfect for a Halloween read. I totally recommend it!
PS: I'm in love with all of these covers. They drew me in!

Monday, September 28, 2015

A Dark Assortment by Mikey Campling

Synopsis

Don't be afraid. They're just stories, aren't they? Sometimes that noise you can hear upstairs is just the old floorboards creaking as they settle down for the night. Sometimes. But there's no need to worry because, that face you saw at the window was just a reflection.There's no one else here. You're alone. But that's OK because you're safe in your bed. And all those things you fear deep down in the dark reaches of your soul... well, they only happen in stories, don't they?
A Dark Assortment is a collection of seventeen stories; a chocolate box of handmade treats. But beware - beneath each richly decorated shell, there's a seed of delicious darkness.
These stories with a twist are perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe, and if you enjoy books like Ray Bradbury's "Illustrated Man" and Roald Dahl's "Skin" then we'll get along just fine.Oh - before I go, I'll wish you all Sweet Dreams.


My Thoughts
★★★★  Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
This was a quick interesting read. I really enjoyed the stories, but a lot of them confused me and left me with more questions than answers, which kinda sucked the enjoyment out of the story. I'm not saying everyone will feel this, it just happens to be how I feel, so don't take my word. Read it for yourself. It's still a really good read. If you had to ask me which one was my favorite, I'd probably say the first story was the one I liked the most. I liked how all these stories were written as well. It's amazing how such small stories can have so much information in them.

Whatever It Takes by Bridgett Henson

Synopsis

Released on bail, born-again drug dealer Cindy McDuffie, has three months of freedom before facing judgment for her crimes. When God gives her the love of a good man, will she embrace a short life with her own superhero? Or will guilt and feelings of inferiority steal her blessings?
Attorney Cole Maxwell waited twenty-eight years to meet his promised wife from God. Racing against the clock, can he convince Cindy to sail into the clouds? Or will the women plotting his future, and the men haunting her past shipwreck his dreams?
Can their Savior use a judge’s gavel and a child’s hunger to chart them on the right course? Or will life’s storms drive the promises of God beyond their reach?


My Thoughts
★★★★★+  Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

I was amazed by this book.... It made me throw it across my yard. :)
For real though, I laughed... and I cried. When I say cried, I mean I blubbered.
This story was so deep, hours later, I'm still in awe of it. This book sucked me in and I could NOT put it down... and trust me, I tried. I just came running right back because I needed to know what happens next. I finished this book this morning and even though it's almost 11pm now, I'm having the hardest time writing this review! I want to say so much but I can't because if I do, I'll end up saying to much and have to label it "spoiler alert" and I don't want to do that because I want people to be able to ready this review and see how awesome this book was without me ruining it.
All I can say is: READ IT!
The story line is so... real and raw. It takes you down deep to the nitty gritty and you can't help but to pray along with these characters .. even though you KNOW they are just characters. Whatever It Takes forces you to take a look at lives that we just overlook every day. It makes you see that not everyone has had the life you have. It shows you that God loves you no matter who you are and as long as seek Him, He will always be there for you and He will always show you His love.
I can't wait to start book three!

Monday, September 21, 2015

Whatever He Wants by Bridgett Henson

Synopsis

A construction worker must choose between protecting his young son from an abusive mother, or a life full of music with the girl of his dreams.

James Preston rejected his Pentecostal heritage long ago. Now, he abandons his education to provide for the young son he didn’t know existed. Can he persuade Joni to join his new family before Isaac’s abusive mother tears it apart? Or will the court finally grant him sole custody?

Joni Maher was adopted at age six, but who is she really? Obedient daughter? Concert pianist? Sorority sister? She experiences love in James’s arms. His adorable son stirs her maternal instincts. Yet, in his family church, the power of God’s presence creates a longing she doesn’t understand.

When their carefully constructed world shatters, which will they choose?Love’s Pleasure? Isaac’s safety? Or a Savior’s forgiveness?


My Thoughts
★★★★★+  Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
When I first started this book, it made me so angry. I can't tell you how many times I wanted to throw it across the room... all within 25 pages of reading it.
But...something just kept pulling me back. Any time I stopped, I just HAD to pick it right back up. I adore this book. I loved the story. If there was ever a story that was REAL, this would be it. the oddest thing happened to me while reading this book too, honestly. Lol through the whole book, I was praying for these characters and didn't even realize it till I was almost done (that's how real this was to me) and I have to say there was one part where I straight up went "Hallelujah!" and I wanted to run up and down my front yard cheering (but I couldn't because I was barefoot and there are stickers in the grass) This story made me so angry, laugh, and blow my mind repeatedly. The only thing that really got under my skin was all the time jumping. There were a lot of gaps, but of course, it didn't stop me from reading. Thank goodness. I really liked this book and I can't wait to read book two.

The New Girl by R.L. Stine

Synopsis

The new girl is as pale as a ghost, blond, and eerily beautiful -- and she seems to need him as much as he wants her. Cory Brooks hungers for Anna Corwin's kisses, drowns in her light blue eyes. He can't get her out of his mind. He has been loosing sleep, ditching his friends...and everyone has noticed.
Then as suddenly as she came to Shadyside High, Anna disappears. To find a cure for his obsession, Cory must go to Anna's house on Fear Street -- no matter what the consequences.
Anna may be the love of his life ... but finding out her secret might mean his death.



My Thoughts
★★★★★  Stars
Wow. I mean really, this was awesome. R.L. Stine has such talent of when you THINK you know what's going to happen, it changes and makes you second guess yourself.
The New Girl did just that. Through reading it it had so many twists and turns! Finally I gave up trying to guess the truth lol. The ending was crazy though but I must say, it left me with more questions because while it did change a lot, it left me questioning if the ending was the truth or not. I guess we'll never know.

Friday, September 18, 2015

Blogger Recognition Award


Thank you to the lovely Anna @enchantedbyya for nominating me! ^_^
The Rules:
Write a post to show off your reward!
Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers.
Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog.
Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to and list them in the post. Comment on each blog and let them know you nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created


My Blog's Story:
I honestly never expected to have a blog. When I first started reviewing I started off on GR just rating books at first, and then I read a really amazing book and just have to vent how much I enjoyed it. There, the seed was planted and my reviews just grew and grew. Finally I started my blog a year ago and just fell in love with it. It's a amazing way to just let things out and post what you feel about the books you read. Epicness!

Advice:
Never give up. I can't tell you how many times I have come across people who have told me "I don't know how to review." or "I don't think I can do it, I'm not that good." I don't think anyone starts out knowing how to review nor being that good. Everything takes time and practice. If you feel strongly about a book (good or bad) SAY SO! Explain why you feel the way you do. If anyone ever comes across you trying to tear you down for what you think, don't listen to them. Everyone will think differently, some will think they same way you do. So don't give up.
Also, post what you believe in. What YOU think and not what others want to hear. You have a voice, use it! ^_^

My Nominees:
21stcenturyonceuponatime
bookpassionforlife
booksoffascination
ufbooks
If I haven't tagged you and you would like to do this, feel free to do it! ^_^

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Synopsis

Coraline's often wondered what's behind the locked door in the drawing room. It reveals only a brick wall when she finally opens it, but when she tries again later, a passageway mysteriously appears. Coraline is surprised to find a flat decorated exactly like her own, but strangely different. And when she finds her "other" parents in this alternate world, they are much more interesting despite their creepy black button eyes. When they make it clear, however, that they want to make her theirs forever, Coraline begins a nightmarish game to rescue her real parents and three children imprisoned in a mirror. With only a bored-through stone and an aloof cat to help, Coraline confronts this harrowing task of escaping these monstrous creatures.
Gaiman has delivered a wonderfully chilling novel, subtle yet intense on many levels. The line between pleasant and horrible is often blurred until what's what becomes suddenly clear, and like Coraline, we resist leaving this strange world until we're hooked. Unnerving drawings also cast a dark shadow over the book's eerie atmosphere, which is only heightened by simple, hair-raising text. Coraline is otherworldly storytelling at its best.


My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I kept hearing how amazing this book was from everyone I know (who had read it.) and I am sad to say, I didn't like it. It was okay but... oh my gosh, I can't believe I am going to say this, but the movie was better.
I think the way the book was written just gave me a headache. Examples
"They made Coraline feel uncomfortable. Then Coraline dreamed a few commercials[...]"
"Coraline" and "she" was repeated so much... it made me want to scream.
I feel like this story was told in total monotone. I didn't see any excitement, everything was just flat to me.
I'm sorry, I just didn't enjoy this book. Even though the story was quite interesting, I just couldn't see what all the hype is about.

Sunday, September 13, 2015

Daughter of the Earth and Sky by Kaitlin Bevis

Synopsis

The Daughters of Zeus, Book 2
Some vows can never be broken, especially with you've recently found out you’re a goddess.
In the flick of a eyelash Persephone has gone from being a high school junior in Athens, Georgia to the wife of Hades, god of the Underworld. Under his platonic protection, she’s waiting for springtime, when Boreas, the sinister god of winter, will stop stalking her.
But even Hades can’t keep Boreas and his minions from threatening her. Finally she escaped back to the world of the living. Maybe she can just go back to normal—and forget that she’s fallen in love with Hades.
She’s wrong.

Thanatos—a friend from the Underworld, has betrayed her. Persephone can't tell anyone about Thanatos' betrayal, and it drives a wedge between her and Hades.
And then there’s Aphrodite, the gorgeous goddess who was born among the ocean waves with more charm than she can control. Persephone’s dearest ally, Melissa, is furious and jealous when Aphrodite starts winning Persephone’s friendship. Persephone turns to a human boy for friendship. But will their relationship put him in danger?
Persephone must choose between her human life and her responsibilities as a goddess. If she doesn't, she could lose that life and Hades, too.
But either way, she may not survive her father’s schemes. After all, she’s Zeus’s daughter.


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Daughter of the Earth and Sky was a good book two, but I feel like there was something missing from it. What exactly? I have no idea, I just had that "something is missing" feeling. While the story was pretty awesome and kept me on the edge of my seat, I just couldn't shake that feeling. Which is where the final missing star comes in. The characters this time, really got under my skin. Persephone has finally reached that whiny teenage status, Aphrodite is ...well we all know how she gets around soooo I'm sure you know where I'm heading with that. And last but not least, Hades.... could he be any more blind and dense? I wanted to throw my kindle at his face he annoyed me so bad. Lets not forget there was that one part that just makes you go "EEEWWW!!!!" though I'm not gonna say who it was about or what happened. You'll just have to see for yourself. Yes, yes, I know. I'm talking about how cruddy these characters are right? Well... not really (see the four stars. lol) It's amazing how this book had me wanting to scream to the point of "okay.. that was pretty awesome." this book made my emotions yoyo like crazy. That ending though! Oh my goodness! I can't wait to read the next book and find out what happens! It's driving me crazy! Must. Read. Now.

**Sep 21, 2015: I will not be reading book three any time soon. Sorry.

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Sudden Mission by Guy L. Pace

Synopsis

Satan, once one of God’s favorites, now His Adversary, grows impatient with the plan and begins to harvest souls. In a fell swoop, he throws reality out of whack and the world into chaos. God calls on Paul and his friends Amy and Joe to set things right. The young teens journey through a messed up world—with a little help from an angel—struggling against everything the Adversary can throw in their path to accomplish their Sudden Mission.
With their world and their parents’ lives hanging in the balance—and the Adversary sending everything from zombies to Samurais to stand in their way—Paul will discover if he has the strength and faith to set things right again and stop Satan’s harvest.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+  Strong Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Oh my gosh! this book was so awesome!
When I saw the blurb of this book, I just KNEW I had to read this book. I'm so glad that I did! It's such a wonderful story that keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more and by the grace of God, all things are possible. I loved the characters in this book and how different they are yet they go together perfectly. I loved how this book was written, everything just flowed and came together perfectly. I loved all the obstacles they had to face as well. It was very original, I've never seen anything like this before. The mixes of everything was mind blowing. If you haven't read this book before I fully recommend it.

Monday, September 7, 2015

The Beat on Ruby's Street by Jenna Zark

Synopsis

The last thing eleven-year-old Ruby Tabeata expected to happen on her way to a Jack Kerouac reading was to be hauled to the police station.It’s 1958 and Ruby is the opposite of a 1950s stereotype: fierce, funny and strong willed, she is only just starting to chart her course in a family of Beat Generation artists in Greenwich Village.
Ruby dreams of meeting famous poets while becoming one herself; instead, she’s accused of trying to steal fruit from a local vendor and is forced to live in a children’s home. As Ruby struggles to return to family and friends, she learns her only choice is to follow her heart.
Join Ruby’s journey as she finds unexpected friendships, the courage to rebel against unjust authority and the healing power of art in this inspiring middle-grade novel by Jenna Zark.



My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
**Possible Spoilers Ahead! READ WITH CAUTION**
In all honesty, this book wasn't my cup of tea. Which is where the missing final star comes in. I give it four stars because even though it wasn't my kind of story, it was still a really good story. Man, this story also raised my blood pressure like something fierce but I knew I couldn't stop reading because I just had to know what happens. It was also written very well yet I also feel like there was something missing. I felt like the story was incomplete. I hit the final page and was a bit lost because I really thought there was more to it. 

This book left me with a lot of questions like:
•What happened to the girls in the home? 
•What happened to her daddy? 
•Did her mama and Chaz get married? 
•Did her mama wake up and find her missing? 
•Did the Social Worker finally leave them alone? 
•Did she pass the test or was she forced to go to school? 
•Did she ever finally warm up to Chaz?

See what I mean?

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Before We Say I Do: An Entertaining Angels Short Story by Emerald Barnes

Synopsis

Following the best-selling first book of the series, Entertaining Angels, comes Before We Say I Do, An Entertaining Angels Short Story.
It’s been one year, and Chase Sanders and Madison Andrews are about to declare their love for one another in the most sacred of ways. Everything has been going perfectly, especially when an old friend returns to town to stand by Chase’s side on their big day. But is Zach there to see their union, or is he concealing the truth of why he’s actually back in town?
Chase has lived perfectly fine without his father around, but now that his father is divorcing again, he is seeking forgiveness. Chase can’t look at his father, let alone forgive him.
Before Chase and Mads can say “I Do,” Chase must first learn to let go of the past before the dark forces that haunt his nightmares come to life.



My Thoughts
★★★★★++++  Beautiful Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I'm so in love with this story. I loved it picked up a few years later but was still informative enough for you to imagine how things went in the past years. I absolutely love Emerald's writing. It just flows and both of these books were so fast paced and went perfectly together. You didn't want to miss a word of it.
I loved this story, I guess I'm a sucker for happy endings Lol It was great to see all the characters back in action but now I miss them and have to wait a while before the next book (insert crying sob noises here) I can't wait to see what book two has in store.

Entertaining Angels by Emerald Barnes

Synopsis

Madison Andrews can’t face her reflection in the mirror. All she sees is a big, fat nobody. Yet, deep inside she longs for something more, something that’s not skin deep.
Along comes Zach, the new guy in high school. He’s smoking hot and totally out of her league. She somehow catches his eye, and he makes her feel beautiful for once. But just as she gets close to Zach, her nerdy best friend, Chase, won’t let Madison doubt her true beauty, no matter how many meals she skips.
Dark forces are at work, darker than the lies and mocking from her peers, stopping her from amounting to her full potential. With her newfound Christian faith, can Madison find true happiness in her own skin amidst the battle of angels and demons?


My Thoughts
★★★★★++++  Beautiful Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Good Lord in heaven! This book was heart stopping! Pure perfection loooove! When it comes to Christian books, to be perfectly honest, I'm hard to please. But Emerald Barnes knocked it out the ballpark! Oh my goodness! I'm really trying to calm down from fangirling my head off, buuut it doesn't seem to be working. I feel like pulling a Kool-aid Man and running through a wall. Haha. God has truly blessed Emerald Barnes with a epic writing talent.
This book reached me on SO MANY levels. I laughed, I cried.. I cried some more. I smiled through it all though because it just reached my heart and talked to me. It was like she lived my life and put it down in this book. I fully 100% recommend this book to literally everyone. Whether you're Christian or not, for the simple fact, everyone should see the message in this story. Everyone deserves to know they are beautiful. If I could rate this more than 5 stars, I would in a heartbeat.

Monday, August 31, 2015

Sudden Secrets by C. Lee McKenzie

Synopsis

One Secret
Cleo has struggled to heal after her baby sister's death, but the flashbacks to the accident won't go away. With the move, she vows to keep her tragedy a secret and avoid pitying looks.
One Mystery
Something's strange about the abandoned house across the street-flashes of light late at night and small flickers of movement that only someone looking for them would see.
Everyone says the house is deserted, but Cleo is sure it isn't, and she's sure whoever is inside is watching her.
Another Secret
In one night, Belleza's life changes forever. So famous, her only choice is to hide her secret from the world so she can silence small town bigotry.
Then Cleo happens. 



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Great ending, but I didn't like this book all that much. It seemed to take forever to get into the story and it kept bringing up this big horrible thing that happened that tore up the whole family but it wouldn't tell you exactly what happened or who's fault it was (though you could assume; you never really knew) it that just bugged the mess outta me. The main character in this book just made me wish someone would bounce her head off some concrete. She was a brat who didn't care what her actions did to others and all she thought about was herself. She helped herself to whatever she felt like. Had I been around her, I would have told her off. I'm glad everything came together at the end though... but I was expecting so much more from this book. It was a let down.

Saturday, August 29, 2015

More Than This by Jay McLean

Synopsis

When Mikayla imagined her prom night, she envisioned a fairy-tale evening full of romance. So when betrayal and tragedy come in quick succession, Mikayla is completely destroyed. Suddenly, everything she loved and everyone she relied on are tragically, irrevocably gone.
Jake, a handsome boy she just met, happens to witness her loss. With no one to turn to, Mikayla is forced to depend on this near stranger and his family, and he in turn is determined to take care of her. But Mikayla—thrust into adulthood with no one to guide her—is desperate to contain her grief and hide what she considers to be her weakness. Mikayla and Jake both want more, but despite their growing closeness and intense chemistry, she tries to keep her distance and protect her heart. As he does everything in his power to win her trust, Mikayla must choose between remaining alone and safe or letting love in.


My Thoughts
★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Ummmm well... This book was... well...
Okay, here goes nothing. This wasn't my cup of tea. Whoever labeled this "Young Adult" needs to rethink that. New Adult? Sure. Erotica? pretty much. Lol
This "story" seemed out 95% cussing and sexual scenes while you had to read between all of that for the other 5% for the actual story. Honestly, cut out all the cussing and sexual stuff, and the story really would have been really great! I loved the difference in the characters but... I have to admit, sometimes the jealousy was a bit over the top. But eh. What can you expect with 18 year olds, I guess. Haha. Anyway, I'm giving this three stars. There isn't really much to say about it. All the cussing and sexual stuff just really ruined the whole book for me and it was just page after page after page of it. I had to force myself to finish it. But to be honest this book did have me cracking up. Every time they took a chill pill for their hormones, I was laughing my hind end off. I wish there could have been more funny parts.

Book Fangirling Award


I was nominated by the awesome Megan at booksoffascination. THANK YOU!

Rules:
•Create a blog post to accept your award
•Add the blog award button into your post and put it onto the side of your blog as a widget
•Answer the questions the person who has nominated you has come up with
•Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers who you think deserve this award
•Come up with your own 5 questions for your nominees
•Link your answers below so we can see them :)

Questions:

1. If you could own all of the books in one specific genre, what genre would that be?
Young Adult! 

2. How often do you reorganize your bookshelf?
Probably every time I get new books. Lol

3. If you could jump into a book and live in that world, what book/series would that be?
Either The Grey Wolves series or The Originals

4. What book/series would you match your current favorite song to?
I actually don't have a fav song right now. 

5. What book/series do you want most to become a movie/TV series?
THE GREY WOLVES SERIES!! O_O

My Questions:

•If you could remove one book or one series from the world, what would it be?
•Do you have certain playlists you play while you read?
•How do you arrange your books on your bookshelf?
•If you could be the main character in a book, who would you be and why?
•How many books do you read in a month and in a full year?

I NOMINATE:


Thursday, August 27, 2015

The Casquette Girls (The Casquette Girls #1) by Alys Arden

Synopsis

After the Storm of the Century rips apart New Orleans, Adele Le Moyne and her father are among the first to return to the city following the mandatory evacuation. Adele wants nothing more than for life to return to normal, but with the silent city resembling a mold-infested war zone, a parish-wide curfew, and mysterious new faces lurking in the abandoned French Quarter, normal will have to be redefined.
Events too unnatural – even for New Orleans – lead Adele to an attic that has been sealed for three hundred years, and the chaos she unleashes threatens not only her life but everyone she knows. Mother Nature couldn’t drain the joie de vivre from the Big Easy, but someone or something is draining life from its residents.
Caught suddenly in a hurricane of eighteenth-century myths and monsters, Adele must quickly untangle a web of magic that links the climbing murder rate back to her own ancestors. But who can you trust in a city where everyone has a secret, and where keeping them can be a matter of life and death – unless, that is, you’re immortal.


My Thoughts
★★★★★++++  Casquette Stars
I'm soooo in love with this book!I know it took me FOREVER to read this book, which is shocking, I know. But I did NOT want this book to end! I want to cry because I finished it. Then I also want to cry because this book was just so amazing. I have to admit, walking into Boutique du Vampyre in New Orleans I didn't expect I was going to really walk out with anything, but of course, I found the shelves of books and was instantly drawn to this one not only because it reminded me of the Originals but because the color/font/cover... just everything about this book was perfect and eye drawing. If just looking at this book doesn't draw you in, something is wrong. Lol. Anywho, I actually walked away twice before I gave in and ran back to it and bought it. I'm so so so glad I did! My whole reaction reading this book was just "whoa". It was written magnificently! The characters were original and the story line was mind blowing. And of course because this book was set here in Louisiana, if gives me a sort of "HECK YES!" moment because ... well it's Louisiana! Come on! Who doesn't love New Orleans!? Lol. Alys Arden has excellent talent and I can NOT wait for book two! I want it nowwww!
If I could rate this book a trillion stars, I really would.
***Also received a copy from NG for an honest review***

Sunday, August 16, 2015

Persephone by Kaitlin Bevis

Synopsis

Daughters of Zeus, Book One
One day Persephone is an ordinary high school junior working at her mom’s flower shop in Athens, Georgia. The next she’s fighting off Boreas, the brutal god of Winter, and learning that she’s a bonafide goddess—a rare daughter of the now-dead Zeus. Her goddess mom whisks her off to the Underworld to hide until Spring.
There she finds herself under the protection of handsome Hades, the god of the dead, and she’s automatically married to him. It’s the only way he can keep her safe. Older, wiser, and far more powerful than she, Hades isn’t interested in becoming her lover, at least not anytime soon. But every time he rescues her from another of Zeus’s schemes, they fall in love a little more. Will Hades ever admit his feelings for her?
Can she escape the grasp of her powerful dad’s minions? The Underworld is a very cool place, but is it worth giving up her life in the realm of the living? Her goddess powers are developing some serious, kick-butt potential. She’s going to fight back.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Charmed Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Oh. My. Gosh.
I LOVED THIS BOOK!
Honestly, when I first started this book, I thought it was to much like "Downcast"m but me being a big Persephone fan, I kept reading and I'm so glad I did! This book was so great! There was so much going on but it wasn't to much. It was just enough to keep you interested into reading start to finish. Lol. I loved the story line and the characters. There was so much difference in them all, yet they all fit together amazingly. To me, this book was different in the terms of relationship. Lets face it, in most YA book, they meet, fall in love, and it's all in one page and through the whole thing the guy and girl are joined at the hip. While yes, Persephone and Hades did fall for each other, the book wasn't based on them sucking face all the time. Lol In fact, Hades tried to keep his distance from her because she was "young". I don't know, I just have a lot of respect for that. Oh man, that ending was BEAST! That fight scene was so epic to me. Loved it and possibly my most favorite part. Can't wait to read book two!

Thursday, August 13, 2015

The Color of Fear by Billy Phillips

Synopsis

When Caitlin Fletcher’s mom disappeared (or left?) four years ago, Caitlin began suffering from breathless bouts of anxiety. Her new move to London, with her Dad and her brainiac sister, threatens to lead to more situations that will trigger panic. Now, she’s having anxiety over the possibility of having anxiety!
Caitlin’s life takes a turn for the bizarre when she’s tricked into climbing down a “rabbit hole” landing in a wondrous fairy tale universe —except it’s crawling with savage starving blood-eyed zombies. All the timeless fairy tale characters who once lived forever are now the living dead— think Snow White, Cinderella, Rapunzel, and Sleeping Beauty. Even worse they’re famished. Definitely not the ideal situation for a vulnerable young girl prone to panic attacks.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Zombification Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Perfection!
Wow. Lol. This book was really great! I already can't wait for book two!
I actually loved everything about this book. I loved the attention to detail without it overloading the reader, I loved all the characters and the story line.
I love Disney... and zombies.
So can you imagine the look on my face when I see all these characters as zombies? Oh my gosh! So freaking epic!! And the cover is sooo amazing! I would recommend this book to everyone.

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

Life is Beautiful: How a Lost Girl Became a True, Confident Child of God by Sarah M. Johnson

Synopsis

Life is Beautiful: How a Lost Girl Became a True, Confident Child of God takes you on a full journey of trauma, loss, and finally resilience. While on a mission’s trip in Guatemala, a small Cessna Caravan’s engine blows while carrying fourteen passengers. Unfortunately, the Cessna crashes in a remote village, leaving eleven of the fourteen passengers dead. One passenger, Sarah, shares her story in “Life is Beautiful”, about the deaths of her father and brother; her mother’s extreme physical and emotional injuries, and Sarah’s self-discovery to accept this new life.
Life is Beautiful, however, is more than a story about an airplane crash. Life is Beautiful shares the personal struggles of Sarah’s father’s drug use, his recovery, and redemption to be a better person. He gives back by doing missions work in Africa, takes in Sarah’s aunt dying of uterine cancer, and eventually leads their family to the mountains of Guatemala. Sarah also discusses her struggles with alcohol use and depression; where she eventually hits rock bottom. It is not until she starts seeking God through prayer, books, and therapy, where she starts to turn her life around.
Life is Beautiful is not only a unique story, but it shows the strength of God’s Will. When all hope is lost, she never gives up on God. This story is a true testimony of God’s love for His people, and when one seeks a spiritual journey and connection with God; He gives back in love, forgiveness, and happiness. 


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Cut To The Core Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
This book was such a beautiful heart touching story.
I don't see how anyone could read this and not cry though. Lol.. I won't lie, I cried like a baby just after a few pages of reading this. This book is also something I believe that God placed in my life because I'm still struggling with my own mother's death. This book has shown me that He is still there for me, I just need to reach out for Him.
When I got to the part of her aunt having cancer, I saw so much of myself and my family in it, that I just broke down squalling. I even ended up telling my sister a bit about it and she agreed that she saw a lot of what we went through there. (She now wants to read the book as well)
Sarah M. Johnson is very brave, IMO. It is not easy to write and share things that are so painful... much less have it published for everyone to see.
My prayers are forever with you.

Tortures of the Damned by Hunter Shea

Synopsis

SHOCK…First, the electricity goes—plunging the east coast in darkness after a devastating nuclear attack. Millions panic. Millions die. They are the lucky ones.  AFTER SHOCK…Next, the chemical weapons take effect—killing or contaminating everything alive. Except a handful of survivors in a bomb shelter. They are the damned. HELL IS FOR HUMANSThen, the real nightmare begins. Hordes of rats force two terrified families out of their shelter—and into the savage streets of an apocalytic wasteland. They are not alone. Vicious, chemical-crazed animals hunt in packs. Dogs tear flesh, cats draw blood, horses crush bone. Roaming gangs of the sick and dying are barely recognizable as human. These are the times that try men’s souls. These are the tortures that tear families apart. This is hell on earth. The rules are simple: Kill or die.


My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
I was expecting more from this book honestly. The blurb really drew me in and I couldn't wait to read it. It started out promising, then the more I read, the more I just wanted to put it down and label it "DNF".
I must say, this was very original IMO and sounds like some stuff Stephen King would write. I think close to the end was just a bit way to much for me though. With the pedophile and gang trying to constantly rape the girls... It made me sick to my stomach to the point, I had to put the book down for a while because I thought I would throw up.
While the characters and story line was really interesting and nothing like I'd ever read before, this just wasn't my thing.