Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Tales from the Graveyard: The Complete Collection by Susan Shultz

Synopsis

In a pleasant little New England town, there is a house on a hill. Its garden is decorated with gravestones.
The house has stood for ages now, and occupants have come and gone.
But those who died there never leave.
They just watch…and wait.
Susan Shultz's haunting Tales From the Graveyard series is now available in one complete digital collection.
The Blacksmith.
Jessie.
Dirt.
Sam.
Read Tales From the Graveyard: The Complete Collection today, and you'll see.
Our ghosts never leave us.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+  Perfectly Dark Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
SWEET MOTHER OF GOODNESS!!! These stories were so amazing! I know I got the ARC, but I can not WAIT to buy this book. The last horror book I read that was this awesome was literally over a year ago. I loved everything about this book. I loved the story line, the characters, how everything blended together and even when new characters were brought in, you still had the old characters there in every book. When it comes to short stories, I'm not normally a big fan of them because they leave me with more questions than answers and they don't feel complete. This book, though... oh my gosh. for a book so short, they were perfectly written. Susan Shultz has amazing talent! I do believe this book is perfect for a Halloween read. I totally recommend it!
PS: I'm in love with all of these covers. They drew me in!

Monday, September 28, 2015

A Dark Assortment by Mikey Campling

Synopsis

Don't be afraid. They're just stories, aren't they? Sometimes that noise you can hear upstairs is just the old floorboards creaking as they settle down for the night. Sometimes. But there's no need to worry because, that face you saw at the window was just a reflection.There's no one else here. You're alone. But that's OK because you're safe in your bed. And all those things you fear deep down in the dark reaches of your soul... well, they only happen in stories, don't they?
A Dark Assortment is a collection of seventeen stories; a chocolate box of handmade treats. But beware - beneath each richly decorated shell, there's a seed of delicious darkness.
These stories with a twist are perfect for fans of Edgar Allan Poe, and if you enjoy books like Ray Bradbury's "Illustrated Man" and Roald Dahl's "Skin" then we'll get along just fine.Oh - before I go, I'll wish you all Sweet Dreams.


My Thoughts
★★★★  Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
This was a quick interesting read. I really enjoyed the stories, but a lot of them confused me and left me with more questions than answers, which kinda sucked the enjoyment out of the story. I'm not saying everyone will feel this, it just happens to be how I feel, so don't take my word. Read it for yourself. It's still a really good read. If you had to ask me which one was my favorite, I'd probably say the first story was the one I liked the most. I liked how all these stories were written as well. It's amazing how such small stories can have so much information in them.

Whatever It Takes by Bridgett Henson

Synopsis

Released on bail, born-again drug dealer Cindy McDuffie, has three months of freedom before facing judgment for her crimes. When God gives her the love of a good man, will she embrace a short life with her own superhero? Or will guilt and feelings of inferiority steal her blessings?
Attorney Cole Maxwell waited twenty-eight years to meet his promised wife from God. Racing against the clock, can he convince Cindy to sail into the clouds? Or will the women plotting his future, and the men haunting her past shipwreck his dreams?
Can their Savior use a judge’s gavel and a child’s hunger to chart them on the right course? Or will life’s storms drive the promises of God beyond their reach?


My Thoughts
★★★★★+  Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.

I was amazed by this book.... It made me throw it across my yard. :)
For real though, I laughed... and I cried. When I say cried, I mean I blubbered.
This story was so deep, hours later, I'm still in awe of it. This book sucked me in and I could NOT put it down... and trust me, I tried. I just came running right back because I needed to know what happens next. I finished this book this morning and even though it's almost 11pm now, I'm having the hardest time writing this review! I want to say so much but I can't because if I do, I'll end up saying to much and have to label it "spoiler alert" and I don't want to do that because I want people to be able to ready this review and see how awesome this book was without me ruining it.
All I can say is: READ IT!
The story line is so... real and raw. It takes you down deep to the nitty gritty and you can't help but to pray along with these characters .. even though you KNOW they are just characters. Whatever It Takes forces you to take a look at lives that we just overlook every day. It makes you see that not everyone has had the life you have. It shows you that God loves you no matter who you are and as long as seek Him, He will always be there for you and He will always show you His love.
I can't wait to start book three!

Monday, September 21, 2015

Whatever He Wants by Bridgett Henson

Synopsis

A construction worker must choose between protecting his young son from an abusive mother, or a life full of music with the girl of his dreams.

James Preston rejected his Pentecostal heritage long ago. Now, he abandons his education to provide for the young son he didn’t know existed. Can he persuade Joni to join his new family before Isaac’s abusive mother tears it apart? Or will the court finally grant him sole custody?

Joni Maher was adopted at age six, but who is she really? Obedient daughter? Concert pianist? Sorority sister? She experiences love in James’s arms. His adorable son stirs her maternal instincts. Yet, in his family church, the power of God’s presence creates a longing she doesn’t understand.

When their carefully constructed world shatters, which will they choose?Love’s Pleasure? Isaac’s safety? Or a Savior’s forgiveness?


My Thoughts
★★★★★+  Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
When I first started this book, it made me so angry. I can't tell you how many times I wanted to throw it across the room... all within 25 pages of reading it.
But...something just kept pulling me back. Any time I stopped, I just HAD to pick it right back up. I adore this book. I loved the story. If there was ever a story that was REAL, this would be it. the oddest thing happened to me while reading this book too, honestly. Lol through the whole book, I was praying for these characters and didn't even realize it till I was almost done (that's how real this was to me) and I have to say there was one part where I straight up went "Hallelujah!" and I wanted to run up and down my front yard cheering (but I couldn't because I was barefoot and there are stickers in the grass) This story made me so angry, laugh, and blow my mind repeatedly. The only thing that really got under my skin was all the time jumping. There were a lot of gaps, but of course, it didn't stop me from reading. Thank goodness. I really liked this book and I can't wait to read book two.

The New Girl by R.L. Stine

Synopsis

The new girl is as pale as a ghost, blond, and eerily beautiful -- and she seems to need him as much as he wants her. Cory Brooks hungers for Anna Corwin's kisses, drowns in her light blue eyes. He can't get her out of his mind. He has been loosing sleep, ditching his friends...and everyone has noticed.
Then as suddenly as she came to Shadyside High, Anna disappears. To find a cure for his obsession, Cory must go to Anna's house on Fear Street -- no matter what the consequences.
Anna may be the love of his life ... but finding out her secret might mean his death.



My Thoughts
★★★★★  Stars
Wow. I mean really, this was awesome. R.L. Stine has such talent of when you THINK you know what's going to happen, it changes and makes you second guess yourself.
The New Girl did just that. Through reading it it had so many twists and turns! Finally I gave up trying to guess the truth lol. The ending was crazy though but I must say, it left me with more questions because while it did change a lot, it left me questioning if the ending was the truth or not. I guess we'll never know.

Friday, September 18, 2015

Blogger Recognition Award


Thank you to the lovely Anna @enchantedbyya for nominating me! ^_^
The Rules:
Write a post to show off your reward!
Give a brief story of how your blog got started, and give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers.
Thank whoever nominated you, and provide a link to their blog.
Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to and list them in the post. Comment on each blog and let them know you nominated them. Provide a link to the award post you created


My Blog's Story:
I honestly never expected to have a blog. When I first started reviewing I started off on GR just rating books at first, and then I read a really amazing book and just have to vent how much I enjoyed it. There, the seed was planted and my reviews just grew and grew. Finally I started my blog a year ago and just fell in love with it. It's a amazing way to just let things out and post what you feel about the books you read. Epicness!

Advice:
Never give up. I can't tell you how many times I have come across people who have told me "I don't know how to review." or "I don't think I can do it, I'm not that good." I don't think anyone starts out knowing how to review nor being that good. Everything takes time and practice. If you feel strongly about a book (good or bad) SAY SO! Explain why you feel the way you do. If anyone ever comes across you trying to tear you down for what you think, don't listen to them. Everyone will think differently, some will think they same way you do. So don't give up.
Also, post what you believe in. What YOU think and not what others want to hear. You have a voice, use it! ^_^

My Nominees:
21stcenturyonceuponatime
bookpassionforlife
booksoffascination
ufbooks
If I haven't tagged you and you would like to do this, feel free to do it! ^_^

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Synopsis

Coraline's often wondered what's behind the locked door in the drawing room. It reveals only a brick wall when she finally opens it, but when she tries again later, a passageway mysteriously appears. Coraline is surprised to find a flat decorated exactly like her own, but strangely different. And when she finds her "other" parents in this alternate world, they are much more interesting despite their creepy black button eyes. When they make it clear, however, that they want to make her theirs forever, Coraline begins a nightmarish game to rescue her real parents and three children imprisoned in a mirror. With only a bored-through stone and an aloof cat to help, Coraline confronts this harrowing task of escaping these monstrous creatures.
Gaiman has delivered a wonderfully chilling novel, subtle yet intense on many levels. The line between pleasant and horrible is often blurred until what's what becomes suddenly clear, and like Coraline, we resist leaving this strange world until we're hooked. Unnerving drawings also cast a dark shadow over the book's eerie atmosphere, which is only heightened by simple, hair-raising text. Coraline is otherworldly storytelling at its best.


My Thoughts
★★ Stars
I kept hearing how amazing this book was from everyone I know (who had read it.) and I am sad to say, I didn't like it. It was okay but... oh my gosh, I can't believe I am going to say this, but the movie was better.
I think the way the book was written just gave me a headache. Examples
"They made Coraline feel uncomfortable. Then Coraline dreamed a few commercials[...]"
"Coraline" and "she" was repeated so much... it made me want to scream.
I feel like this story was told in total monotone. I didn't see any excitement, everything was just flat to me.
I'm sorry, I just didn't enjoy this book. Even though the story was quite interesting, I just couldn't see what all the hype is about.

Sunday, September 13, 2015

Daughter of the Earth and Sky by Kaitlin Bevis

Synopsis

The Daughters of Zeus, Book 2
Some vows can never be broken, especially with you've recently found out you’re a goddess.
In the flick of a eyelash Persephone has gone from being a high school junior in Athens, Georgia to the wife of Hades, god of the Underworld. Under his platonic protection, she’s waiting for springtime, when Boreas, the sinister god of winter, will stop stalking her.
But even Hades can’t keep Boreas and his minions from threatening her. Finally she escaped back to the world of the living. Maybe she can just go back to normal—and forget that she’s fallen in love with Hades.
She’s wrong.

Thanatos—a friend from the Underworld, has betrayed her. Persephone can't tell anyone about Thanatos' betrayal, and it drives a wedge between her and Hades.
And then there’s Aphrodite, the gorgeous goddess who was born among the ocean waves with more charm than she can control. Persephone’s dearest ally, Melissa, is furious and jealous when Aphrodite starts winning Persephone’s friendship. Persephone turns to a human boy for friendship. But will their relationship put him in danger?
Persephone must choose between her human life and her responsibilities as a goddess. If she doesn't, she could lose that life and Hades, too.
But either way, she may not survive her father’s schemes. After all, she’s Zeus’s daughter.


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Daughter of the Earth and Sky was a good book two, but I feel like there was something missing from it. What exactly? I have no idea, I just had that "something is missing" feeling. While the story was pretty awesome and kept me on the edge of my seat, I just couldn't shake that feeling. Which is where the final missing star comes in. The characters this time, really got under my skin. Persephone has finally reached that whiny teenage status, Aphrodite is ...well we all know how she gets around soooo I'm sure you know where I'm heading with that. And last but not least, Hades.... could he be any more blind and dense? I wanted to throw my kindle at his face he annoyed me so bad. Lets not forget there was that one part that just makes you go "EEEWWW!!!!" though I'm not gonna say who it was about or what happened. You'll just have to see for yourself. Yes, yes, I know. I'm talking about how cruddy these characters are right? Well... not really (see the four stars. lol) It's amazing how this book had me wanting to scream to the point of "okay.. that was pretty awesome." this book made my emotions yoyo like crazy. That ending though! Oh my goodness! I can't wait to read the next book and find out what happens! It's driving me crazy! Must. Read. Now.

**Sep 21, 2015: I will not be reading book three any time soon. Sorry.

Thursday, September 10, 2015

Sudden Mission by Guy L. Pace

Synopsis

Satan, once one of God’s favorites, now His Adversary, grows impatient with the plan and begins to harvest souls. In a fell swoop, he throws reality out of whack and the world into chaos. God calls on Paul and his friends Amy and Joe to set things right. The young teens journey through a messed up world—with a little help from an angel—struggling against everything the Adversary can throw in their path to accomplish their Sudden Mission.
With their world and their parents’ lives hanging in the balance—and the Adversary sending everything from zombies to Samurais to stand in their way—Paul will discover if he has the strength and faith to set things right again and stop Satan’s harvest.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+  Strong Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Oh my gosh! this book was so awesome!
When I saw the blurb of this book, I just KNEW I had to read this book. I'm so glad that I did! It's such a wonderful story that keeps you on the edge of your seat wanting more and by the grace of God, all things are possible. I loved the characters in this book and how different they are yet they go together perfectly. I loved how this book was written, everything just flowed and came together perfectly. I loved all the obstacles they had to face as well. It was very original, I've never seen anything like this before. The mixes of everything was mind blowing. If you haven't read this book before I fully recommend it.

Monday, September 7, 2015

The Beat on Ruby's Street by Jenna Zark

Synopsis

The last thing eleven-year-old Ruby Tabeata expected to happen on her way to a Jack Kerouac reading was to be hauled to the police station.It’s 1958 and Ruby is the opposite of a 1950s stereotype: fierce, funny and strong willed, she is only just starting to chart her course in a family of Beat Generation artists in Greenwich Village.
Ruby dreams of meeting famous poets while becoming one herself; instead, she’s accused of trying to steal fruit from a local vendor and is forced to live in a children’s home. As Ruby struggles to return to family and friends, she learns her only choice is to follow her heart.
Join Ruby’s journey as she finds unexpected friendships, the courage to rebel against unjust authority and the healing power of art in this inspiring middle-grade novel by Jenna Zark.



My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
**Possible Spoilers Ahead! READ WITH CAUTION**
In all honesty, this book wasn't my cup of tea. Which is where the missing final star comes in. I give it four stars because even though it wasn't my kind of story, it was still a really good story. Man, this story also raised my blood pressure like something fierce but I knew I couldn't stop reading because I just had to know what happens. It was also written very well yet I also feel like there was something missing. I felt like the story was incomplete. I hit the final page and was a bit lost because I really thought there was more to it. 

This book left me with a lot of questions like:
•What happened to the girls in the home? 
•What happened to her daddy? 
•Did her mama and Chaz get married? 
•Did her mama wake up and find her missing? 
•Did the Social Worker finally leave them alone? 
•Did she pass the test or was she forced to go to school? 
•Did she ever finally warm up to Chaz?

See what I mean?

Wednesday, September 2, 2015

Before We Say I Do: An Entertaining Angels Short Story by Emerald Barnes

Synopsis

Following the best-selling first book of the series, Entertaining Angels, comes Before We Say I Do, An Entertaining Angels Short Story.
It’s been one year, and Chase Sanders and Madison Andrews are about to declare their love for one another in the most sacred of ways. Everything has been going perfectly, especially when an old friend returns to town to stand by Chase’s side on their big day. But is Zach there to see their union, or is he concealing the truth of why he’s actually back in town?
Chase has lived perfectly fine without his father around, but now that his father is divorcing again, he is seeking forgiveness. Chase can’t look at his father, let alone forgive him.
Before Chase and Mads can say “I Do,” Chase must first learn to let go of the past before the dark forces that haunt his nightmares come to life.



My Thoughts
★★★★★++++  Beautiful Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I'm so in love with this story. I loved it picked up a few years later but was still informative enough for you to imagine how things went in the past years. I absolutely love Emerald's writing. It just flows and both of these books were so fast paced and went perfectly together. You didn't want to miss a word of it.
I loved this story, I guess I'm a sucker for happy endings Lol It was great to see all the characters back in action but now I miss them and have to wait a while before the next book (insert crying sob noises here) I can't wait to see what book two has in store.

Entertaining Angels by Emerald Barnes

Synopsis

Madison Andrews can’t face her reflection in the mirror. All she sees is a big, fat nobody. Yet, deep inside she longs for something more, something that’s not skin deep.
Along comes Zach, the new guy in high school. He’s smoking hot and totally out of her league. She somehow catches his eye, and he makes her feel beautiful for once. But just as she gets close to Zach, her nerdy best friend, Chase, won’t let Madison doubt her true beauty, no matter how many meals she skips.
Dark forces are at work, darker than the lies and mocking from her peers, stopping her from amounting to her full potential. With her newfound Christian faith, can Madison find true happiness in her own skin amidst the battle of angels and demons?


My Thoughts
★★★★★++++  Beautiful Stars
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Good Lord in heaven! This book was heart stopping! Pure perfection loooove! When it comes to Christian books, to be perfectly honest, I'm hard to please. But Emerald Barnes knocked it out the ballpark! Oh my goodness! I'm really trying to calm down from fangirling my head off, buuut it doesn't seem to be working. I feel like pulling a Kool-aid Man and running through a wall. Haha. God has truly blessed Emerald Barnes with a epic writing talent.
This book reached me on SO MANY levels. I laughed, I cried.. I cried some more. I smiled through it all though because it just reached my heart and talked to me. It was like she lived my life and put it down in this book. I fully 100% recommend this book to literally everyone. Whether you're Christian or not, for the simple fact, everyone should see the message in this story. Everyone deserves to know they are beautiful. If I could rate this more than 5 stars, I would in a heartbeat.