Monday, January 26, 2015

Twisted Reflections (Adventures of Alexis Davenport #2) by Shay West

Synopsis

Alexis Davenport is learning to come to grips with her ability to travel through time, but she still hasn’t been able to stop the evil Drifter and his Master from trying to alter the past.
When she travels back to ancient Egypt, Alex gets a most unexpected surprise; she meets someone who can help her figure out how to use her powers, another Traveler like herself.
But can Alex learn how to control her gift before Drifter finds a way to stop her from meddling in his Master’s plans?



My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Perfect Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
This book was so amazing! It's not often you get a sequel that is almost as good as the first book and keeps you wanting even more. You get to see Alexis blossom from being so shy to actually having a backbone now! Friendships get tested, hearts get broken. You name it. Still an awesome book. I love all the characters and how they keep developing so you know more and more about them and get attached. I have to admit, Alexis sure is weaving a tangled love triangle web, and all I can think is "giiiiiirl, you best leave that boy alone." Haha. And it's true. I don't see what she sees in Beau! I think her gift has fried her brain. Lol. I hope she doesn't leave her boyfriend though. He seems like a good guy and seems to put up with a lot more than any other guy's their age would. 
I was once again lost and jaw dropped when I saw it was another cliff hanger! That ending though! Oh my gosh! Did NOT see that! Gonna start on book 3 right away. 

Friday, January 23, 2015

Ghost Camera by Darcy Coates

Synopsis

A small number of cameras have the ability to capture ghosts on film. This gift comes at a steep price; the ghosts are resentful and hungry, and the cameras offer them a rare chance to reach their favourite prey… humans. 
Jenine didn’t know any of this when she found an abandoned Polaroid camera in a lighthouse. At first she assumes the ghostly shapes in the photos are a glitch or a prank – but then the spirits begin to hunt her down, and she’s forced into a deadly race to free herself from the camera’s curse. 



My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Stars.
I received this book from NG in return for an honest review.
For a short story, this book was really amazing and written perfectly! I felt like I was living the story, it drew me in so well. This book seems like it could honestly be a episode on the TV show A Haunting. If I could rate this more than 5 stars, I would. It's rare to find a book that tells you very little about the characters but can keep you so drawn in, that you don't even realize it till you actually sit and think about it. Lol. Definitely a book I can read over and over again.

Power In The Blood by Angelia Sparrow

Synopsis

Oren Stolt understands the natural order better than most people. Vampires prey on humans and Undying keep the vampires' numbers in check.
Until now.
Now, across the United States, vampire numbers are exploding, thanks to a new church. The Tabernacle of the Firstfruits preaches a Risen Lord and invites believers to follow Him in death and resurrection... quite literally.
In Memphis, the church is about to host its first conference, with an eye to converting the whole world to the vampiric gospel.
And all that stands between humanity and eternal night is Oren, his kids, and a thin line of insane immortals.



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
What... did I... just read?
I'm actually at a loss for words here. I mean, the story was interesting. But it was also unnerving for me and made me a bit uncomfortable. Had the publisher not asked me to read this, I would have stopped reading it, to be honest. There was just something off about it. Maybe it was all the sex? Lol. But I know for sure adding Jesus into the mix was just way to much for me.
I have to admit, the vampire church kinda reminded me of the church in the Anita Blake series.
Anyway, what I really did like about this book was the bond Oren had with his kids. I think it's always beautiful when you have a whole family go through thick and thin and still remain close. Did break my heart what they all had to go through though. Won't say what because I don't want to ruin it with spoilers.
Loved the battle action! I thought it would just mill on through but it was mega awesome. What blood guts and gore? That battle action has it. Lol. 
I'm sure I may add more to this review when I have more time to think it over.

Keep in mind, this is a 18+ book! I know my blog is YA, but from time to time if requested, I will read these kinds of books. 
**Side note; this book is not a YA book. 18+ LGBTQIA**

Monday, January 19, 2015

Alpha's Pride by S.L. Armstrong & K. Piet

Synopsis

Alec and Nahale are feral-Maith, genetic offshoots from a fantastic race. Their clan is home to many kinds of feral characteristics, but the powerful predators--wolves and felines alike--are the protectors, hunters, and leaders. Both Alec and Nahele enjoy their arrangement, finding pleasure with one another away from prying eyes, but Alec’s worries about their clan’s security have long fallen on deaf ears.
Under pressure, Alec challenges Nahale for leadership of their clan, threatening to destroy the relationship they'd been building for years. Nahele is anything but weak, and his stubbornness could endanger the clan’s stability, not to mention his own life. When push comes to shove, Nahele is confronted with the most difficult choice a leader can face: resist and maintain his pride or yield control of the clan to the feral-Maith he once trusted.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
For such a short story, I must say.. I have no complaints. I think the story was very well thought through. Nothing was rushed, it was perfectly paced and kept your attention. As well as beautifully written. Could have done without all the sex though. Lol. I love were/Shapeshifter books, and they are normally a hit or miss. This was definitely a hit.
Keep in mind, this is a 18+ book! I know my blog is YA, but from time to time if requested, I will read these kinds of books. 
**Side note; this book is not a YA book. 18+ LGBTQIA**

Sunday, January 18, 2015

Hideous by Devon McCormack

Synopsis

Eight years ago, Luke Retter witnessed the brutal murder of his mother and sister at the hands of his demon-possessed father. He survived but lost a hand and an eye. The demon also burned its emblem into his skin, marking him as a cursed. Those who bear this mark are at risk of becoming possessed themselves, so they are monitored and enslaved by the state-run UCIS. Working as a slave is hard, but Luke prefers it to the possibility of being controlled by a demon. 
One night, Luke wakes to find his worst nightmare coming true. His father's demon has returned. In a panic, he runs to the only person who might be able to help: Zack, a cursed who ran away from the state and created an underground community to protect other fugitive curseds. Zack helps him suppress the demon. But the city's become a time bomb, and Luke's demon itches to escape. 
With the UCIS closing in on Zack's underground operation and Luke's demon crafting its own, nefarious plot, Luke realizes that he must take a stand.



My Thoughts
★★★ Stars.
I received this book from NG in return for an honest review.
I liked this book, but it's not really one I would recommend.
This is actually the kind of book that I think would be better as a horror movie. (shocking, I know, but that's just what I think.) It was a bit of a fast read, but then again, I did skim a little whenever it went into to much dialog. I feel like something was missing from this book. More action and something else... I just can't put my finger on what though. I mean don't get me wrong, when the action was there, it was good. When the demon took over - that's just some straight up out of your worst nightmare stuff right there. But, it all seemed to be cut short. The ending was good, but I honestly wish some of those people that did him wrong would get a little payback. Lol. I know that's horrible to say, but sheesh. He never did anything to anyone and all these people were just gosh awful to him! All in all, it was an interesting book.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

Dead Heat by Ren Thompson

Synopsis

The heart just knows... 
The city of Toronto is now a thriving hotbed of undead activity, and Dana Layton, brash zombie hunter with a temper as fiery as her hair, believes in only one thing: taking care of business. As a member of an elite zombie hunting organization, Dana can hang with the best of them, but the wall around her heart is as high as the one erected around her fortified home. 
Kelly Forrester thought she had what she wanted most of all—a career that made a difference. Blindsided by a crash course in reality, Kelly is left with a life-altering choice: Should she play it safe or follow her heart? 
In an already dark world, a new kind of terror emerges, one that threatens to tear apart Toronto’s fragile peace. Dana’s back is against the wall, and time is running out for both her beloved city, and the woman who's stolen her heart.



My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Epic Zombie Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I know it says I give this book 5 stars... no, I really give it 10!
This book was AMAZING! Now THIS is epic zombie book! One of the best I have ever read so far to be honest. It had the perfect amount of action, romance, drama. I have no complains at all. Now there were a few things that were very risqué, that I actually had to look up from reading and go "Well that's new." but eh. You get past it. Haha. Oh my gosh. That ending though. The author just straight up ripped my heart out and stomped on it then beat it with a hammer. I cried then dang near fainted at the sudden plot twist. REALLY didn't see THAT coming! It left me with that sudden rush feeling, going "whoa" Amazing book. One of a kind that will suck you into it's world and you will be lost. I still feel lost there. Book hangover, much? Haha!
Keep in mind, this is a 18+ book! I know my blog is YA, but from time to time if requested, I will read these kinds of books. 
**Side note; this book is not a YA book. 18+ LGBTQIA**

Monday, January 12, 2015

When She Smiled by Ritoban Chakrabarti

Synopsis

Mrityunjoy Roy is a fifteen year old Bengali who has spent the last ten years of his life growing up in Shimla. While his family is completely academically oriented, he wants something more. Finally he meets Akanksha in school, who turns his world upside down with her gorgeous looks and mind boggling smile. As fate would have it, she joins his tuition, and thus begins the torrid year of puppy love, romance, heartbreak, tragedy, and self discovery. Set among the scenic Shivalik hills of Shimla when mobile phones and internet were non-existent, this is a story of how an average young teenager comes to terms with his destiny.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
While this book did have a few issues, typos/things I didn't agree with, I still think it deserves 5 stars. What I got from this story is when you think you have hit rock bottom and you think you can't go any lower, the pits of hell pretty much open up and you drop down ten more levels. But if you stick it out and get through it, you'll come out on top and you'll feel much better because you'll know you gave it your all and didn't give up.
Now about the book. There were A LOT of times I seriously wanted to throw this thing across the room. I can not tell you how bad I wanted to just waylay into Akanksha's face! Although, I must say Roy was pretty much borderline stalker there. Hate to say it, but he was. But hey, it was his first love /slash/ obsession. I mean when she first comes into the picture you think she is this really nice girl but real fast you learn she is (excuse me here) A BITCH! I mean good gah. School really tested him and showed him who his real friends were and weren't. Sucks they were such a-holes!
His teacher... oh my gosh. I'm sorry but cheating or not, you do not - I repeat - DO NOT have the right to waylay slapping the fire out of a child especially in front of the whole class! This really REALLY angered me to no ends. It wasn't even just one slap, it was multiple, both cheeks to the point of leaving marks! If I was his mother, that teacher would be out of his job because I would raise all kinds of hell to the point where he could never teach again! Ugh! Just makes me sick and furious that someone would do that to a child. Which of course by saying all of this, y'all must know I hate his father just as much. I'm glad about the ending though. The ending was amazing. It was kinda like going through the whole book tense, just waiting for something else bad to happen, then everything turns around for the good and you can finally relax. 
Good book.

Saturday, January 10, 2015

Personal Post

I'm sorry about not having any new reviews by now but a family emergency came up again and I haven't had time to do anything else right now. But, hopefully soon I should be able to get back on the ball and get back to reading and posting reviews. Thank you for understanding.

Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Dangerous Reflections (Adventures of Alexis Davenport #1) by Shay West

Synopsis

Alexis Davenport wants to go home. She hates her new school, her mother for moving her away from her friends, and her father for walking out.
To make matters worse, Alex is haunted by images of strange girls reflected in her mirror. It’s bad enough juggling homework, a relentless bully, boys, and a deadbeat dad; now, she must save the world from an evil presence hell-bent on changing the past – and our futures. Who knew her A+ in history was going to be this important?



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Traveling Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
I know I said in a previous review that I wouldn't read anymore time traveling books, but I'm SO glad I read this one! It kept me wanting more and kept me enthralled. It was marvelously and smoothly written. It didn't leave me with endless questions, it just left me with "Oh my gosh I need the next book now!" Haha. I know Alexis is the main character and all, but I must say, I think my favorite character is Paul because he just cracks me up. All the characters are great, really. I like how you get to really know them. Loved everything about this book, can't wait to read book two.