Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Enchantment Lake: A Northwoods Mystery by Margi Preus

Synopsis

A disturbing call from her great aunts Astrid and Jeannette sends seventeen-year-old Francie far from her new home in New York into a tangle of mysteries. Ditching an audition in a Manhattan theater, Francie travels to a remote lake in the northwoods where her aunts’ neighbors are “dropping like flies” from strange accidents. But are they accidents?
On the shores of Enchantment Lake in the woods of northern Minnesota, something ominous is afoot, and as Francie begins to investigate, the mysteries multiply: a poisoned hot dish, a puzzling confession, eerie noises in the bog, and a legendary treasure that is said to be under enchantment—or is that under Enchantment, as in under the lake? At the center of everything is a suddenly booming business in cabin sales and a road not everyone wants built.
To a somewhat reluctant northwoods Nancy Drew, the intrigue proves irresistible, especially when it draws her closer to the mysteries at the heart of her own life: What happened to her father? Who and where is her mother? Who is she, and where does her heart lie—in the bustle of New York City or the deep woods of Minnesota? With its gripping story, romantic spirit, and a sly dash of modern-day trouble (evil realtors and other invasive species), Enchantment Lake will fascinate readers, providing precisely the charm that Margi Preus’s readers have come to expect.

My Thoughts
★★ Let Down Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
This book wasn't my cup of tea. I honestly don't have the words to say what a disappointment this book was. I expected so much more from it. By 20% I was skimming. by 50% I was skipping pages. But at about 90% I slowed down because that is when things actually started to happen that managed to peek my curiosity. Sorry to say, I would not recommend this book.

Saturday, December 27, 2014

(The Road to Salvation #2) Dealing with Devils by Pembroke Sinclair

Synopsis

Dating a demon has its advantages, like helping deliver souls to Hell. Wait...what? 
Katie’s world has been turned upside down. She's fallen for Josh—despite the fact that he’s a demon from Hell. Wes is finally out of her system and her life. Convinced she can change Josh, she sets out to make him a better person, only to find out things aren’t as simple as she’d originally thought. For one thing, Josh has Katie help him deliver souls to Hell, and she kind of likes it. And to top it off, other more powerful demons are battling for her soul, and revelations from the past could change the course of her life forever.


My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Burning Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.
Where to even start...
This book is one of a kind and beautifully written. It's a shocking, edgy, gripping page turner that leaves you wanting more, I could go on and on. I could NOT put this book down!
I really liked this book because it picks up exactly where the first book left off, so it doesn't leave you guessing what happened in the time between. For me, personally, this book was full of "oh snap!" and "didn't see that coming" moments. I love books that just take you by surprise and also make you giggle because you are just shocked and can't believe what you just read happened. I must say adding Lucifer and Lilith to the mix of things made it bold and so much more intense. It kept me guessing and thinking "Well, that's it. There is no possible way this can get more shocking." Only for me to turn the page and have another "Oh snap" moment. Haha.
BUT!... But... A cliff hanger?! Really?! So not fair! I'm gonna go crazy not knowing what happens next!
Can't wait for the next installment.

Friday, December 26, 2014

The Appeal of Evil by Pembroke Sinclair

Synopsis

Katie wants to invest her heart and soul in love, but she may lose both to Hell. 
Katie, a senior in high school, is torn between loving the "good" guy, her childhood friend Wes who makes promises he doesn't keep and abandons her when she needs him the most, and the "bad" guy, the new kid at school Josh who is also a real demon from Hell. Katie wants someone who pays attention to her and puts her first, but what is she willing to give up to find him?



My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Astounding Stars.
I received this book in return for an honest review.

OH SWEET MOTHER!!
This book was AMAZING!
And let me just say, I'm honestly not a biog fan of these kind of books. Demons and stuff just isn't my thing. But this book... oh my gosh! Super awesome! Gripping, eye-popping, astonishing! The list goes on and on. If you are a fan of Hush, Hush and Fallen, you are gonna love this book. I could NOT put it down. So if you start it, you might as well clear your whole schedule because you are going to be sucked in and won't want to put the book down.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Disturbingly Beautiful (A Paradox in Time #1) by J. Wells

Synopsis

Is it really possible that somewhere in time, the perfect paradox could be created? Does romance really stand a chance, and could it ever flourish amidst so many intricacies and broken lives? How can a nineteenth-century governess unknowingly cause so much devastation?
As Nell’s world opens up, we follow her on a complex journey, on which she discovers love, loss and betrayal, and is forced to play a dangerous game from which there appears to be no escape.
An intricate family plot slowly begins to unravel, in which she finds herself centre stage. She was never supposed to leave Haunchcroft estate, and he will do everything in his power to keep her there…
Could a possible rip in time be the salvation that Nell seeks?
“I find you disturbingly beautiful,” are the contradictory words bestowed upon the governess by her master.
Mr Buchannan’s infatuation is a shadow from which Nell cannot escape. The feelings he holds for her are not reciprocated, and though his lust soon turns to love, Nell’s feelings towards him turn to hatred. Dreams and a love of literature are Nell’s only escapism from the downtrodden life she leads as a governess in the nineteenth century.
One night, an intruder on the estate catches Nell off guard, but she gives chase; a decision that leads her through an opening in time between the centuries, where she finds equality, true friendship and a completely different outlook on life.
Despite using this to her advantage to escape the advances of her unwanted suitor, she is somewhat perturbed when she unexpectedly finds him at her side in the twenty-first century. Will love conquer all, or will time always stand in their way?

My Thoughts
★Star
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
This is a joke right?
Stockholm Syndrome anyone?
I'm not into the whole time travel thing, and thanks to this book, I don't think I ever will be. There were way to many characters so you don't get to have a bond with any of them. All the men seem to be nothing but pigs and Nell had no backbone. She was weak and got kicked around and never fought back. It all just irritated me to no ends! And honestly through most of the book, it was information overload. There were thing just thrown in there to be there for no reason. It honestly put me to sleep. I wouldn't recommend this book. Even to time travel lovers. Sorry.

Monday, December 22, 2014

Cryer's Cross by Lisa McMann

Synopsis

Kendall loves her life in small town Cryer's Cross, Montana, but she also longs for something more. She knows the chances of going to school in New York are small, but she's not the type to give up easily. Even though it will mean leaving Nico, the world's sweetest boyfriend, behind.
But when Cryer's Cross is rocked by unspeakable tragedy, Kendall shoves her dreams aside and focuses on just one goal: help find her missing friends. Even if it means spending time with the one
boy she shouldn't get close to... the one boy who makes her question everything she feels for Nico. Determined to help and to stay true to the boy she's always loved, Kendall keeps up the search--and stumbles upon some frightening local history. She knows she can't stop digging, but Kendall is about to find out just how far the townspeople will go to keep their secrets buried.... 



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Haunting Stars.
This book is pure perfection!
So gripping and haunting. Not the kind of book you'll soon forget. Book you can savor.
I love Lisa McMann's writing. I really do. She knows exactly how to capture the reader and keep them drawn in wanting more. And this book is exactly that. I couldn't put it down. If I had to do something, the book went with me so I could keep reading. Ended up finishing it in a day, wishing it wouldn't end! The characters are all wonderful and I love how you get to bond with each of them and how tight-knit they all are. I honestly started out hating Jacian, and I was so mad at Kendall for falling for him. But at the end, I couldn't help but to smile... Except for the very last page.
I was just like..."WHAT?!?!"

Sunday, December 21, 2014

Escape from Witchwood Hollow by Jordan Elizabeth

Synopsis

Everyone in Arnn - a small farming town with more legends than residents - knows the story of Witchwood Hollow: if you venture into the whispering forest, the witch will trap your soul among the shadowed trees.
After losing her parents in a horrific terrorist attack on the Twin Towers, fifteen-year-old Honoria and her older brother escape New York City to Arnn. In the lure of that perpetual darkness, Honoria finds hope, when she should be afraid.
Perhaps the witch can reunite her with her lost parents. Awakening the witch, however, brings more than salvation from mourning, for Honoria discovers a past of missing children and broken promises.
To save the citizens of Arnn from becoming the witch’s next victims, she must find the truth behind the woman’s madness.
How deep into Witchwood Hollow does Honoria dare venture?


My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
I would love to give this book 5 stars, but there are just a few things that kinda bugged me about the book. All the time jumping and the overload on characters. 
There were parts where I would be reading and it would jump so fast, I would have to flip back to make sure I didn't miss a page or something. Also, There were all these new characters coming in and even those with name changes were really confusing.
Other than that, the story was really good. It was one of those that I didn't want to put down because it had me so curious. The ending! The ending is so different from other books I've read. I admit, I cried... and my jaw dropped because it was just "BAM!" like getting side swiped, you don't see it coming. 
I would recommend this book.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Twisted Dreams (The Dhampyre Chronicles #1) by Marissa Farrar

Synopsis

Born of a vampire father to a human mother, Elizabeth Bandores’ life was never going to be normal, so she can’t image why she thinks starting college will be any different.
Having grown up in the affluent Hollywood Hills of Los Angeles and desperate to escape, she decides on the small college town of Sage Springs. With dreams of being a writer, she joins the college newspaper and is introduced to blond, confident Flynn Matthews, Sage Springs’ rising swim star.
But a carnival has set up in the small town, and the boy running the Waltzer catches her eye. Dark-haired, leather-jacketed Riley is rude, with an air of danger. Elizabeth can’t help but notice him. And when an accident thrusts them together, she discovers he’s noticed her, too.
Sage Springs isn’t the quiet little town Elizabeth had hoped for. The forests bordering the town harbour a dark secret—one some of the residents have been trying to protect, and the leaders of the carnival have set in their sights...




My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Amazing Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Seriously, I don't even know what to say right now. This book was so fascinating! The author used so many mixes of different things from vampires to hybrids (Elizabeth being half human half vampire) to witches to people who can control elements. It was really awesome to see that kind of mix.
And on top of all that, it was totally unpredictable! I know we've all read those kinds of books that even a few pages in you want to yawn and say "Yeah, yeah, I know where this is going." I honestly was surprised not knowing where it was going and even more shocked with the outcome of everything.
The story and the characters were written beautifully and everything flowed at a perfect pace. I wanted to read it all at once but had to force myself to stop so I could sleep! Haha

Sunday, December 14, 2014

The After House by Michael Phillip Cash

Synopsis

Remy Galway and her daughter Olivia are rebuilding their life after a failed marriage in a 300 year old cottage in historic Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island. Little do they know, another occupant is lurking in the haven of their own home. Will the After House be their shelter or their tomb?


My Thoughts
★★ cringing stars.
I received this book VIA NG in return for an honest review.

Lovely ending. But, I am sad to say, that is all I liked about it. Don't get me wrong, the story itself was beautiful. But the way it was written.. seemed to make the story suffer. I know the saying "I have a feeling it suffered in the translation" that's what I think of when I think of this book and it's story. The story bounced around so much I wasn't sure who was telling that point of view or who it had to do with till about half way through each swap. And honestly, I while reading, I didn't remember the characters to well. There was no bond there and I found that really sad. I think a reader should know the characters and feel like they are just drawn into the story... but I felt nothing on this.

Saturday, December 13, 2014

Luna of Mine (The Grey Wolves, #8) by Quinn Loftis

Synopsis

Every life leaves behind a legacy. Every story has a beginning and an end. The Alpha of the Romania Grey Wolves knows this better than most. He also knows it’s the things that transpire to create that legacy and the experiences, triumphs and failures that happen in the middle of the story that matter. His story began a century ago and now a tragedy has led him to his rightful place as Alpha of the Eastern Romania pack. Before he led hundreds, he had to learn to lead a few. Before he sacrificed for all, he had to be willing to sacrifice for any. Before he could be the man destined to save his race he had to be willing to serve them. In order to be raised up he had to first be torn down. There was only one who could do this and live, only one who could light his way when the darkness closed in; his mate, his Luna. This is the building of their legacy, the middle of their story. Their triumphs, their failures, and their tragedy’s that would one day make them strong enough to restore a race torn apart by greed, envy, and fear.



My Thoughts
★★★★★+ Excellent Stars.
Why can't I give this more than 5 stars?!
This book was so epic! It just sucks you in. One of those rare books that someone could be talking to you and you won't hear a word they say because it's like you are literally there and living it. I really hope this is not the last book. I hope there are tons more to come. Luna of Mine takes you back to what life was like when Vasile and Alina first met. It was so amazing to get to hear their story and see all the trials and things they went through. It just makes their bond so much stronger. If there was any characters who are truly beautiful it's Vasile and Alina. Their love can almost make you weep because it is so deep and will have you longing for what they have.

Truly wonderful extravagant book!
Quinn Loftis is a pure genius

Thursday, December 11, 2014

Adeline by Randal Licato

Synopsis

The world has gone dark. No sun and no moon.No-one knows how it happened for sure. But for thesurviving generations, darkness is all they have ever known.And they are not alone. Something terrible came with the dark,and it's hunting humans.
While trying to find her identity, Adeline has learned to survive by running away, even from light. Until she encounters the greatest light of them all: LOVE.







My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I want to say this book was very interesting, but it was so much more than that. The story was beautifully written. I honestly have not read any other book like this before (though I'm sure there may be some, I just haven't found them yet.)
I was sad to see it end so quickly. I wish we could have gotten to bond and know the characters a lot better. The one thing that really threw me off was Shepherd.
***SPOILER***

I must say, this book left me with a smile on my face. 
Wonderful book. 
5+ stars!

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

The Rose Master by Valentina Cano

Synopsis

The day Anne Tinning turns seventeen, birds fall from the sky. But that's hardly the most upsetting news. She's being dismissed from the home she's served at since she was a child, and shipped off to become the newly hired parlor maid for a place she's never heard of. And when she sees the run-down, isolated house, she instantly knows why:
There's something wrong with Rosewood Manor.
Staffed with only three other servants, all gripped by icy silence and inexplicable bruises, and inhabited by a young master who is as cold as the place itself, the house is shrouded in neglect and thick with fear. Her questions are met with hushed whispers, and she soon finds herself alone in the empty halls, left to tidy and clean rooms no one visits.As the feeling of being watched grows, she begins to realize there is something else in the house with them--some creature that stalks the frozen halls and claws at her door. A creature that seems intent on harming her.When a fire leaves Anne trapped in the manor with its Master, she finally demands to know why. But as she forces the truth about what haunts the grounds from Lord Grey, she learns secrets she isn't prepared for. The creature is very real, and she's the only one who can help him stop it.Now, Anne must either risk her life for the young man she's grown to admire, or abandon her post while she still can.


My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
This book was amazing. This is one of the rare times when I honestly have no idea what to say about it. And yet, I have so much to say about it that I can't or I'll be giving to much away.
The writing went smoothly But I must admit, there were a few times when I had to reread something to make sure I read it right because it left me going "Huh? How did we go from there to here?" Buuuut I just kinda shrugged it off because I couldn't wait to read what happened next.
It was like a slow building wave. The suspense felt like it was going to kill me! Lol. But just when you think you can't take anymore, it all comes down and you are left with your eyes being the "deer in headlights" look. Haha.
I did not expect that ending. I seriously thought I knew who was behind it all, but I was very wrong. My jaw dropped when the person reviled them self.
Great book.

Monday, December 8, 2014

Portraits of Celina by Sue Whiting

Synopsis

Make him pay, Bayley. Make him pay.It’s as if the wooden chest is luring me, urging me to open it – daring me almost. Open me up. Look inside. Come on, just for a second; it won’t hurt. Celina O’Malley was sixteen years old when she disappeared. Now, almost forty years later, Bayley is sleeping in Celina’s room, wearing her clothes, hearing her voice. What does Celina want? And who will suffer because of it? A ghost story. A love story. A story of revenge.





My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
Wow, um. Okay. This book surprised the heck out of me! It was a slow start and painful. Through most of the book I just wanted someone to slap the fire out of the mother and oldest daughter. I know teens go through this "oh my gosh, you are ruining me life!" phase, BUT this chick is almost 18! Time to grow the heck up. The mother.... that woman was off her meds I swear. If she wasn't checked out, she was hysterical for no reason. I'm like geez lady, I know you lost your husband but SHEESH! You got 3 kids to take care of! Get your crap together!
That's just my thoughts personally. But I must say, almost everything this book makes you think; flips it completely and makes you go "wowzers! Didn't see that coming."
Loved the ending. I mean loved loved loved it. I think that is the perfect ending to this book. It could not have been better!

Saturday, December 6, 2014

Personal Post

I'm sorry about not having any new reviews by now but a family emergency came up and I haven't had time to do anything else right now. But, hopefully soon I should be able to get back on the ball and get back to reading and posting reviews. Thank you for understanding. 




Tuesday, December 2, 2014

Since You've Been Gone by Mary Jennifer Payne

Synopsis

Is it possible to outrun your past? Fifteen-year-old Edie Fraser and her mother, Sydney, have been trying to do just that for five years. Now, things have gone from bad to worse. Not only has Edie had to move to another new school she's in a different country. Sydney promises her that this is their chance at a fresh start, and Edie does her best to adjust to life in London, England, despite being targeted by the school bully. But when Sydney goes out to work the night shift and doesn't come home, Edie is terrified that the past has finally caught up with them. Alone in a strange country, Edie is afraid to call the police for fear that she ll be sent back to her abusive father. Determined to find her mother, but with no idea where to start, she must now face the most difficult decision of her life.



My Thoughts
★★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
*takes a shaky breath* 
Wow. Where to even start.
This book was very emotional. So I'm pretty sure if you read it, you may want some tissues.... just in case. Goodness knows, I cried like a baby. I'm close with my mother, so this kinda hit home with me because I wouldn't know what to do if I ever lost her.
Anyway, back to my review.
The story was flowing and beautifully written. Even though I'm American aaand didn't understand some of the slang. Haha.
The characters were so diverse and so interesting! Their personality types were so strong.
I got lost in this book. I really felt like I was living life through Edie's eyes.

Monday, December 1, 2014

Tear You Apart by Sarah Cross

Synopsis

An edgy fairy tale retelling of "Snow White" set in the world of Kill Me Softly for fans of Once Upon a Time and Grimm.Faced with a possible loophole to her "Snow White" curse, Viv goes underground, literally, to find the prince who's fated to rescue her. But is life safe in the Underworld worth the price of sacrificing the love that might kill her?







My Thoughts
★★★★ Stars.
I received this book via NG in return for an honest review.
I'm torn between 3 and 5 stars so I'll give it 4.
While yes, the story was good, it felt like there was to much.
I did not like the sensation I got reading this book. 
There is intense, then there is this.
This hit a whole NEW level.
I've never read a book that left me literally so stressed, it hurt to move from being so tense.
In other words. This book HURT. Literally mentally and physically.  It (excuse my french here) PISSED ME OFF!
Tested EVERY mad/pissed as hell level I had and made me realize, I have more levels than I thought!
It's a good story, I just wish I could have punched most of these people in the face.